We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alveston House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Swan Hotel(Almondsbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lodge at Bristol(Almondsbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
265
93
28
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
93
28
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriages restaurantafternoon teadietary needsan overnight staysconesfirst class servicesingle roomfriends weddingcomfortable loungeget togetherbreakfast servicetop markslovely hoteltrouser presswarm welcomebe visiting againstaff were attentive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at the AHH in October 2011. The staff were courteous and helpful upon arrival and the checking in process was smooth. The cost was £120 for the night including breakfast which is quite expensive for a 3* hotel in the Alveston area.

The room, however, was large and spacious. It was bright and clean with plenty of amenities including a flat screen TV & tea and coffee facilities.

The breakfast is excellent. There is a selection of either continental and traditional English breakfast. We had the English breakfast - The ingredients are good quality and plenty in volume, and thoroughly recommended.

My critism would be that the room was far too hot during the night and that the pillows were flat and hard which made sleeping little uncomfortable. Additionally, the en-suite had a bath with a hand-held shower which is always a bit of a pain when you want to shower and leave in the morning (especially if you have long hair).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Having rejected staying at Thornbury Castle because of the abyssmal lack of customer care we turned to Alveston House Hotel and what a wonderful experience this turned out to be. The staff could not have been more helpful. They all took a personal interest in our stay and gave helpful suggestions of ways in which we could occupy ourselves.The food was excellent. Rooms were comfortable and our dog was made welcome. Two members of staff excelled in their concern for our welfare - Lisa and Matthew. Thank you so much for being so caring and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay with you and will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StoreyChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Using the Alveston House Hotel as a base for exploring Bristol was the best bit of the
Week end. The Hotel and room was clean, the food good, (particularly the evening meal) the staff very polite and helpful. ( Which no doubt helped to contribute to the very congenial atmosphere!) Definitely worth a stay.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed for three nights and found that everything connected with the hotel was excellent. The rooms were furnished to a very high standard, they were exceptionally clean, warm and comfortable. The meals we had which included breakfasts and a dinner were absolutely fabulous. There was an excellent choice and were presented to a very high standard. The most impressive aspect of this hotel was the attitude of the staff. We found them to be very helpful, friendly, professional and nothing was too much trouble for them. The waiter that served us during our stay was great. He was always very happy, had a ready smile for everyone and was able to entertain us in conversation when it was appropriate to do so. For a relatively small quality hotel we were left with the impression that the owner, the management and staff all work that much harder for their customers than their competitors. This hotel is not 100% better than anything else we have stayed at but they did 100 things 1% better than anywhere else we have stayed. It was excellent, the surrounding area is fabulous and we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary07397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We'd hoped to go camping, but made a last minute booking due to terrible weather. Julie was able to accommodate our party of 5 (with 4 & 8 year olds) at short notice. Rooms were spotlessly clean and well decorated with the most comfortable bed! The breakfast looked and tasted fantastic. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews