We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great find.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alveston House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Silves, Portugal
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Great find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I arrived on a dark rainy evening without a booking or any baggage (business meeting in Bristol overran) having just seen the hotel sign when driving along the A38. The welcome was as good as going home! I got the last room available that night, a bit small as it is one they keep it as a 'reserve' but it suited me fine for somewhere to sleep for a night.
The meal I got in restaurant was outstanding, better than the one I had a couple of days earlier which had been more than double the price. Breakfast was also great, full English with everything you could wish for is included in the room rate.
The staff are wonderfully helpful, they converted a disastrous day into a great one. I'll stay again at the first opportunity - bussines or pleasure - when I'm next in the area.

Room Tip: Book early! It seems to be very popular. Otherwise can't help as I only saw one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    80
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
91
86
26
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at the AHH in October 2011. The staff were courteous and helpful upon arrival and the checking in process was smooth. The cost was £120 for the night including breakfast which is quite expensive for a 3* hotel in the Alveston area.

The room, however, was large and spacious. It was bright and clean with plenty of amenities including a flat screen TV & tea and coffee facilities.

The breakfast is excellent. There is a selection of either continental and traditional English breakfast. We had the English breakfast - The ingredients are good quality and plenty in volume, and thoroughly recommended.

My critism would be that the room was far too hot during the night and that the pillows were flat and hard which made sleeping little uncomfortable. Additionally, the en-suite had a bath with a hand-held shower which is always a bit of a pain when you want to shower and leave in the morning (especially if you have long hair).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Having rejected staying at Thornbury Castle because of the abyssmal lack of customer care we turned to Alveston House Hotel and what a wonderful experience this turned out to be. The staff could not have been more helpful. They all took a personal interest in our stay and gave helpful suggestions of ways in which we could occupy ourselves.The food was excellent. Rooms were comfortable and our dog was made welcome. Two members of staff excelled in their concern for our welfare - Lisa and Matthew. Thank you so much for being so caring and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay with you and will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StoreyChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Using the Alveston House Hotel as a base for exploring Bristol was the best bit of the
Week end. The Hotel and room was clean, the food good, (particularly the evening meal) the staff very polite and helpful. ( Which no doubt helped to contribute to the very congenial atmosphere!) Definitely worth a stay.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed for three nights and found that everything connected with the hotel was excellent. The rooms were furnished to a very high standard, they were exceptionally clean, warm and comfortable. The meals we had which included breakfasts and a dinner were absolutely fabulous. There was an excellent choice and were presented to a very high standard. The most impressive aspect of this hotel was the attitude of the staff. We found them to be very helpful, friendly, professional and nothing was too much trouble for them. The waiter that served us during our stay was great. He was always very happy, had a ready smile for everyone and was able to entertain us in conversation when it was appropriate to do so. For a relatively small quality hotel we were left with the impression that the owner, the management and staff all work that much harder for their customers than their competitors. This hotel is not 100% better than anything else we have stayed at but they did 100 things 1% better than anywhere else we have stayed. It was excellent, the surrounding area is fabulous and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary07397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alveston
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
2.7 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
7.3 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
5.2 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 5 in Almondsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
7.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alveston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alveston House Hotel

Property: Alveston House Hotel
Address: Davids Lane, Alveston BS35 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Alveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alveston
Price range (per night): $133 - $180
Hotel Class:3 star — Alveston House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alveston House Hotel is independently run, friendly yet professional, offering a wide range of facilities for any occasion. With elegant rooms, a beautiful licenced wedding venue, conference facilities and award winning restaurant, we are ideally located near Bristol and the M4/M5 Motorways. Holding the highest AA rating of any 3 star hotel in the area, our hotel is set in beautiful walled gardens. Open everyday throughout the year, we are here to welcome you to our house. We pride ourselves on providing a bespoke service with a personal touch. If you require disabled access please telephone the hotel prior to your visit and we will be pleased to help. Access is limited and requires a temporary ramp. Access throughout the building is limited due to the age and internal layout of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alveston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alveston Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing