We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average but more good than very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cross Keys Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 New Galloway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The double room was small but very clean and fresh. The en-suite was a decent size and again very clean. Plenty of tea/coffee biscuits supplied but disappointed that there were no toiletries except soap. Host and staff very friendly and the bar was cosy and a nice place to be in the evenings. Food was ok but overpriced and breakfast uninspiring-no frills. There is no-where else to eat in this town. Paid £88 for room per night which was a bit too much taking everything into consideration.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not under the eaves-sloping ceilings can mean bumped heads and restricted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waltyluft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

We booked in here reluctantly as our normal B&B budget was £30-£40 and one room was £62 , but other hotels were booked out with contractors. Very much a luxury B&B, which could not be faulted for comfort or welcome with a good atmosphere in the bar presided over by the owner and a hearty pub menu.
From the point of view of bikers , it was a bit too luxury and expensive for our tastes , but I would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting a very comfortable and pleasant place to stay and prepared to pay a bit extra.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugh106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed in a twin room that is not really suitable as a room for two (certainly for the price charged) because it is in the eaves and the roof slopes on both sides in the bedroom AND the bathroom. Consequently, both me and my friend frequently bumped our heads.

In the bathroom the shower was broken so the only way you could wash was by holding the shower head in your hand.

Breakfast was distinctly average, the sausages were particularly poor (and very cheap tasting).

On the upside, the bed was very comfortable and it was a very clean place.

However, there is a curious system of leaving keys at the desk (in case of a fire apparently). But you lock your room, and then leave your key on the unattended reception desk when you go out. Why bother having a key for the room then? Admitadly only guests have the code to get into the reception, but still, any of your fellow guests in the hotel could pick up your key and help themselves to the contents of your room.

Just very average with poor aspects.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have the twin with the sloping roof on both sides!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gsb753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A warm welcome was received, all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The accomodation is of an excellent standard - very clean and comfortable. The food is amazing, the only fault was that I couldn't finish the large portion. We had a lovely stay here and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011


Absolutely brilliant from the moment we arrived tillthe moment we left. lovely atmosphere excellent service and amazing staff. would recommend highly. spotlessly clean rooms and food not to be missed

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kippoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Galloway
1.0 km away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
119 reviews
19.7 km away
Craigdarroch Arms Hotel
Craigdarroch Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moniaive
50 reviews
0.3 km away
Cruachan House
Cruachan House
#1 of 3 in New Galloway
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys Hotel

Address: High Street, New Galloway DG7 3RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > New Galloway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Galloway
Price Range: $143 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Keys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17C former coaching in is at the top of Loch Ken and on the edge of the Galloway Forest Dark Sky Park. It is set in the centre of the smallest and most picturesque Royal Burgh in Scotland. We have 10 cosy en-suite bedrooms with TV/DVD/Radio and tea and coffee making facilities, a traditional bar with a good selection of Malts and a welcoming log fire and an excellent restaurant specialising in fresh local produce. Wi-fi access throughout Hotel. This is the perfect base to unwind and explore the outstanding natural beauty of South West Scotland. You can enjoy walking, cycling, shooting or stalking, fishing, golf, birdwatching, photography and painting, watersports.........Or just totally relax and do nothing....We welcome well behaved and "dog friendly" dogs. TRADITIONAL HOSPITALITY AT ITS VERY BEST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Cross Keys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing