We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so”
Review of La Rock Restaurant

La Rock Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Sandiacre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 34 - USD 94
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Outercity dining in Nottingham, blending innate rusticity with finely-edged flair. Emphasis on quality and consistency.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Typical Brit restaurant,staff tried to make you think they were doing you a favor by serving your food,food was not up to much,

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Visited for Sunday lunch over the Easter weekend, absolutely faultless experience. Food wonderful, welcome and service very friendly, very good wine list too. Very reasonably priced, considering the high quality of food, will definitely visit again, a very special place.

Date of visit: April 2018
3  Thank Jasonab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

A large party for an 80th birthday on Easter Sunday was not an easy challenge for the restaurant. However from the start of the meal enjoying pre-dinner drinks in the lounge to a three course meal that was exceptional we found the food and service to be excellent. The delicate balance of flavours and the reasonably priced food were topped off by very good service. The only struggle was to bring all the food out at the same time but they did recognise this and apologised. Well done to the team.

Date of visit: April 2018
3  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Absolutely lovely food,would highly recommend a visit. Well done everyone involved in the running of this fabulous restaurant. Will definitely be returning xx

Date of visit: February 2018
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

First time here and we loved every single aspect. Easy on road parking, warm welcome from the hostess and we enjoyed a cocktail in the lounge area. The ambience is very rustic with antler decor everywhere plus good lighting and music.

We had 2 complimentary amuse bouches plus home made bread which I had lots of. There were several vegetarian options which I was pleased about and I enjoyed my deconstructed stilton tart with hen yolk. The main was a parsnip chickpea concoction and dessert was a brandy snap and sorbet thing.

This place reminded us a bit of Sat Bains (which is 2 Michelin star) and with a few tiny tweaks La Rock could be well on it’s way to earning its first. Couple of examples - the butter for the bread was rock hard, the dinner plates were hot to the touch and there wasn’t anyone to advise on wines but these are tiny nitpicking details. Bottom line - we will be back.

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank Elmo1989_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rock Restaurant also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to La Rock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing