We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome spot awesome accomodation.”
Corner Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Corner Cottage
Wood burning stove - ahhhh It's the Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Corner Cottage
Wood burning stove - ahhhh
It's the Kitchen
Living room from the bookcase
Living room from behind the television
Main Bedroom - my favourite anyway
Bedroom 2 - it's twins....beds
Chapel Stile - cows eye view
Chapel Stile - sheeps eye view
The Chapel of Chapel Stile fame
Chapel Stile - birds eye view
The Cottage from the middle of the road
Wood burning stove - not quite sure why I have 2 photos of the stove but it's better than none!
Floor Plan
The Games Room with brand new Pool table - just in case it rains!
Village shop - 50 yards away
Village shop welcomes novices!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Chapel Stile, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colin224
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome spot awesome accomodation.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I have no hesitation recommending The Old Post Office. There were 7 of us and we had a great time. It is ideally situated in a small valley and great for trekking around the Lake District. Accomodation was excellent and we particularly like the games room which kept the younger ones (and a couple of the older ones) entertained in the evenings. The facilites are excellent with everything you need. There is only one bathroom but two toilets. We are from Australia and toured all around England and can honestly say our highlight was the week in the Lake District partly thanks to our stay in the Old Post Office.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The Position
Liked least: One bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
Thanks for your kind reviews Colin and glad you enjoyed your stay at The Old Postmasters Cottage. You refer to the Old Post Office which is next door - did you tunnel through!! No worries, others have made the same mistake - maybe I should change the name to something completely different?? The 2 cottages were originally internally joined - next door being the Post Office & shop (they once had petrol pumps outside!) and my cottage being the living quarters of the Postmaster/mistress. And yes, having just 1 bathroom if you have a big party is not ideal, but the second and separate toilet at least allows for 'emergencies'. Hope you had a safe journey back to Oz - hope to see you back next time you're over. Hooroo, Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martyb187...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A well equipped cottage in a beautiful location. Cottage is warm and cosy with a fantastic little pub a stones throw away. Warren was very helpful with all our questions - nothing was too much trouble. Stayed with our two dogs who loved the walks. A smashing place that we will definitely return to.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2014
Thanks a lot for your kind review. And thanks for looking after the cottage. I must admit I'm always a little nervous with dogs staying (unfortunate incident last year) but with every doggy guest, my confidence is being re-built that most dog owners are responsible and respectful people. Oh yes, and my cleaner passes on her thanks too - she's never had an easier clean!! Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B
Aughton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful Cottage - everything you need and more!!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

What a lovely stay we had in this clean, well equipped cottage. The scenery that surrounded us was breath taking. The cottage has everything one needs and even more! A wonderful place to stay and i am sure we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thoughtfulness that had gone into the cottage - a home from home.
Liked least: No complaints.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2014
Many thanks and great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Langdales are wonderful even in February but sublime in summer. And I do keep adding little things to try and make it more a home from home - it's actually better equipped than my main home! Hope to see you back soon. Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestWales...
Ceredigion
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home in a perfect setting”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The cottage is cosy and well furnished with everything you can think of from household items to books and games to keep everyone amused whatever the weather. Seven of us, a baby and our dogs had a wonderful weekend despite the weather but then it wouldn't be the Lake District if it didn't rain! Warren(the owner) sent a very comprehensive list of eating places and helpful hints - he couldn't have been more helpful. There is a payphone in the cottage that was extremely useful when my son broke down as there was no mobile phone coverage. Really hope we can return to The Old Postmasters Cottage soon. Thanks Warren for renting us your lovely cottage.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2014
Thanks for your kind words and I'm glad you had a good time despite the weather. Having experienced the odd rainy day in the Lakes myself, I know it's good to have some things to do indoors to keep you entertained - and that's why I keep adding things to the games room! Hope to see you back and I'll sort out some sunny weather for you next time....Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mschillpi...
England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday home in an excellent location”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We were 4 adults and a child. The lovely cottage had everything we needed including interesting books and a pool table! The owner was extremely helpful in providing us with detailed and clear notes which included everything from directions to the place, where to park and the best places around to visit/ eat. The cottage itself was ideal for calm, picturesque walks. We had an extremely relaxed holiday. In my opinion, lack of wifi and patchy mobile signal worked wonders in helping us unwind totally! We would totally recommend this beautiful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2014
Thanks for your kind words. Unfortunately, the "lack of wifi to help you unwind" has now been spoilt by me installing broadband wifi. I was torn between putting it in or not, as it is nice to not feel the pressure to check emails all the time, but I had too many people asking for it.

Anyway, I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope the wifi doesn't put you off returning in the future!

Warren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing