We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandend Cottage

Sandend Cottage with a sprinkling of snow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandend Cottage with a sprinkling of snow
View of Village from dunes The Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Sandend Cottage with a sprinkling of snow
View of Village from dunes
The Lounge
Kingsize Double Bedroom
Main king size bedroom
The Twin Room
Bathroom
Back Bedroom
Utility Room
View of Cottage from Beach
Terrace view
view from the terrace garden
Sandend rooftops near the harbour
Winter view from the bedroom
What more could a dog want?
Only a road separates us from the beach
Rough seas
Coastline near Portsoy
The old Portsoy swimming pool
Shoreline
The wide expanse of sand that is Sandend Beach
Twin bedroom
Modern and well equipped kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Portsoy, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Amanda H
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Fabulously appointed cottage in a tranquil location with everything we could need for a weekend away. The cottage has everything we needed, right down to the little touches of provision of some groceries and chilled cava, and 'simple' things like enough dishwasher tablets and toilet roll!
Perfect views across Sandend bay, with binoculars to help us watch the surfers, and for wildlife. The cottage is cosy, and in great condition with quality furnishings throughout (one of, if not the best bed we've ever had in a holiday rental!). Kitchen is modern and well equipped, and bathroom looks pretty new (great shower).
Location was ideal for us getting some long runs done with the dog on the coastal trails, with the opportunity to explore the many great beaches in the area.
Just a short trip, so not much time to try many of the local shops and restaurants, but we did go to steak night at Durn House, and sampled the local Cullen ice cream.
Overall a brilliant cottage, I would not hesitate to go again. The owner Wendy popped in to check everything was ok, and to advise there was no hurry to check out on leaving day (due to timings for cleaner etc), which was a lovely touch. It was also a bonus getting in mid-afternoon on the Friday, as many cottages don't allow access until much later.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Thanks Amanda. It was lovely to meet you. Hopefully see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
annmarie...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic Location”
Reviewed 25 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

It is a lovely cottage. Would highly recommend it.
Lots of thought has gone in to it.
We could see the sea from all of the main windows. We just crossed the minor road to walk on the beach, which we and the dogs loved
Very welcome groceries and cava provided.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffree45...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace & quiet except for the sound of the waves”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband & I retuned for a third time to this very special cottage.
If you want peace & quiet , it's got to be here.we spent a week & the weather was kind. A bit blowy at times but warm enough to sit out on the little patio bit & read in the sun.
We went on the train to Keith from Duff town with a little trip around the Strathisla distillery before our return trip, such a good day
We went out & about discovering different places, like Bow Fiddle Rock, & the little town of Huntley with Deans shortbread factory,
Still lots to do & see, with a lovely place like Sandend to stay in we will be back

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DML-and-M...
Castleford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Beautiful cottage, lovely and clean in a perfect location With all mod cons, everything you would need for a home away from home.

Sandend is a lovely little village but with no facilities therefore in my opinion you will need a car especially to visit all the lovely little towns and coves along the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing