We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food and friendly staff”
Review of The Buck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Buck Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Malham B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good pub food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

On 11th April, my wife and I had a delightful pub lunch at the Buck. The beef and ale pie was excellent. My wife had a goats cheese and black pudding starter with a side of chips. It was very creative and substantial. The staff were attentive and friendly. Other reviewers have referred to the toilets. The pub and restaurant were both full and yet, the toilets were perfectly good. Would go again. Lunch for two, including beers and a tip was £33.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank robertb602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSouterOwner, Front Office Manager at The Buck Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2016
Good Afternoon,
We have recently taken over this business and would be delighted if you decided to revisit for a more pleasant experience.
Kind regards,
All the team at The Buck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    191
    85
    48
    76
See reviews for
75
362
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The only thing of value about this place is it's a short walk from some beautiful scenery that is the only reason people use it at all everything else about the place is run down , unprofessional and massively overpriced . Making the mistake of ordering food here on good friday was the worst part of our trip to the Yorkshire dales even the miserable weather was better than our experience of eating here , the staff simply don't care and the food is awful . My friend was the first to experience the toilets and was that shocked he told us we were running the risk of a health hazzard by using them and when we saw them we all agreed . If your thinking of a walking trip to Malham then my advice would be to keep walking when you reach the Buck Inn .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malham hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Salford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

we stayed beginning of April 2012 - it was wonderful in every way. Great hosts, great room & food, great views and great walks just a stone's throw away - what more could anybody want? Thank you - we will be back.- Marie & Ken

PS The 4 poster bed was great too

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalfordMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We went for lunch on Easter Friday with friends from Budapest and had four things from the sandwich menu....all were not edible....and the chips were raw....
The toilets were filthy
Four sandwiches with chips and drinks....come to £ 51.50....the annoying thing was the bar staff were not interesting in listening to our complaints....really bad for mahlam..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Browneye007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noth yorks
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I was horrified at the prices, then saw the quality of the food which was worse then a little chef in the 80s. Chips where tasteless, giant Yorkshire pudding with the sausages was the size of a aunt bessy, ( that's a serious comparison)
the roast dinner, two slices of pork which had more fat on then meat. Soggy veg was from the freezer.
I can honestly say was the worse meal I have ever tasted and was served. I was disgusted,
I considered complaining however thought that if the manager can not look at the quality of the food I would not stand a chance raising my concerns.
To top it off I washed my hands in the beck after using the toilet

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Doristhedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malham
8.4 km away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
332 reviews
9.7 km away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
307 reviews
19.5 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
487 reviews
28.2 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
398 reviews
13.2 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Inn

Property: The Buck Inn
Address: Cove Road, Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 4DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Malham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Malham
Price range (per night): $122 - $161
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1874 on the site of an old coaching inn. The Buck is set in the centre of the picturesque village of Malham. The landscape is breathtakingly beautiful and quiet, offering you a break from the noisy cosmopolitan life of the big cities. Yet its only a short drive from Leeds, York and greater Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Buck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buck Inn Malham Hotel Malham
The Buck Inn Malham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing