We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility Realised”
other travellers have booked this property
Granville House
Bell Busk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Granville House
Bell Busk
Front garden Your private drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Granville House
Bell Busk
Front garden
Your private drive
Your private entrance
Kitchen with Aga ( instructions and recipe book)
Bespoke kitchen from 
Eastburn Country furniture
Home baking
Oak table and chairs
Butter churn
Large designer kitchen, a wonderful space to relax in
Some of your home appliances
Aga cookery
Piano with music
Large sitting room
Sit here and enjoy the views
Home entertainment
Master bedroom with 4 poster
Luxury bedding and lighting
Rocking chair
Double room
Twin room overlooking pretty back garden and Haw Cragg
House bathroom
Spring
Just a small part of your pretty back garden
Turn right over Red Bridge and right again
The flying Scotsman
Sit here and take your boots off
On the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park
Traffic
Bed time
The neighbours in the maternity field opposite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ba22aLoft...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tranquility Realised”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago. We used it as a base to visit Skipton, York and The Forbidden Corner in Middleham. An excellent location for peace and quiet after active days out. Accommodating hosts and glorious countryside literally on your door step. Lots of board games, DVDs and books in the spacious and comfortable house so plenty to do for all the family. A great place for a short break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The piano
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you, we're really pleased you had a good time, sorry to have missed you when you left.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fern R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slice of Yorkshire heaven!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

As a family of 5, with older children, finding locations and properties to stay-in that meet everyone's need for space, entertainment and accessibility to surrounding areas and attractions is usually difficult. However, Granville House ticks all our boxes and my entire family love it. The views are amazing, the cottage itself is a little slice of Yorkshire heaven with all mod-cons thrown in for a truly 'escape from it all' kind of holiday.
The cottage is very well maintain and I have never stayed anywhere that is so clean! There is everything you will need for every eventuality (even shoe polish and sewing kit!!) and that adds it's own special sparkle to the cottage, because it makes it feel like home. My children especially love the games/mind-teasers in the living room.
This cottage is great value for money. The location is excellent for access to all areas of Yorkshire and we even did a day trip to the lakes. The owners are very welcoming and the animals are just as friendly.
The road to the cottage is a little daunting with many bumps and potholes but it is very passable if you drive slowly and carefully up it.
We have stayed before and we will stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you. It was great to have you here again and we look forward to your next trip to Yorkshire. Good to feel appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaM2517
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend at Granville Cottage”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were a group of 3 couples who chose this cottage to celebrate our 40th birthdays. We loved everything about it, perfect in all ways. High standards in all aspects in the interior and exterior with such amazing views. Would highly recommend. Really enjoyed local walks. Great for all occassions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: too much to list - loved the whole package!
Liked least: nothing of note
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Thanks for that lovely review. We really enjoyed having you to stay and thanks for feeding our chickens while we took a short break.
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegularTr...
North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Remote location, property has everything”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It's very out of the way so your satnav will only take you to the centre of the post code and you may struggle a bit from there. Key in 'Malham' as the city and 'Mark House Lane' as the road and you'll go straight there (although I put in the precise map co-ordinates myself). Mark House Lane is a right turn at Bell Busk (which is half way along the Coniston Cold to Malham road) go over a bridge on to a road/track and Granville House is further up on the left.

All the rooms are spacious and well furnished. NOTE: the cooker is an Aga. We found it took three times longer to cook anything either on the hobs or the oven so unless you're an Aganaut ;-) plan ahead. NOTE: we found it cold in the evening until we found the central heating thermostat in the utility room behind a wall hanging ornament. There's a log burner too which is easy to get going.

Nearest pub for dinner is Airton and there's a tea shop at Kirkby Malham. Prices were toward the higher side and that seems the norm for the area.

Being remote, views are pretty good and there's a fair bit of wildlife: hares, dippers, yellow wagtails and we even saw Peregrines above Gordale Scar. It's an ideal base for hiking Gordale Scar, Janet's Foss, Malham Tarn etc, and we found a good hike near Settle taking in Scalabar Force - worth a look.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Remote location
Liked least: Aga cooker
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2015
Thank you for your visit and review. We are actually just 1 mile from the A65, but unusually the views are indeed panoramic and pastural with church spire and pretty little railway viaduct (steam trains on some days), Malham Cove can also be seen from the garden. As you point out it is best to ignore the satnav after Coniston Cold and this is clearly explained in our 'how to find us' directions that are sent out when the balance is paid.
The nearest bar is in Coniston Cold, just 1.5 miles and evening meals are avilable in Bell Busk at Tudor House. The tea shop that you mention in Airton is fabulous and the food served at the pub in Kirkby Malham is excellent, just tell Granville, the chef , that we sent you.
We take our customer service very seriously, and we would have willingly come to help you with the Aga if you had brought it to our attention while you were here. We cannot possibly provide a service if we do not know there is a problem. It seems that the Aga had been turned down - maybe like the thermostat ( the previous holidaymakers did find the house rather too warm!) The aga is now back up to full speed and the central heating is set at 20C. Heating is supplemented by a log burner, electric blankets,13.5 tog duvets, throws, merino blankets, woollen blankets, thermally lined made to measure curtains and 25cms of the best loft insulation.

It's good to know you found some wild life, hopefully you were able to feed the birds with the bird seed that we provide for the bird table. We should mention that there are also, otters, deer, bats, owls, partridges, kingfishers.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage and location”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here as a family of five adults for a long weekend. The cottage was perfect, we couldn't fault it. Plenty of space, a great eating and living space, and the wood burner was a real perk. Jeanne and Richard were on hand and were very friendly and helpful. There is plenty to do in the local area too - there is some nice walking to be done nearby and local towns and villages have good pubs and places to eat. I'd definitely recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2015
Thank you for that lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again. It's so good to know that our efforts are appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing