We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top class!”
other travellers have booked this property
Granville House
Bell Busk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Granville House
Bell Busk
Front garden Your private drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Granville House
Bell Busk
Front garden
Your private drive
Your private entrance
Kitchen with Aga ( instructions and recipe book)
Bespoke kitchen from 
Eastburn Country furniture
Home baking
Oak table and chairs
Butter churn
Large designer kitchen, a wonderful space to relax in
Some of your home appliances
Aga cookery
Piano with music
Large sitting room
Sit here and enjoy the views
Home entertainment
Master bedroom with 4 poster
Luxury bedding and lighting
Rocking chair
Double room
Twin room overlooking pretty back garden and Haw Cragg
House bathroom
Spring
Just a small part of your pretty back garden
Turn right over Red Bridge and right again
The flying Scotsman
Sit here and take your boots off
On the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park
Traffic
Bed time
The neighbours in the maternity field opposite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sydney991
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top class!”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

What a lovely house! It's obvious from all the reviews on here that this house is fantastic, and it lives up to that billing and more!
There are amazing views, big comfy beds, fab furnishings, a big tele, fab walks from the doorstep, a locally crafted kitchen, boot/drying room, big garden, cozy aga, wood burner etc etc Absolutely everything has been thought of and been provided by the owners, who live next door. They are friendly and welcoming, but unobtrusive.
I don't think you could get a better house in the Dales. Could not recommend highly enough.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2014
Well, what a great review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and come back and see us again and we will maybe have the TR6 rebuilt by then. Many thanks, Richard and Jeanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan E
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Granville House - what a fabulous find, beautifully presented, exceptionally clean and the owners so friendly!”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Arrived on Sunday 5 October in beautiful Malhamdale in the Yorkshire Dales and found Granville House located just outside Bell Busk near Gargrave in a lovely secluded spot overlooking rolling hills and fields. Granville House which sleeps up to six people in beautifully appointed bedrooms was just like home from home with that hint of luxury. A lovely warm Aga greeted us as we entered the property and the standard of the decor was excellent throughout - we could see straight away that a lot of time, thought and effort had gone in to presenting the property which very much had a ' comfortable country feel'. The standard of cleaniness was excellent and everything with regards to the guests comfort had been thought of - there was even a keyboard which was great fun to play in the evenings (must brush up on my keyboard skills!). Jeanne and Richard were lovely people, very friendly and hospitable.

So often my partner and I are disappointed with holiday cottages but I will guarantee Granville House will not disappoint - only make you wish you had booked to stay longer! The Yorkshire Dales is a great place to spend a holiday and we are looking forward to our return to Granville House in 2015!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome and the standard of cleanliness at Granville House
Liked least: That I hadn't booked to stay longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thanks very much. We thought you were nice too and we look forward to welcoming you back - hope your house purchase goes to plan. If we can help let us know
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P
Southampton, Canada
1 review
“An excellent house from which to explore the Yorkshire Dales”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This month long stay was everything we hoped for and more. Granville House is a delight and commands views of farmland with plenty of sheep and cow activity to add to the peaceful setting. We had the luck to see two calves right after birth in the field in front of the house.
Chickens followed us each morning as we walked to the car and would persist until fed.
It is a great centre from which to explore the Dales and many walks are within easy reach.
A great experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful setting and views
Liked least: The AGA cooker was a challenge ! We did win though
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
We really enjoyed having you all here and we very much hope that some or all of you will be able to return. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsey M
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous house with amazing views.”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A very lovely house with amazing views, we stayed with young children and it was perfect. They even had the pleasure of feeding the chickens. There aren't shops within walking distance so try and remember what you are going to need. We didn't mind a bit of remoteness and were fine and more than happy going on walks from the house and enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Would definitely recommend this location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything!!! kitchen diner, views, open fires.
Liked least: no downstairs toilet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2014
So glad that we could be part if your families very special celebrations. Very best wishes to you all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murkeysid...
Essex, England
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat! A heavenly haven with everything you need”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked the cottage just over a week before we travelled but Jeanne was quick to respond to any emails and the travel directions were through very quickly which was particularly useful as staying at the cottage was the second part of a holiday.

Jeanne and Richard (who met us on our arrival) have done everything possible to make the cottage the ideal home from home. Everything you need is here: washing machine and airing/drying facilities, big fridge, plenty of utensils and cockery, double sink and an AGA cooker (we worth looking up before you go so you can learn how to get the best out of it), TV, freeview channels, CD/DVD player, books, puzzles and cards. Everything is of a high quality and the there are antiques, artifacts and curios dotted around that add a real character to the cottage.

There is an excellent handbook which includes manuals and instructions for some of the kitchen gadgets, information on local pubs and restaurants as well as local history. There is a bookshelf full of tourist leaflets which is a great way to plan your stay.

The bedrooms are large with plenty of space for your luggage and clothes and the beds got thumbs up all-round. The en-suite bathroom has a walk-in power-shower which works like the experience showers you get at a spa and it is quite easy to find yourself in there for 30 minutes or more. The bathroom was bright and surprisingly cosy with a warm feel to it...the highlight being the big free standing bath. Hot water was always available. There is a basket of towels available but we didn't use many as we had brought our own.

We had mixed weather but when it was nice you really could sit forever in the garden on a warm evening with a glass of your favourite tipple in your hand. There was very little noise in the evening, even from the cows and sheep in nearby fields so it was quite tranquil. During the day there are vehicles coming to and from the nearby farm and the occasional train tip-toes across the other side of the valley but it is not enough to spoil the ambience. When the weather wasn't great I sat in a comfy chair in the bay window of the living room just enjoying the view.

As a base to explore the Dales the cottage is perfectly located, being a short drive from Skipton. I would recommend a visit to the supermarkets there and getting the essentials in for your stay before heading to the cottage. There is a handy co-op nearby but you will be so chilled here that the last thing you will want to do go anywhere for groceries. From the cottage most of the Dales are easy to get to by car and the country roads are largely empty so go slowly and enjoy the views. There are plenty of hamlets and villages within walking distance and there are plenty of public footpaths so you are spoilt for choice if you fancy some hiking. You can set your own challenge and strike across the wilderness or just amble along and dip your toes in the river.

The short road up to the cottage is not ideal for a small car...we were in a Fiesta and it was like being on a theme park ride but next time we plan to stock up, park up and not use the car again until we are leaving. If you intend to use the car regularly prepare for a slow few hundred yards and tactical navigation.

Mobile connectivity is next to zero (I use Orange and EE at the time of writing) which is great if you want to avoid the hubbub of civilisation, but not great in an emergency though Jeanne and Richard are right next door and happy to help at any time.

Internet connection, if required, comes in the form of wi-fi which works well in the kitchen/dining room, reasonably well in the garden but tails off in the living room and bedrooms. Disrupted access to Facebook and Whatsapp meant we had a couple of frustrated lads on our hands though, as my youngest lad sad, this would be a perfect place to hide from a zombie apocalypse!

Next time we hope to be able to stay for longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the cottage and sitting down to those views!
Liked least: The road up to the cottage
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thanks David, glad to know you enjoyed your stay. We have o2 and vodaphone mobiles,the others work well outside or with forehead pressed against the window using 1 leg as an aerial.:-) We have superfast broadband coming in the autumn so hopefully that will help postpone an apocolypse.People soon get used to the unmetalled lane, we whizz up and down in our sports cars all the time. Good to know that you'll be coming back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing