We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, great for birding especially the resplendent quetzal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Lovely hotel, nice rooms, good helpful staff, excellent food with all located at the bottom of the valley. The recent tornado hasn't affected this hotel although the rain damage is evident on the approach road. Walked through the park, birds everywhere and even saw the super rare resplendent quetzal.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017

My sister and I organized a birding vacation in Costa Rica and stayed at Sevegre for 3 nights. We loved it. The gardens and grounds were beautiful and full of birds.

Others said the room was cold, and while it was a bit cool we got extra blankets and thought it was just fine. We would definitely return without hesitation.

The only criticism concerned meals. Breakfast was very good -- dinner less so and we had thought there would be more choices outside the hotel. One night we walked through the woods to another lodge and had dinner there. But, it is dark in the evening and we did not especially want to do that every night.

I gave it 5 stars with some hesitation -- 4.5 might be better -- and this was only because of the dining options.

All the staff from front desk and on were excellent!

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank puffin150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Very beautiful grounds and the trails through the cloud forest are breathtaking. Birdwatching is awesome and the food was extremely good. Service was pretty good though perhaps a bit more formal and less friendly than some places we stayed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank bmw039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

This place is along a winding road and tucked away in the mountain area. It has lovely cabins with fireplaces and a chef from Belgium that you will remember! They have many things you can do in the area including bird watching - lovely birds! The rushing water down the mountain is very nice to hear and see. They are repairing the road right now because of the rains that happened last month.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank CrazyKphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Very comfortable, rustic, spacious cabins surrounded by lush gardens full of birds. Several trails lead from the grounds into the forest and they provide a good map. The only negative of the room was the lack of heating (also mentioned by many others), which is desirable at this altitude and especially during the rainy season, when it is rather cool and your boots and outer layers get very wet. For the price, I might have expected this level of comfort. A fireplace in the “junior suite” seemed a nice addition, but only practical to light if you plan to stay in the room for several hours in the evening; if you’re like us and want to be out enjoying nature all day, and are only back for a short while before going dinner, it is not so practical. We did try to light a fire on our last night, as we returned to the room early with a few hours before dinner, but the wood was so damp, we could not get the fire to light.

The breakfasts (included in the room rate) were really good and included 7 or so options from an à la carte menu plus fresh fruits and cereals. However, the dinners were rather disappointing. Most options ranged from $24-30 and the quality was really not worthy of that price tag. Simple Costa Rican fare at more reasonable prices would personally be preferable. An “appetisers” menu available in the bar had cheaper options, though not very inspiring and presumably not cheaper overall as prosciutto on toast or BBQ chicken wings don’t sound sufficient to satisfy ones appetite after a full day in the outdoors.

Despite the negatives, I would highly recommend Savegre for the location, giving access to great gardens and trails in the forest for exploring nature and birdwatching. However, there are many more options in the Dota valley, which may well be just as good or even better. It wouldn’t take much for Hotel Savegre to get four or even five stars - some dry firewood, somewhere to dry shoes and clothes, and a more reasonably priced menu!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hydrobates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
3.1 km away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
661 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
155 reviews
22.2 km away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
273 reviews
27.6 km away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
421 reviews
30.2 km away
Natuga EcoLodge-Villas and Natural Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa

Address: South from La Lidia School 2km, San Gerardo de Dota 11703, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range: $76 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighty-nine kilometers (55.3 miles) south of San Jose in a private natural reserve of 400 hectares and just 9 km. (5.5 miles) from Los Quetzales National Park, Hotel Savegre is the ideal starting point for exploring Costa Rica’s magnificent tropical cloud forest in all its beauty. Hotel Savegre’s services are the perfect complement for every nature lover seeking a memorable experience. We offer 41 rooms, bar and restaurant, day spa, conference room, laundry service, shuttle service, tours and related activities, as well as our beautiful gardens and impressive private reserve with its extensive network of trails. Our helpful and genuinely friendly staff are the hotel’s signature feature.The Chacon family, pioneers in the San Gerardo de Dota region have been operating the hotel since its inception and it has always been our utmost aim to provide top-quality service that goes hand in hand with the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve And Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve Hotel San Gerardo De Dota
Savegre Mountain Cartago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing