We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
914 results
Traveller rating
555
268
66
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
555
268
66
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet style resplendent quetzal marino chacon costa rica cloud forest bird watching trout salad bar hummingbird feeders junior suite the river fire pit belgian chef happy hour is beautiful location hidden valley hotel grounds
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 914 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Very beautiful grounds and the trails through the cloud forest are breathtaking. Birdwatching is awesome and the food was extremely good. Service was pretty good though perhaps a bit more formal and less friendly than some places we stayed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank bmw039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

This place is along a winding road and tucked away in the mountain area. It has lovely cabins with fireplaces and a chef from Belgium that you will remember! They have many things you can do in the area including bird watching - lovely birds! The rushing water down the mountain is very nice to hear and see. They are repairing the road right now because of the rains that happened last month.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank CrazyKphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Very comfortable, rustic, spacious cabins surrounded by lush gardens full of birds. Several trails lead from the grounds into the forest and they provide a good map. The only negative of the room was the lack of heating (also mentioned by many others), which is desirable at this altitude and especially during the rainy season, when it is rather cool and your boots and outer layers get very wet. For the price, I might have expected this level of comfort. A fireplace in the “junior suite” seemed a nice addition, but only practical to light if you plan to stay in the room for several hours in the evening; if you’re like us and want to be out enjoying nature all day, and are only back for a short while before going dinner, it is not so practical. We did try to light a fire on our last night, as we returned to the room early with a few hours before dinner, but the wood was so damp, we could not get the fire to light.

The breakfasts (included in the room rate) were really good and included 7 or so options from an à la carte menu plus fresh fruits and cereals. However, the dinners were rather disappointing. Most options ranged from $24-30 and the quality was really not worthy of that price tag. Simple Costa Rican fare at more reasonable prices would personally be preferable. An “appetisers” menu available in the bar had cheaper options, though not very inspiring and presumably not cheaper overall as prosciutto on toast or BBQ chicken wings don’t sound sufficient to satisfy ones appetite after a full day in the outdoors.

Despite the negatives, I would highly recommend Savegre for the location, giving access to great gardens and trails in the forest for exploring nature and birdwatching. However, there are many more options in the Dota valley, which may well be just as good or even better. It wouldn’t take much for Hotel Savegre to get four or even five stars - some dry firewood, somewhere to dry shoes and clothes, and a more reasonably priced menu!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hydrobates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

What a lovely setting for a friendly, family run nature lodge. We came to view birds and were not disappointed. Our guide, Melvin was quite knowledgable and enthusiastically attempted to have us see as many new species as possible. Like our guide, the entire staff was very accommodating. Their friendly, easy going style made us feel so welcome. As other reviewers have mentioned, we found the rooms quite damp and chilly, and were disappointed that there was no way to dry clothes. Although the food was delicious, the dining menu was limited. The buffet provided when a larger tour group arrived was outstanding!! The gardens were lovely and the surrounding paths provided a variety of habitats that we could explore on our own.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces, a good choice in the damp, chilly green season.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerseytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

What an amazing situation for this hotel. We arrived in the dark so did not fully appreciate the beauty of the valley and gardens until the next morning.

Our room was large, almost cavernous, and rather chilly. (we were there in "green season" but it was nevertheless a bit too chilly. There was a heater but this was inadequate for the size of the room. the bathroom too was huge, almost too large, and the floor became very slippery indeed.

The staff in the bar were very friendly and helpful. We ate from the restaurant menu the first night but found that the bar menu was just as enjoyable.

We had a wonderful guide for our Quetzal trip in the morning. We saw around 10 quetzal and many other birds including toucan. Our guide was very knowledgeable indeed. We walked up the river towards the waterfalls but recent storms had made the trails rather difficult to negotiate. We did enjoy the walk though.

The hotel is in a wonderful situation - we had a sunny morning before the rain came and certainly saw the valley and the hotel gardens in all their glory.

All in all, we found the hotel's situation amazing, the staff were friendly and helpful but we did feel that, at that time of year, the rooms could have been a bit more welcoming with better forms of taking the chill off the room and drying wet clothes.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews