We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rustic style Guanacaste Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Sabanero Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We like the hotel it's super mellow & "stress" is not on the menu.The pools perfect for relaxing. The wood work in the hotel is authentic & 100% Guanacaste style.It's a great option if u are not into the bizy Tamarindo buzz.The surfs only 10 minutes drive with horse back riding around the corner.Donald who runs the show is a classic guy & does a fantastic job...!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surferchefcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

First of all, my fiance and I would stay at El Sabanero again and again. It's exactly what we had in mind and you get exactly what is promised. It's located about 20-30 minutes away by car/bus from the surf town of Tamarindo. The roads to town will shake you around endlessly, as they are unpaved and always changing according to the rain/no rain factors. However, it's certainly simple enough to go in and out - you have various options. You can rent a car, travel by taxi (10,000 colones or $20) or travel by a local bus that comes about every 60 minutes (450 colones or ...$1 or so).

A great part about El Sabanero is actually where it's located, regardless of the bumpy roadways. It's burrowed up top of a hill/mountain overlooking a large valley, Cana Fistula, with beautiful sights to see...astounding plant life, surrounding mountains, birds galore, friendly neighbors, and so on. Amazing view at all times of the day, especially when lounging in either of the two pools. It's away from the dusty dirt roads, the busy boutiques, the loud crowds, and so on. You are surrounded by nature.

Your host, Donald, is your connection to all that you need while visiting the area. He is an irreplaceable part of the experience. Visit and you will understand why. For those entering Costa Rica with a lousy knowledge of Spanish at best...Donald speaks English very well, so have no fear. You may also run into the owners (fluent in German and English) who we are truly grateful to for the lifts into town & back to the airport! They went above and beyond to make our stay a good one.

The cabinas are great - you will be comfortable and also have your privacy. They're equipped with a mini refrigerator and safe, ceiling fan, AC unit, and good water pressure. This should be all that you need! You are offered breakfast and dinner on all days (with the expection of Sunday dinner) and you will love ANYTHING that Donald makes - anything! Honestly, delicious food. Plus, you get a varied selection (pasta dishes, nachos & burritos, typical Tican meals, salads, etc). There are vegetarian options. We highly recommend that you eat there for both meals, and go into town during the afternoon for lunch and surfing/shopping etc. They also have bottles of water, beer, soda, and iced tea all available, which we thought was such a brilliant option.

The whole experience was perfect and exactly what we were looking for. The atmosphere is laid back and relaxing. The hosts are extremely helpful, kind, and good to talk with. We will recommend El Sabanero to anyone who wants to get away from their busy lives, likes to explore & see different plants/animals/bugs, prefers it to be hot and humid, likes good food & friendly people, appreciates privacy, relaxation or adventure, and so on!

We do NOT recommend El Sabanero for loud people, people that need to stay busy all hours of the day, wildlife haters, or for families with many young children. El Sabanero is ideal for couples, young and old.

The Cons (which are hopefully seen as constructive critism):
1. The AC units are unable to work optimally because there are certain window spaces that you cannot close, so that the warm air still comes in and the room can't cool down. We felt like we were wasting a lot by using the AC, but we really needed it to sleep at night.

2. First of all, thank you VERY VERY much for letting us use the kitchen & food to cook dinner on Sunday night. That was a cool experience and we loved it. However, for other guests, it may be more challenging that Sunday night dinner is not an option. Perhaps if you have a limited/simpler menu that evening instead of nothing.

Thank you guys for everything! We'll definitely be back to visit (maybe next time at your new hotel - El Sabanero Beach Hotel) and we miss everything about Costa Rica already.

Pura Vida!
Sarah and Nick

Room Tip: Room #8 overlooks the whole valley (Cana Fistula) and is nearest to the common area, where you'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahsahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We enjoyed staying at El Sabanero away from hustle and bustle of Tamarindo. The pool area at the hotel is lovely. It enjoys a gentle breeze being set on the edge of a hill. the hammocks in the communal area were also a great hit. The staff were very helpful.The breakfast was good but not exceptional.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0sanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My girlfriend and I, had the pleasure of sharing 3 beautiful nights at the El Sabanero hotel. Located just 10 minutes away from the famous Tamarindo beach, you can experience the town life and easily make an escape to tranquility, intimacy and nature. Upon arrival, I was greeted by both Kurt and Donald with a handshake and smile. The set-up was amazing and the place was spotless. The candle lit reception area and all natural wood from local foliage was polished and sculpted to create a wonderful ambiance. The dinning area featured a full bar with two hammocks on each side overlooking the pristine views of the countryside. After walking past a beautiful torch lit wooden deck covered pool area Kurt showed us our "cabina" The room was a delight allowing a safe retreat from the elements but still allowing you to experience nature (monkey calls, birds singing and sounds of insects really made the stay amazing and relaxing during the evening hours. After handing us the keys to our room Kurt told us that the first drinks from the reception area beverage machine were on the hotel. (a very nice welcome gesture) Breakfast was served from 7-9AM and featured fresh bread, butter, jams, milk, coffee, fruit and handmade juice. (A perfect start for your day).


For those still reading,

Donald the chef/manager not only helped me book a rental car for a decent price but he also surprised my girlfriend on our anniversary with a romantic poolside candle light dinner. He had beautiful music playing, torches and flowers surrounding our personal table, the pool was dimmed and lit, a bottle of Chilean wine accompanied his delicious FISH PESCADO dinner which was the best food hands down that we had during our 8 days in Costa Rica and possibly the best fish I have ever had (not exaggerating). Try it for yourself you will not be Disappointed.

His Costa Rican style dinner plate (which ONLY ran about 13$ by the way!!) came loaded with yuca, salad, vegetables, beans, guacamole and rice. The fish was Cooked to perfection, tasted so fresh as if it was pulled out of the local waters and prepared for us. Everything had AMAZING flavor and my girlfriend who is from central america said she had never tasted such good guacamole.

After dinner, we spent the rest of the night poolside with Donald as he sat and sipped wine with us we felt at home.

Gracias por todo y BRAVO donald and kurt. I told everyone about the place and we will be back hope to see you again, we miss you guys already.

Forever in our hearts,

Kahterine and Travis

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

El Sabanero Eco Lodge is by far the best place we have stayed during our two weeks trips. 10 minutes drive from ''downtown'' Tamarindo, El Sabanero allows you to enjoy the city and the countryside at the same time. Each visitors have their own little villa (good intimacy and confort). Kurt and Donald are top class hosts (ask Kurt about Lola's and Donald about his fish casado...you will not be disapointed). The pool is perfect to take a break from the beach or enjoying the night with a drink in hand.

Furthermore, these guys are true gentlemen. We forgot 2 pairs of shoes at the hotel and they take arrangements to send them back to Canada.

Kudos to you, Kurt and Donald.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie-Ève G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Avellanas
9.9 km away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
8.9 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
9.1 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Los Altos de Eros
Los Altos de Eros
#2 of 24 in Tamarindo
742 reviews
8.8 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
576 reviews
9.6 km away
Hotel Capitan Suizo Beach Front Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sabanero Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sabanero Eco Lodge

Address: Cana Fistula | Entre Tamarindo y Santa Cruz, Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo > Playa Avellanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Avellanas
Price Range: $154 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sabanero Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the north Pacific side of Costa Rica, in the province of Guanacaste. A 10 min drive to Tamarindo Beach Resort, 5 min from the Hacienda Pinilla golf course facilities and only 15 min from world-class surf spots such as Avellanas Beach, Playa Negra and Playa Grande. El Sabanero is perfectly located close to all exciting activities. Staying at El Sabanero, one experiences total tranquility, the pure nature, the exotic local animals such as howling monkeys, iguanas, exotic butterflies, parrots & much more, plus the fantastic view of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Sabanero Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Sabanero Eco Hotel Tamarindo
El Sabanero Ecolodge Tamarindo
El Sabanero Ecolodge Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing