We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet retreat in a beautiful village”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting room in morning sunlight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room in morning sunlight
Front of Wise Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Sitting room in morning sunlight
Front of Wise Cottage
Looking from landing into master bedroom
Twin room with full size bunk beds
View from twin bedroom
Well equipped kitchen
Ancient timbers of stair case and dining table
Garden with beautiful views
Garden
Our local pub!
View from cottage garden
Our community shop, (which sells almost everything!)  20 yards from cottage.
Our village shop sells almost everything!
Our village shop, yards from the cottage
summer view from garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
East Knoyle, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrandMrsT...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just returned from our 10 night stay in Wise Cottage. Vanessa had been so helpful before our arrival and left provisions for us on arrival including home made jam! Both Vanessa and Bruce were on hand during the stay and it was a pleasure to meet them. The house is decorated beautifully, bed is extremely comfortable and the view from the garden is stunning.
East Knoyle is a gorgeous village. We enjoyed drinks at the local pub and the kids enjoyed the fab playground. The village shop is also very well stocked.
Overall we had a great stay, very relaxing. We would love to come and stay again. Thanks again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you Lizzie for your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay so much and I do hope you will be able to stay again when.visiting family. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adi_bein
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Soulful retreat!”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful authentic English cottage surrounded by forests and parks, which makes you feel right at home!
Vanessa the owner has been so kind in making us feel welcome even before we arrived, and it really makes a difference when it comes to staying in someone's property...
The place itself is clean, comfortable, peaceful and very nicely designed (and the bed sheets smell sooooooo good :)) ).
I highly recommend this place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
It was such a pleasure having you all to stay, thank you for your lovely review and I hope we meet again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattbeaum...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is set in a beautiful village with a well stocked local shop nearby and has access to the owners excellent outdoor heated pool. We spent our time visiting some of the many attractions nearby such as Stonehenge and enjoying the stunning walks near the cottage itself such as the 20 minute walk to the nearby pub (also pet friendly and caters for gluten free).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Many thanks Matt, so glad you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryFM
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cosy cottage!”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the cottage for 10 days and were blessed with some amazing weather. The cottage is so cosy and lovely, the bed is really comfortable and our nearly 3 year old loved the bunk beds! The cottage was a bit like out of the film The Holiday! We loved the pool and will miss the beautiful sunsets from the garden!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay so much Liz, hope you can come back some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yes, it's idyillic - we will be back”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage is perfect. We stayed for 4 days and enormously enjoyed both the cottage and the gorgeous countryside around it. The garden was surprisingly big, with a nice wooden table and benches and we enjoyed meals in the sunshine looking out over the fields and woods. We had lovely long walks with Toby (the dog) - he had a wonderful holiday too.

The cottage itself is really well equipped - dishwasher, comfortable bed, wood burning stove,, good quality cutlery & plates, good bathroom etc. and beautifully furnished and decorated. East Knoyle is a beautiful village with a well stocked and very useful shop.

In short, no complaints, highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you so much Jos for your lovely review. We very much look forward to a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing