We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa is as advertised with some extra perks”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Villa through Private Gate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Entrance to Villa through Private Gate
Pool
Living Room
Pool Terrace
Kitchen and Dining
Master Bedroom
Bedroom Three
Second Master Bedroom
Bedroom Three - King Bed with En-Suite Bathroom
Outside Dining Table
View of ocean from Library
Front entrance Patio
Fourth Bedroom - Can be divided into twin beds
Master Bathroom Detail
Bedroom 2 bathroom detail
Outdoor bar with sink and refrigerator
Hammock in Upstairs Library
Kitchen with all Stainless Steel Appliances
Outdoor Shower
Seating on Pool Terrance
Villa near Orient Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin, St Martin / St Maarten

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CentexHok...
Woodway, TX
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Villa is as advertised with some extra perks”
Reviewed 3 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

The pictures of the Villa and the amenities were as advertised with a few additions not listed on the description. Those extras include first of all a housekeeper, Louvenia who is very friendly and available to help the novice to St. Martin/St. Maarten find their way around the island and it's variety of choices. The second extra is the owner, who is very good at answering questions prior to and after the rental along with sending a variety of information such as restaurant recommendations, directions, information for immigration, etc. The third extra was US friendly 110V plugs and converters throughout the villa and an answering machine that makes it easier for dealing with local vendors (sail boats, restaurants, etc.). Fourth, but not last is the outdoor space. Several nights we ate at the dining table by the pool with the sound system playing our favorite music in the background. Perfect for relaxing and spending quality time with family.

As one person said here, like most villas in the Caribbean, the bedrooms are the only part that is air-conditioned, but the temperatures were comfortable with the constant breeze and the villa has excellent ventilation. Temperatures at the end of August were lows at 80 and highs at 86 perfect for a warm weather vacation with the breeze.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dining and sitting area around the pool
Liked least: Mosquitos that required repellent. Part of the Caribbean.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2011
Thank You very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annieg61
Newbury, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful, luxury villa which, unfortunately, lacks air-conditioning in all the shared living spaces.”
Reviewed 13 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Although this property is quite lovely and the location is very convenient to Orient Bay and it's beaches, the lack of air conditioning is a problem. Upon arriving at the villa at 6:30 p.m., the housekeeper was in the kitchen spraying herself down with Deep Woods Off, to keep the mosquitos from biting. She had all the doors to the main house open, no screens anywhere, and a bug zapper positioned on the kitchen counter. When we asked why she didn't have the a/c on, she informed us that only the bedrooms were air-conditioned. We were sweltering and tired, so we closed the doors to the house and utilized the master bedroom air conditioner in an effort to cool the main part of the house. Because of the location of the other two bedrooms, each situated off a long hallway adjacent to the dining area, we were unable to utlize the a/c from those rooms to assist with cooling the diningroom, livingroom and kitchen. There were no standing fans with which to move the air around. We were able to cool the main house enough to make it liveable with the one master bedroom a/c, but that stopped working during the middle of the night on the 4th night of our stay. When we contacted the housekeeper, that morning, she advised us to move to the other master bedroom. This was the first leg of a 14-day stay so we left all our belongings in the first bedroom and simply slept in the other. This was very inconvenient, but we assumed that the a/c would be repaired promptly. It wasn't, and was still broken when we left. We paid $3,600 for the week, the 2-couple off-season rate. During high season, this villa rents for up to $12,500 for a week. There should be air conditioning throughout this villa as the upstairs "library" is like sitting in your attic in the heat of the summer. Unless you like to slather yourself in bug repellant every day and more in the evening, you should make certain that the owners have rectified this situation prior to renting this villa. This was an unfortunate surprise to us and truly detracted from the enjoyment of this otherwise beautiful property.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flashrcs
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It is far better than pics can show”
Reviewed 25 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We shared this villa with another couple. this is our 2nd time to stay here. It just keeps getting better and better each year. House is in imaculate shape along with pool and gardens. New gas grill! Wow. we are already planning our stay for next year. 10 minute walk to Orient beach and bars. Very safe,private and comfortable place to stay. Would highly recommend!!

Jeff,Chris, Marc, Stacey.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bpaull
Verona, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Vacation”
Reviewed 19 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011

We had been to St. Martin on cruise ships before and loved it so we decided to stay a week on the island. We did extensive research and picked Villa Belle Mer. It was a fantastic decision. We were taken from the airport to pick up the rental car and the courtesy van then led us to the villa with our luggage. One note, we had a promotional rental car with Prestige Car Rental. That was the only bad experience of the trip. Next year we are going to go elswhere for the car. We were met at the villa by one of the villa's representatives who gave us a tour and answered all of our questions. He left his card for any questions during our stay. The villa was outstanding! It was clean and luxurious, just like it shows in the online ads. The pool was great! Just the right size and perfectly cleaned. We spent lots of time at the pool deck which has a great exterior bar and dining area. The villa is very private. The location is relatively close to Orient Beach. About a 5-10 minute walk to the end of the beach. Shopping and restaraunts are close by and only a couple minute drive or a few minute walk. One of the highlights of the villa was the housekeeper Louvie. She answered all of our questions and if she did not know the answer, she would make a phone call and find the answer for us. She is extrordinary. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Reviewed 5 March 2010 for a stay in February 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Luxury and location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing