We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
6
3
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
3
0
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I often book the green room at Devonshire when I'm needing to stay in the area (I run an art school nearby and often teach several day workshops that demand I stay close to the Alton Mill). This is my go-to place... it feels so homey and cozy. I love it, and Audrey and Jim are very welcoming (without being too chatty), and the breakfast is very tasty. It is usually served at Tintangels restaurant in Erin (a two minute drive or a five min. walk from the B&B) and you have the choice of many options. I've recommended Devonshire to dozens of students and friends and have yet to hear anything but positive experiences from them! HIghly recommended.

Room Tip: I like the green room as it has access to the claw foot tub, and I LOVE taking baths!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank abird55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, Owner at Devonshire Guest House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Audrey & I are so glad you've enjoyed your stay with us. Makes us happy, thank you whoever you are :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Thank you Audrey & Jim for a lovely stay. You were most accommodating of our needs and made us feel right at home! We highly recommend this b & b. It is a lovely setting, the hosts provide the right balance of attentiveness and inobtrusiveness. And Jim's breakfast is top notch. Devonshire House is ideal for End-to-End Bruce Trail walkers who are travelling in the area of Georgetown to Orangeville - for a reasonable fee they will pick you up at the end of day & drop you where you left off the next morning. This certainly makes a difference if you would otherwise have to carry 15-20 kilograms packed on your back. And Erin is a lovely town to stroll about in with much to explore!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hankbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, Owner at Devonshire Guest House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Thanks for the review guys. Glad you enjoyed your time in Erin. Jim & Audrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We reserved the green room, very comfy, loved the bathroom, felt like a king and queen for the day......the hosts were very nice and a bonus was a great English Style Breakfast. At the Tea Room they also own.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sunbeam10055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, Owner at Devonshire Guest House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Very disappointing stay. We booked the green room well in advance of our arrival and had it confirmed by the owners. But on arrival, they said we couldn't have it and that they were 'upgrading' us to a better room. Unfortunately, we didn't like the other rooms' decor which was why we hadn't booked them. We wanted the beautiful large bathroom that came with the green room, with its deep bathtub and chaise. The reason given was that the bathroom was now being used for their spa. Given that it had been changed to the spa some time ago, there was no reason the owners couldn't have let us know this in advance as we would have cancelled our booking.

The 'better' room had a ridiculously tiny bathroom the size of a closet - a big person could not use the sink or dry themselves if the door was closed - and the shower stall had no ledge so washcloths, shampoo etc. had to be put on the floor. The owner did offer to let me use the other bathroom but it was filled with her spa stuff: massage table + manicure chair + pedicure chair, plus racks of nail polish etc., so it wasn't nice at all (btw: who wants to have spa treatments by a toilet??)

Furthermore, the 'better' room's king size bed turned out to be two twins pushed together. Given that we were there for our wedding anniversary, this was not acceptable, especially as the beds seemed to be on two levels with a ridge between them.

Finally, and very seriously, the owner attempted to add tax to the already agreed price as we were leaving. We informed him he could not do this unless it had been previously stated and in the end, it wasn't charged but it was very unpleasant.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, make sure you are getting the green room.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, Owner at Devonshire Guest House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

It's unfortunate that you did not express your unhappiness during your 3 nights stay with us ? We had no idea that you were so displeased. As there were no other guests we had upgraded your room believing this would have been a pleasant surprise. When you said you really wanted the Green Room because of the Claw foot tub you were given the option of still having that one or stay in the upgraded King room plus benefit from also using the other bathroom with the tub. Your husband chose the upgrade. We even provided lovely bath salts for you to use soaking in the tub.
The bathroom is one of our spa rooms throughout the day but then put away into evening guest mode. Yes, it had been left in spa mode as I had (mistakenly) thought you would be delighted with an upgrade and not be using that bathroom. it was changed the next morning.
It is a common practice with B&B's to use 2 twin beds to make up a king, giving guests both options. We have a thick king topper that results in guests always commenting on how comfortable this bed is.
Over all your comments leave us quite flabbergasted to say the least. As for tax...it's a given that you have to pay tax. It is rarely written...in Ontario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We booked the Queen Room for Friday and Saturday nights. The door to the room is narrow and partly obstructed by a railing, and there are two steps down into the room. Access is difficult, especially with suitcases in hand. Not recommended for the infirm. There is no smoke detector visible in the room - is this not a legal requirement? Lighting in the room is provided by a few small desk lamps, and inadequate - the room was continually dark and dreary. The bathroom sink and mirror are very low, and suitable only for short people. We saw the host upon arrival, but had no further interaction with either host or hostess during our stay. As noted by the previous reviewer, weekend breakfasts are provided at a cafe called Tintagel, which means leaving the house. Since the cafe does not open until 8:30, there is no option for an earlier breakfast. The meals were adequate but uninspired, and the young server pleasant but inexperienced. All in all, definitely not worth $165 per night!

Room Tip: Not the Queen Room!
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D, Owner at Devonshire Guest House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

My wife and I were troubled by your review and are sorry to hear you were not happy while staying with us.
As for not seeing much of us, we respect our guests privacy and only interact if asked to.
Audrey (my wife) was away on a business trip that weekend, that's why you didn't see her until checking out.
Our Tea Room, Tintagels (tintagelstearoom.ca) has served our guests well over the years, being able to enjoy the option of 8:30 am to 11am (especially after a late night) can be a welcomed relief. Also, choosing from the wide variety of items on the menu. We are proud of our young servers, they are well mannered and courteous. Our guests are only asked to go
there on weekends, otherwise breakfasts are served in our dining room.
As for early breakfast, prior to 8:30 a.m. we can certainly provide a continental style offering with prior notice. Coffee and Tea are always available via the Kuerig machine in the Foyer.
Regarding smoke detectors, we have been inspected and approved by the local Fire Department. You must not have noticed them along with the Carbon Monoxide Detectors. Our Queen Room's access can be challenging to the infirmed but that unique little
hallway was one feature that sold me on the house. It is a clever bit of engineering and carpentry that enabled the joining of two separate dwelling over a century ago. The Queen Room is part of the original home which is much older than the rest of the structure.
I hope I have been able to respond to your comments in a meaningful way and we thank you for your critique. Audrey & Jim Devonshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews