We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Esperanza Verde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I feel so lucky that I was able to visit Finca Esperanza Verde. The hummingbirds were out-of this world. The violet sabrewing and long tailed hermit! The trails are well-maintained and marked so you can walk by yourself or go with the the great guides that have eagle eyes, good knowledge and are very kind. I loved seeing sloths (and their babies) as well as several colorful birds I had never seen before.
I was in Nicaragua for some volunteer activities and this was the perfect respite. So beautiful, relaxing and nurturing. It was a little more expensive than the super cheap dorms and volunteer housing I was staying in, but I am so glad I chose to treat myself. I really felt refreshed. I can't recommend it enough.
Furthermore, staying here supports a great effort to protect a fragile environment and provide local employment with positive values.
I plan to return with friends and family as soon as possible.

Room Tip: I stayed in the "dorm" which was the most beautiful private room and bath with porch in th...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fincanica, Owner at Finca Esperanza Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thank you Janet! We really appreciate your lovely review. So happy we were able to provide that nurturing and restful time you were looking for after your volunteer work. We hope to see you back at the finca some day soon.

With much gratitude,
The FEV team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2017

This was a really unbelievable stay. Well worth the price. run by, and managed, at the highest Western standards. Beautiful views. Fantastic food. Excellent guiding. I have met quite a few expats who make this place as their second home when it is too hot in Center Nicaragua. And I totally understand why, gorgeous Place, relaxing, fun, excellent services. We were there on our honeymoon in addition to many other places and this was one of her favorites. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: colibri rooms #3 or #4 are the highest- and the best sweeping views!
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fincanica, Owner at Finca Esperanza Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Dear Yair L,

We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review! We really enjoyed being your hosts and hope that FEV will be the place you will return to again and again to celebrate your anniversaries!

With much gratitude,
The FEV team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The Finca was incredible. It was so much more than we expected. Sunning views, awesome hikes and delicious food. The staff was also wonderful. The fresh mountain water is so delicious and such a luxury after drinking only bottled up until this stop. We were there during the dry season and could see sloths, interesting air plants, giant rodents and toucans! We even heard the howler monkeys during a hike on the last day there. We would go back in a heartbeat and stay even longer, this was definitely the highlight of our trip to Nicaragua.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 466diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fincanica, Owner at Finca Esperanza Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear 466diana,

We are pleased to hear about your positive experience at the finca! Thank you for your lovely compliments. Hope to see you again some time in the future.

With much gratitude,
The Staff at FEV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Our Rotary Group visited Finca Esperanza Verde for a a meal, a coffee tour, birdwatching, and a walk. We've been there several times before and we keep coming back (and will do so again). We highly recommend FEV!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Farmall460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fincanica, Owner at Finca Esperanza Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Farmall460,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!! It's always a pleasure to serve you and your Rotary Group each year and we certainly look forward to your visit next time!

Muchas gracias,
The Team at FEV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

In a remote corner of a far-away land there is a surprisingly beautiful place called, Finca Esperanza Verde. How this ecolodge came to be developed is a bit like a fairy tale. It involves the US war against the Contras, wealthy landowners who mistreated their native land, and a couple of American ex-Peace Corps volunteers who did the right thing. But I'll leave the details to someone else. What you need to know is that to stay at FEV is to indulge the senses. It's an outdoor vacation in a spa-like setting. Hike the many trails, splash in the waterfalls, marvel at the hummingbirds just inches away from you. You will walk through coffee plantations under the shade of banana trees and strangler figs. Listen for the howler monkeys. Relax. The sunsets complete the tropical paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ronco444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fincanica, Owner at Finca Esperanza Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear Ronco444,

We really appreciate the comments on your review! We feel honored to serve the guests who have experienced the essence of FEV as you have described here. Thanks for visiting us and we look forward to seeing you back at the finca next time.

With much gratitude,
The FEV Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yucul
25.9 km away
La Bastilla Ecolodge
La Bastilla Ecolodge
#1 of 10 in Jinotega
108 reviews
6.8 km away
Kiruna Bed and Breakfast
Kiruna Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 4 in San Ramon
6 reviews
7.1 km away
Hotel El Sueno de la Campana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Esperanza Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Esperanza Verde

Address: 3.5 Kilo Metros de Yucul | San Ramon, Matagalpa, Yucul, San Ramon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > San Ramon > Yucul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Yucul
Price Range: $137 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Esperanza Verde is a unique experience in ecotourism and local empowerment - part organic coffee farm - part tourist lodge. The finca sits prominently on the edge of a quiet country road at 4000 ft (1200 mts) above sea level, providing spectacular views of the Dariense mountain range and the green valley of Matagalpa far below. The farm provides local Nicaraguans with profitable and sustainable ways to share their culture with visiting tourists and has received international recognition as a model of poverty alleviation through sustainable tourism and other socially responsible programs. We have three treehouse style double cabins with private bath. Two large dorm-style cabins with two baths in each. We can accommodate a maximum of 20 guests at a time. Three large hot water showers in separate building close to main lodge. A spacious open-air pavilion for lounging, yoga, and large group gatherings. Free WiFi service in main dining room only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Esperanza Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Esperanza Verde Hotel Matagalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing