We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Rose ann C
Melbourne, Australia
Delightful Accommodation
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Feb 2020via mobile
My Husband and I stayed at Shearwater cottages, what delightful accomodation
Gardens were lovely, bed was comfortable and linen and towels spotless
Complimentary Breakfast(continental) and toiletries
Michele was accomodating and very friendly
Nearby is local IGA, Fish & Chip shop, and Shearwater Resort
We would definitely recommend this property
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$185
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$148
  • Hotels.com
14.7 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$99
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
14.8 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Novotel Devonport Suite
Novotel
AU$171
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$171
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
15.2 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.4 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
18.4 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
15.1 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
23.4 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
40.3 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Shearwater
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
28
12
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
12
5
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

These cottages are beautifully kept clean and comfortable. Kitchenettes in the rooms with a shared bbq area provided outside the cottage doors, we couldnt ask for more. The laundry is provided for guest use free of charge and was exceptionally clean with washing powder for sale if needed. Bed was very comfortable. Very short walking distance to IGA supermarket, local resort tavern and other needs. Very private, highly recommended. Totally enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again. A little slice of home away from home. Thank you !!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jeniennef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2018

i stayed in the cottages at the end of january.it was a strange system . your key was left in the door. not great security. the first night i stayed there it was pouring rain. i could hear dripping so i went to the bathroom to find water coming through the heating light. likely i didn't turn the light switch on. i alerted the phone number they had on a notice board the next day. the cereals they had in small boxes for breakfast were 7 months out of date really bad. the butters and milks weren't refrigerated and some had melted. it was pretty dirty. the carpet came from the ark and was in desperate need of replacing. lots of spiders definitely not a fan . the place needs a real shake up

Room tip: avoid like the plague
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Twelve bridge playing friends booked all the facilities for four nights .
We played bridge and ate as a group in the cottage.
Everything was terrific, comfortable, room to move, warm and lovely views over the golf course.
There are many walks in the vicinity and one day we hired a mini bus and a driver and did a tour of the wineries.
I highly recommend Shearwater Cottages.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank _barbhinman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Classic H, Guest Relations Manager at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us. We always appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us to continue to improve the services that we provide. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends have enjoyed your stay with us and our facilities were able to cater to your holiday needs. Thank you for choosing to stay at our resort. It has been a pleasure to host you and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Room was nice and comfortable, facilities were pretty good especially the pool for kids. The restaurant was hit and miss as far as consistency goes but prices were reasonable but the service needs improving no water offered and trying to remove plates before meals were finished.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Classic H, Guest Relations Manager at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We love it when our guests have such a great experience during their stay with us. We also really appreciate your comments on the restaurant and we have passed your feedback directly on to our resort management team. We look forward to welcoming you again at Shearwater Cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

The rooms looked nothing like in the pictures. This place is good for a short stopover but not for a long stay. The wi-fi didn't work for the first two days of our stay but on telling the staff they made an effort to fix it asap. Laundry services are free so that's a plus. The bed was comfy but the room lacked character and was dull. The couch was old.

Room tip: Rooms closer to the laundry have stronger wi fi signals.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiddieMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Classic H, Guest Relations Manager at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really value your feedback. We have passed on your feedback to our team as it enables us to continually improve the experience that we provide for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews