We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
_barbhinman47
Hobart, Australia
Shearwater cottages
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 May 2017via mobile
Twelve bridge playing friends booked all the facilities for four nights .
We played bridge and ate as a group in the cottage.
Everything was terrific, comfortable, room to move, warm and lovely views over the golf course.
There are many walks in the vicinity and one day we hired a mini bus and a driver and did a tour of the wineries.
I highly recommend Shearwater Cottages.
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$174
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$174
1.5 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$204
  • Expedia.com
    AU$218
2.4 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
13.1 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$118
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
14.4 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$145
  • Hotels.com
14.7 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$94
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
    AU$95
14.8 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Queen Room
Tripadvisor
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
15.0 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
Queen Room with Ensuite
Tripadvisor
AU$137
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
15.1 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Novotel Devonport Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Novotel
    AU$171
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
15.2 km from Shearwater Cottages
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Shearwater
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
28
12
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
12
5
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Room was nice and comfortable, facilities were pretty good especially the pool for kids. The restaurant was hit and miss as far as consistency goes but prices were reasonable but the service needs improving no water offered and trying to remove plates before meals were finished.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Classic H, Guest Relations Manager at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We love it when our guests have such a great experience during their stay with us. We also really appreciate your comments on the restaurant and we have passed your feedback directly on to our resort management team. We look forward to welcoming you again at Shearwater Cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

The rooms looked nothing like in the pictures. This place is good for a short stopover but not for a long stay. The wi-fi didn't work for the first two days of our stay but on telling the staff they made an effort to fix it asap. Laundry services are free so that's a plus. The bed was comfy but the room lacked character and was dull. The couch was old.

Room tip: Rooms closer to the laundry have stronger wi fi signals.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiddieMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Classic H, Guest Relations Manager at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really value your feedback. We have passed on your feedback to our team as it enables us to continually improve the experience that we provide for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

only one night in family room here and 6 nights in adjacent shearwater resort(Classic holidays management)
excellent location on golf course,2 indoor pols, tennis court,restaurant, bar, 3 minute walk to long beach then river mouth.
central position for touring to cradle mountain, latrobe, tasmazia,stanley,devonport, launceston

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Classic H, Guest Relations Manager at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Thank you Ian for taking the time to post your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

A nice private group of cottages. We had the largest one with 4 adults sharing. It had everything you would need and the staff make such a fuss over you and your needs. Absolutely spotless clean. The only problem is when the staff clean or work in the area they talk non stop so we were often woken up by this. Also our double bed did not have two back legs and they had just put bricks there; we could not work out over the week why our bed was slopping worse. When management was told we did not even get an apology or discount.

Room tip: View your room on the net before booking and make sure you get what you booked for.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Classic H, Guest Relations Manager at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2015

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really value your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed on your feedback to our team as it enables us to continually improve the experience that we provide for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We actually stayed at the resort. The reviews tell you that the resort is in need of refurbishing. We were happy with our room. It was clean and bright and has a little balcony looking out over the golf course. The kitchen was great and with shops nearby we were able to eat quite cheaply.
We didn't use the facilities but many of the families did. The indoor pool was always full of excited children and the BBQs were used on a regular basis.
We were greeted warmly and had everything explained to us. Every room had its own car space so no fighting for spots at night.
The wine shop on site was great. There was a range of restaurants across the road as well as an IGA supermarket.
We were able to plan our daily tours from here in our hired car very easily. It has a great central position.
The only disappointing experience for us was the meal we had the first night in the restaurant. Our order was taken fairly quickly by a friendly waitress. We then waited 50 minutes to be served. When it arrived, the food was ordinary to say the least. Others around us didn't seem to unhappy so perhaps we just chose the wrong meals. We didn't eat there again.

Date of stay: September 2015
Thank cressa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews