We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay”

Review of Garth Barns

Hafod Barn from pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hafod Barn from pond
Ty Nant Barn Garth Lake at Sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Hafod Barn from pond
Ty Nant Barn
Garth Lake at Sunset
Hafod Barn
Hafod Kitchen
Bedroom 5, Hafod
Bedroom 1 Hafod
Bedroom 2 Hafod
Oak Wood on the Farm Trail
Ty Nant Lounge
Bedroom 2 Ty Nant
Bedroom 1 Ty Nant
Bathroom 4 Ty Nant
Siteplan, Garth Farmhouse, Hafod and Ty Nant
Hafod floorplan
Ty Nant floorplan
Winter sunshine!
Ty Nant, rear view
Ready for the Dinner Party!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
19 Bedrooms, 19 Bathrooms, Sleeps 48
Llanidloes, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JanieOH
Manchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Perfect place for a large family group. Big dining space, games areas, sauna, comfy bedrooms, mostly en-suite. Fantastic walking country. Local town has decent shops and pubs. Veronica is the most welcoming and helpful host you could ever wish for. Hope to return. Excellent all round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely amazing 40th birthday that I will never forget!!!!”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Myself and 29 of my close family and friends stayed at Garth Barns for a long weekend it was brilliant.
When we arrived we were welcomed by Veronica who was lovely and friendly, the log burners were lit and the place was spotless, the rooms were much bigger than expected and really cosy there was more than enough beds to go around. The kitchens were really well equipped and there was more than enough glasses, plates etc.
To be honest we did not want to leave on the Monday.... I would highly recommend Garth Barns and we will definately be back, we just need a good excuse now!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing everything was excellent.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family recently stayed at this property. The setting is beautiful. The amenities and accommodations are outstanding. At one point we had about 25 people and were able to accommodate everyone. There is plenty of space. All the rooms were lovely with gorgeous views. We swam and boated on the small lake, we used the bonfire, we used the sauna and exercise room, we played pool and table tennis, and hiked the area. The teenagers were not bored with so much to do. Veronica the owner was kind and gracious. We only saw her in the beginning and at the very end. An excellent and beautiful facility.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanwhite...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Four generations family weekend away”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Garth Barns was the perfect choice for our annual family gathering catering for babies to my 89 year old Nan. The facilities are great and only left for a bit of Sunday lunch at a local pub. There is plenty of space indoors and out for the kids to play and everything is set up for large groups. The boating/swimming lake gives Garth Barns that something different, and with better weather I think we would have been spent a lot more time down there. The views from the walks/runs you can access direct from the accommodation are amazing. We wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely consider staying again. Veronica and John are great hosts, always on hand to help but let you just get on with enjoying your stay. Loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Boating lake; camp fire; bbq; surrounding countryside
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil R
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious, clean, modern accomodation set in amazing scenery, with fantastic friendly and helpful owners.”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The setting is beautiful, with walks through their woods and round their lake and rolling hills as a back drop. It's peaceful and you really do feel away from the hustle and bustle of life, yet there are amenities within a short 15 minute drive. The grounds have everything you need for young explorers our four year old throughly enjoyed the swings and boating on the lake. He wasn't happy that we ran out of time to do a camp fire (hopefully we will do in 2016!). The owners kindly set one up as big as a bonfire with logs round to sit and toast your marshmallows.

There is ample space for guests to park and same again in the accommodation so you do not feel under each other's feet. The sleeping arrangements we had for our 23 guests worked perfectly. All rooms were clean with the decor done in calming neutral colours and most with ensuites.

Hafod's kitchen / dining room had seating for everyone (including high chairs) and again tons of space for preparing food. The cupboards in kitchen were well stocked and double oven and two huge fridges worked a treat!

The owners put on a treasure hunt for the whole family which was enjoyed by old and young.

The sauna and gym are well equipped for a short break.

Veronica and her husband were very helpful and always available for assisting us with walks or even taking our family photo!

Thank you Veronica for an amazing stay you made my Mum and Dads 40th wedding anniversary such a special occasion.

Hope to see you in 2016!!!
Rachel

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lay out of Hafod for dining and entertaining
Liked least: Lack of signal on phone (not a bad thing tho' made us all rest)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing