We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peter D
Guelph, Canada

Good base for visiting monasteries

Review of Sydney Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 May 2014
This hotel is well situated for a visit to Meteora. It is only a 10 minute walk from the KTEL station in Kalambaka; the hotel can be found right as you enter the quaint village of Kastraki from this road.

We opted to walk to the Monestaries from there (though the bus up is right across the street). Our hosts were also very helpful in helping us find information on proceeding to our next destination, also by bus.

The room was fair sized, and the balcony was pleasant with chairs and table and a nice view. The internet could be a bit spotty at times,but for our purpoes this was fine. Breakfast was nothing elaborate, but tasty and plentiful. We could not have asked for more!
Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$192
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
  • Vio.com
    AU$180
  • Hotels.com
    AU$210
0.3 km from Sydney Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$125
  • Hotels.com
    AU$122
  • Vio.com
    AU$109
  • StayForLong
    AU$119
0.4 km from Sydney Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$145
  • Priceline
    AU$145
  • Agoda.com
    AU$145
0.7 km from Sydney Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$150
  • Vio.com
    AU$150
  • eDreams
    AU$150
0.4 km from Sydney Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$189
  • Expedia.com
    AU$202
  • Vio.com
    AU$177
  • Hotels.com
    AU$204
0.7 km from Sydney Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$168
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    AU$142
  • Hotels.com
    AU$168
0.6 km from Sydney Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$190
  • StayForLong
0.7 km from Sydney Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$198
  • Agoda.com
    AU$141
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Sydney Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$126
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$126
  • Vio.com
    AU$126
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
1.0 km from Sydney Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$114
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$114
  • Agoda.com
    AU$114
0.8 km from Sydney Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kastraki
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
24
18
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
18
3
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great location – just as you come into Kastraki village. Owners Toni and his wife are helpful and friendly. Our room was large, clean, very comfortable, quiet - and the wi-fi worked!. Enjoyed the view of Meteora rock formations from balcony. Local bus stops across the street, and its a 4 euro taxi ride from Kalambaka station. Easy walk to restaurants, bakeries and shops – excellent local taverna with BBQ grill next door. Simple but nice continental breakfast – selection of cheeses, meats, breads, yoghurt, juice and coffee.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonmcg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great hotel. Great price. The location is perfect for visiting the monasteries of Meteora. The owner, Angelo, is an absolute gem. Extremely helpful with every detail for our excursion including a map of the monasteries. There is a decent little restaurant right next door that was delicious. Not a lot to do within walking distance but very calm and relaxing. If you want more action, head to Kalambaka. However, this was a perfect location for our group. Nice, quiet location at the foot of some of the bluffs. The rooms were tidy and clean with a small balcony. It was awesome waking up to the roosters and very cool watching the hills nearby disappear into silhouettes with the sunset. Solid breakfast. We arrived later at night with a group of 14 and were accommodated beautifully!
Would go again in a heartbeat! Awesome hosts.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philhellene7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The location of this hotel is great when visiting Meteora monasteries. Kastraki is a very nice village and Sydney Hotel is conveniently located in the center with view to the mountains.
The hotel has free wifi that works in the rooms, lovely dining room and terrace.
The breakfast is classic continental, but very tasty; a good start in the morning.
The room we stayed in was very comfortable, with a small refrigerator, dressing, places to deposit the luggage, balcony with table and 2 chairs.
Bathroom has hair dryer, apart from the usuals.
The owners are lovely people, always ready to help.
The hotel has its own parking in the back yard.
Within 5 minutes walk there are 4 taverns to serve lunch/dinner.
We stayed here for 2 nights, we loved it and I strongly recommend this place when visiting the Meteoras, rather than Kalambaka.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andra-Ioana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The location of this hotel is great when visiting Meteora monasteries. Kastraki is a very nice village and Sydney Hotel is conveniently located in the center with view to the mountains.
The hotel has free wifi that works in the rooms, lovely dining room and terrace.
The breakfast is classic continental, but very tasty; a good start in the morning.
The room we stayed in was very comfortable, with a small refrigerator, dressing, places to deposit the luggage, balcony with table and 2 chairs.
Bathroom has hair dryer, apart from the usuals.
The owners are lovely people, always ready to help.
The hotel has its own parking in the back yard.
Within 5 minutes walk there are 4 taverns to serve lunch/dinner.
We stayed here for 2 nights, we loved it and I strongly recommend this place when visiting the Meteoras, rather than Kalambaka.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixxi_Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

my bf and i stayed here and found it to be the best priced value for money place weve stayed in so far on our europe trip. the owner angelo and his niece do a fantastic job. rooms are spotless, aircon is ice cold, the bus stop up to meteora is 20m down the road plus the view from the room is amazing. breakfast is basic but filling and fresh. seeing the aussie flag out the front was even a nice touch of home for 2 aussie backpackers

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnycoast_girl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews