We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Meteora Panoramic Morning Small Group Tour with Local Guide
233

Book in advance
from
AU$71.14
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Meteora
from AU$71.14
More Info
from AU$163.80
More Info
from AU$71.14
More Info
from AU$71.14
More Info
Reviews (5,593)
Filter reviews
5,593 results
Traveller rating
5,106
425
50
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,106
425
50
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monasteries perched out of this world amazing place bucket list holy trinity two days day trip worth the trip breathtaking views tour buses on the rocks dress code your eyes sunset tour greece mountains athens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 5,593 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2023

Definitely worth the visit. Its about 5 hrs train ride from Athens. Train ride was excellent. If you can visit 3 or max 4 churches, its more than enough. Staying overnight is good since the sunset is amazing.
we rented a taxi from the station and he charged 20 euros per hour. it was a good decision. If one has visited Lalibela in Ethiopia, gets a better perspective and appreciation

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2023

Nothing short of amazing the scenery in Meteora, multiple lookouts to see along the road that loops around the valley.

In the mountains the higher the better for scenery and you get great views of multiple monasteries, as well as views overlooking the valley and city.

A real highlight of my trip to Greece.

Date of experience: March 2023
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2023

We stayed at the Tsikeli hotel in Kastraki and booked a personal tour with MeteoraTrip. The hotel is likely the best in Kalambaka or Kastraki. Staying in Kastraki is closer to the monastaries than Kalambaka. It' difficult to gauge a hotel based on reviews but the Tsikeli hotel was, in reality, a five star hotel. Clean, modern, and romantic. The tour guide, Bill, was great. He made our trip one of the most enjoyable we have ever had. His knowledge was incredible. We especially enjoyed the trip to the church which ad roots dating back to the times before Christ. Actually, that church was our favorite destination. The monastaries are as mind blowing as you have read. Truly jaw-dropping. A couple of words of caution. The train from Athens is nice but the tracks have been damaged by storm and are not going to be repaired for some time. So the train stops at Lamia and there is a 2-3 hour bus ride from there. Also, these monastaries were not built for tourism so I'd suggest not visiting during tourist season as the wait will be considerable. Wear good walking shoes! You will definitely get your exercise in.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank ElJebelVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2023

We had a full morning and visited two of the monestaries which from the outside and down below are sat perched high on the rocks and one wonders just how they got built.
The insides are equally spectacular with an incredible array of painted icons but our visits coincided with that of several coach parties and it was impossible to stand and admire, or even see, much of the work. I'm attaching a photo to show just how crowded they can get.
Go, but try later in the day when the tour groups have left. It will allow you to spend much more time there and to see everything more easily.

Date of experience: October 2023
1  Thank aswrtb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023 via mobile

Yes . It was definitely worth the long drive. Anthony was very accommodating , friendly and vey knowledgeable about Meteora. Highly recommend his professional service and hospitality.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Dolly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews