We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Meteora Panoramic Morning Small Group Tour with Local Guide
235

Book in advance
from
AU$71.14
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Meteora
from AU$71.14
More Info
from AU$137.59
More Info
from AU$64.03
More Info
from AU$64.03
More Info
Reviews (5,594)
Filter reviews
5,594 results
Traveller rating
5,106
426
50
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,106
426
50
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monasteries perched out of this world amazing place bucket list holy trinity two days day trip worth the trip breathtaking views tour buses on the rocks dress code your eyes sunset tour greece mountains athens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 5,594 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2023

Nothing short of amazing the scenery in Meteora, multiple lookouts to see along the road that loops around the valley.

In the mountains the higher the better for scenery and you get great views of multiple monasteries, as well as views overlooking the valley and city.

A real highlight of my trip to Greece.

Date of experience: March 2023
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2023

We stayed at the Tsikeli hotel in Kastraki and booked a personal tour with MeteoraTrip. The hotel is likely the best in Kalambaka or Kastraki. Staying in Kastraki is closer to the monastaries than Kalambaka. It' difficult to gauge a hotel based on reviews but the Tsikeli hotel was, in reality, a five star hotel. Clean, modern, and romantic. The tour guide, Bill, was great. He made our trip one of the most enjoyable we have ever had. His knowledge was incredible. We especially enjoyed the trip to the church which ad roots dating back to the times before Christ. Actually, that church was our favorite destination. The monastaries are as mind blowing as you have read. Truly jaw-dropping. A couple of words of caution. The train from Athens is nice but the tracks have been damaged by storm and are not going to be repaired for some time. So the train stops at Lamia and there is a 2-3 hour bus ride from there. Also, these monastaries were not built for tourism so I'd suggest not visiting during tourist season as the wait will be considerable. Wear good walking shoes! You will definitely get your exercise in.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank ElJebelVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2023

We had a full morning and visited two of the monestaries which from the outside and down below are sat perched high on the rocks and one wonders just how they got built.
The insides are equally spectacular with an incredible array of painted icons but our visits coincided with that of several coach parties and it was impossible to stand and admire, or even see, much of the work. I'm attaching a photo to show just how crowded they can get.
Go, but try later in the day when the tour groups have left. It will allow you to spend much more time there and to see everything more easily.

Date of experience: October 2023
1  Thank aswrtb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023 via mobile

Yes . It was definitely worth the long drive. Anthony was very accommodating , friendly and vey knowledgeable about Meteora. Highly recommend his professional service and hospitality.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Dolly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2023

This area is so beautiful. Pictures don't do it service. The monasteries are truly a wonder and there is more than just one. There are several in the small area. I strongly recommend taking one of the tours so that you know what the history is and how the best way is to see them all. There are some caves on the sides of these cliffs left from hundreds of years ago that you might miss if you are just driving to and from several of the monasteries. THe towns of Kalabaka and kastraki that lay at the foot of these cliffs are cute and have nice restaurants. Kastraki has more lodgings than kalabaka - I would look their for your stay. Meteora is really the name of this area but the towns are at the foot of the meteora monasteries. We were there 2 days and had time to see all monasteries and do a half day hike. During our trip the train service to kalabaka was unable to complete the route due to fires. It was not completely apparent what the train/bus then bus/train trip was and how to rebook. So I can't speak to the transportation by train to kalabaka except to say the train station really is just a stop with no real amenities. And the buses do not have toilets on them so prepare ahead of time if you are going by bus.

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews