We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Meteora Panoramic Morning Small Group Tour with Local Guide
239

Book in advance
from
AU$70.47
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Meteora
from AU$70.47
More Info
from AU$162.24
More Info
from AU$73.74
More Info
from AU$62.27
More Info
Reviews (5,595)
Filter reviews
5,595 results
Traveller rating
5,107
426
50
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,107
426
50
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monasteries perched out of this world amazing place bucket list holy trinity two days day trip worth the trip breathtaking views tour buses on the rocks dress code your eyes sunset tour greece mountains athens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,045 - 1,050 of 5,595 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Such as beutiful and unique place. Amusing and priceless view for hole life, that is uforgattable expiriance

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank 411milanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Truly an incredible place! If you are a lover of history, hiking, photography or dramatic scenery, you won't regret a visit. Six monasteries remain (centuries ago, there were dozens), each perched on rocky outcroppings in a stunning setting. If all you can mange is a day trip from Athens or Thessaloniki, you'll still get a lot of enjoyment out of it, but I think ideally 2 days would allow you the chance to see all the monasteries, linger in the ones that appeal to you, soak up the views from the various scenic spots, take a few of the longer non-monastery treks (want to see the monk's prison, anyone?) and enjoy the glorious evening light. I visited in a rental car, which made it easy to backtrack and revisit interesting spots at different times of day to appreciate them in different light, but dedicated walkers/hikers would have no trouble walking to all of the monasteries in 2 days. Entrance to each monastery is 3 euros, and women must wear skirts to the knee and cover their shoulders (scarves and wrap skirts can be borrowed free of charge at each location). You can see a lot even if you don't go into the monasteries, but I suggest you spend the money to visit at least a few. At several of the larger monasteries, small carts set up which sell (at a moderate markup) snacks and drinks, so if you didn't bring anything with you, you aren't out of luck.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank 123JessicaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

The special energy of the Monasteries, the view, the buildings. A must see in Greece,an experience like in Lord of the Rings.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank AleksandarN172
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We hiked up Meteora to see the monasteries and I genuinely didn't know what to expect here. It was incredible. The views were half nature and half science fiction. I can't describe the feeling. It was transcendent and magnificent. Go see for yourself and be awed. The hike was tough-ish and very hot, bring water and take breaks but it was so worth doing. There is also a bus that takes you right to the top but you miss a lot.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank eggsandpickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The scenery is spectacular! We didn't explore as much as would could have so could definitely spend a few days taking in the different monasteries and hiking trails. Try to get at least one sunset in. Really unique experience from the normal island hopping type of trip to Greece that most tourists do. Worth the detour if you have a couple days!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank kastevens104
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews