We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Meteora Panoramic Morning Small Group Tour with Local Guide
228

Book in advance
from
AU$71.80
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Meteora
from AU$71.80
More Info
from AU$165.30
More Info
from AU$71.80
More Info
from AU$71.80
More Info
Reviews (5,579)
Filter reviews
5,579 results
Traveller rating
5,092
425
50
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,092
425
50
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monasteries perched out of this world amazing place bucket list holy trinity two days day trip worth the trip breathtaking views tour buses on the rocks dress code your eyes sunset tour greece mountains athens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,039 - 1,044 of 5,579 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The scenery is spectacular! We didn't explore as much as would could have so could definitely spend a few days taking in the different monasteries and hiking trails. Try to get at least one sunset in. Really unique experience from the normal island hopping type of trip to Greece that most tourists do. Worth the detour if you have a couple days!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank kastevens104
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Kalambaka was the highlight of our visit to Greece this summer. We drove to Kalambaka from Athens and stayed 2 nights here. The town is small (I believe population is around 12,000), and is very relaxing with great restaurants, hotels, and shops. However the highlight was definitely Meteora. We visited 4 of the monasteries in Meteora and also stayed at the top of the mountain during sunset. The view was simply amazing!!! If you don't have a car, there are many tours offered at reasonable prices that you can join. The area is also rich in history (especially Catholism) and can be enjoyed whether you are traveling solo, as a couple or with family. Definitely highly recommended if you travel to Greece.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank jssun71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Really unique scenery and the monks and nuns did the extraordinary to turn this monolithic rocks into there homes. Now opening them up to the public as they have gained Unesco world heritage status. Step out of time here and enjoy both scenery and greec hospitality. Gotta love the place. Do have dinner with Soriri and his wife at the main square of Kalambaka in restaurant Archontariki. Great traditional food.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank cvmiddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016

It was like, we were close to heaven, having climbed steps that proved to be an ordeal for us senior citizens, but having made it to the top, we had no regrets at all. The view from up was a taste of nature's beauty. Home to contemplative monks, we were allowed in, but could not talk or approach any of them should we catch sight of one. We could look, not take selfies, and we wondered how these monks could live in a place almost touching the sky. Then we saw how supplies, food, toiletries, were pulled up from way down to the monastery.
We were allowed to see their art pieces, relics and antique structures. We even bought religious items for souvenirs.
If you're scared of heights, this place is not for you, but if you appreciate real, natural beauty, then this is one great adventure.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank RosemaryD508
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Metéora "in the heavens above" is a formation of immense rocks and hills dominating the local area, in my opinion similar to Ayers Rock or the Himalayas. There are now 6 Eastern Orthodox monasteries there with spectacular views and histories to match.
It took us 3.5 hours to drive through Alp-like scenery from Parga. Worth it.

Go early or late to avoid the coaches. All the monasteries rotate their day of closing so you will see a selection every day. Beware of lots of steps and ensure long shorts and arms covered but they lend you clothing. Small admission charges.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews