We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ochsen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rynach(Reinach)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
The Mittenza(Muttenz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Courtyard Basel(Pratteln)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
15
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutcher shopattached restaurantsausagelocal beerno extra chargepleasantly surprised by the sizefruitbreadochsencathedralteabuildingmeatswinecerealreservationfloor
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The underground car park is directly behind the hotel. Approach it slowly, as the entrance is masked by other buildings. It is tight, so take care if you are in an SUV.

The reception staff were excellent and helpful. They have a box of tricks to hand that included the correct plug adaptor, which was handy. They even have a neat system for ensuring guests don't leave the hotel without a key to get back in.

Our room, 305, was in the roof. The staircase up was an effort with the cases, but the balcony and view of the cathedral made the climb worthwhile. There is a complimentary refreshment station on each floor with tea and coffee facilities, fresh fruit and a fridge with bottled water and FREE BEER!

We ate dinner in the restaurant on the 1st night. The food was really good but expensive. All their meat is of the highest quality. The hotel is owned by the same family that own the butcher next door. Breakfast is the usual buffet selection, but again everything was fresh and you can order eggs of your choice from the waitress.

Spiegel is fried, ruhr is scrambled and gekochtes is soft bolied. Ei is egg.

The bill was a pleasant surprise. I was expecting far worse. A friend had booked for us and might have been able to secure a better rate. So try that when you book. Trust me no one in Switzerland is surprised when non-Swiss suck their teeth at the price of everything and ask for a discount. Don't be too shy to ask.

Room Tip: For a couple who can manage stairs 305 is a must.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

My husband and I visited Arlesheim for a family wedding, and his cousin arranged the reservation at the Ochsen, as the hotel is steps away from the cathedral and their home. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room (211), which was spacious and overlooked the street and garden across the way. Local beer, coffee, tea, and fruit are available on every floor at no extra charge, and our stay also included the BaselCard and a sausage (!) in the room, plus a scrumptious breakfast buffet. Also they'll give you postage when you send the hotel's postcards (we went a bunch to family back home). Also umbrellas for the rain, and there was an ironing board on the first floor. They run the butcher shop downstairs; we didn't have dinner in the restaurant, but enjoyed the meats, cheese, fruit, yogurt, cereals, breads, and jams at breakfast (also eggs made to order). Expensive, but it's Switzerland. Highly recommend!

Arlesheim is a charming village, about 20 minutes from Basel by tram 10, with a few sights in the town, including the cathedral, Ermitage, Goetheanum in Dornach, also the vineyards in Aesch are nearby too.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank celadoncupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Ochsen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Guests
Thank you for the overwhelming and great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the many extras.
We look forward to seeing you soon. Many regards from Switzerland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We had a delightful one night stay at the Hotel Gasthof zum
Ochsen. The building itself is located in a charming plaza,
next to several restaurants and a butcher shop, and across
from a garden area. It was a beautiful setting with lots of
Swiss charm.

We rented a suite with a veranda that had a view of the
nearby cathedral (in the Domplatz). Unlike some hotels that
we stayed in, the veranda was roomy - it had plenty of room
for two to sit, drink a glass (or two) of wine, and look out
over the town.

The suite was clean, roomy and comfortable with separate
sleeping and living areas, and a modern bathroom with a
tiled shower and plenty of counter space to put your toilet
supplies.

We loved the room, and the setting; but perhaps the best
thing about the Gasthof zum Ochsen is that it had a public
area on our floor with free water, beer, fruit, coffee, tea, and other
items which I am probably forgetting. A really nice extra
touch! This served as a gathering spot for guests to chat
with each other and compare notes.

The breakfast was typical of what we found in Switzerland -
cereal, fruit, plenty of breads and pastries, cheese, smoked
fish, sliced meats, and eggs to order. Very satisfying.

We were disappointed that we couldn't eat at the attached
restaurant, which is supposed to be very good. It was full -
but we had no problem finding another restaurant to eat at
(also good) - the desk attendant at the Gasthof zum Ochsen
made the reservation for us. If you want to eat at the hotel
restaurant, I would recommend making a reservation in
advance.

Some people have complained that it was noisy at night. We
didn't experience any problems with noise. Arlesheim seemed
like a quiet little town, very little traffic, and not much
noise. Also, it's an easy bus/tram ride to Basel, twenty
minutes. And the tram stop is a 2 minute walk from the guest
house.

We loved this place, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roderick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Ochsen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Haben nicht übernachtet.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Ochsen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews