We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house for a holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Dalkeith House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Dalkeith House
Georgian manse in heart of the small village of Newcastleton in the Scottish Borders Stunning interiors with loads of space, large secure garden, sun terrace, dog friendly
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Welcome to Dalkeith House
Georgian manse in heart of the small village of Newcastleton in the Scottish Borders
Stunning interiors with loads of space, large secure garden, sun terrace, dog friendly
don't fancy cooking book the caterers, ours are highly recommended!
fabulous dining room for celebrations and get togethers
relax in the drawing room; wood burner, 50 inch smart TV, sonos and FREE WIFI
Chill in the TV lounge with SKY, gaming and loads of movies
Enjoy cooking in the fabulous kitchen
at the heart of the house
with access all areas!
informal dining in the breakfast, next to the terrace making BBQ's or alfresco dining easy
BBQ and plenty of seating on the terrace for alfresco dining or sundowners!
Sleeps 10 in supreme comfort; red super king with en suite shower room
Sumptuous linens and fluffy towels provided as well as toiletries
Peachy twin with en suite bath and shower
Gold room super king double with en suite bath/shower
Pink twins, share the large family bathroom with the blue bedroom
Superking double or can be twins, share large family bathroom with the pink room
Luscious garden beautiful borders in spring and summer
Access to the garden from 3 doors really makes it part of the house
lots of nooks and crannies to seek peace and quiet in the sunshine
What our guest say or read them on Trip Advisor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newcastleton, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulatoul...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect house for a holiday!”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Had a fantastic 5 night stay in this beautiful house. Everything you need, clean, quality furnishings, plenty of space and a beautiful early summer garden in full bloom. Locals really friendly and helpful, had a superb meal at Copshaw Kitchen served with a smile! Highly recommend a visit to Kielder Forest and observatory, stunning views to enjoy enroute. We will definitely be back at some point in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
Thank you for your lovely feedback. Delighted you all enjoyed the house and our wee village. Haste ye back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken S
2 reviews
“First class accommodation”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in January 2018

A group of friends - 9 in total stayed in the property as visiting the village to attend a family party. I can honestly say we all wished our 2 night stay was for longer as this property is very much a home from home. Everything you need to enjoy your stay is there be it if you want to cater for yourselves or use local amenities.
We all agreed that the beds were excellent & we all had a fantastic sleep. The weather was very cold outside but the heating was so cozy with an ambient temperature.No expense has been spared in making sure clients have good quality furnishings throughout this property. We will be back!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking time to post a review for us. Lovely to meet you all. Delighted you all enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back! B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cco200
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take family, friends and wine for a perfectly chilled escape in this stunning house.”
Reviewed 22 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was a last minute booking for a family get together at half term.
We pitched up with 9 adults, 1 darling granddaughter and small white dog but there was acres of space in this fabulous house.
The photos are good but they don't hint at the grand proportions of the rooms
Barbara is the perfect host, a speedy lesson in log burning, Sonos music, guide to Newcastleton and she left us to allocate bedrooms - all excellent.
We really enjoyed the laid back nature of Newcastleton.
Linda and Robin served a fine meal on Saturday and we spent a fair amount of time in Copshaw Kitchen. We booked the pool for our use twice at Rock UK (£20 for an hour... crazy) and they even opened up the zip wire when it was due to be closed.
Night sky is amazing, take a late walk up beyond the golf club. Dog was exhausted after so many stunning walks. By the way, this may be rural Scotland but wi-fi was to notch.
Jedburgh and Kielder are well worth a visit, take your time the scenery is stunning.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Fabulous guys thank you. Delighted you all enjoyed your stay. All our businesses very much appreciate your feedback. Tourism, in our little haven of Scotland, is our lifeblood. We all work hard to deliver great experiences for our guests, it is very rewarding to know it is appreciated. Will pass on your feedback to Robin & Linda and Rock UK. Haste ye back! B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubypatch
South Shields
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury New Year family holiday”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I cannot recommend Dalkeith House highly enough. Everything about it is luxurious but also so welcoming and relaxing too. We have just returned from our New Year break and all 10 of our family group (plus dog) loved everything about it. With ages ranging from 8 to 76, it is often difficult to please everyone but this house suited us all.

The kitchen and dining room have everything you could possibly want for both formal and informal dining. There is an enormous range of books, games, films and music to keep you occupied on the bad weather days. The bedrooms are large and spacious and the beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in.

The village is very friendly and we could not fault our meals from the Copshaw Kitchen (an evening meal delivered to the house and also afternoon tea in the tearoom). Also, the butcher not only organised an order for us ahead of arrival but also provided some amazing produce while we were there (I'd recommend their black pudding, bacon and sausage rolls in particular).

All in all, Dalkeith House is the best self catering house we have stayed in (and we've stayed in a lot!). Thanks Barbara for making us so welcome, we will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
Thank you very much for taking time to post a review for us. Delighted you all enjoyed your stay and our wee village - we love all our visitors and would miss you greatly if you didn't keep coming! Happy New Year to all, best wishes for 2018 B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nrbenn
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Family Christmas”
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We booked Dalkeith House as the venue for our family Christmas celebrations this year. For the Christmas period it is decorated with fantastic trees and decorations in the main rooms, making it ideal for a family get together.

The house is exactly as described on the website, with huge rooms, which are all decorated and furnished to the highest standard. There is an attractive formal garden to the rear, which looked like it would be great for summer parties etc.

Barbara was an excellent host, very helpful and friendly, and was available throughout our stay to help and assist.

The village of Newcastleton is in a great location, and gives easy access to Kielder National Park, and has an excellent butchers and cafe.

The house has a very well equipped kitchen, and plenty of space for multiple families, and even on the coldest winter nights, was toasty warm, even without the log burner.

I would highly recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you for your very generous feedback, much appreciated. My team work very hard at the decorations to make sure that the festive period is a memorable one for those who stay with us. It is hugely rewarding to know that they are appreciated. Happy New Year all. B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing