We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value and quality”
Review of Sunshine Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunshine Village
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Panglao
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Well laid out, scrupulously clean and neat but genuinely pleasant.
Manager, Jorg, and staff all extremely friendly, enthusiastic, knowledgeable and helpful.
Rooms, restaurant, pool and general amenities including grounds are a pleasure to use. Dined there four times (not including breakfast, which was excellent in choice and quality) and each of the diverse meals sampled was first class.
I had some trepidation about location but local trikes were both cheap and comfortable, the hotel staff arranging them as required. This property will be the closest resort to the new international airport (due to open soon) and the somewhat bumpy road leading to the hotel access eventually the main airport road. But the current peace and tranquility should not be affected due to the lush vegetation surrounding it.

Room Tip: I've rated this hotel from budget to luxury, simply because it is amazing value with many luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cbellcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Coffees left me nodding off. Great hotel, clean and new. pool is a bloody good time although left my hair a tad ranga. Can rent scooters through them too. Restaurant on site that has some good food at decent prices, YUMMY. would highly recommend xoxoxox

Room Tip: Swim in the nude so your clothes don't turn ranga
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kbeez420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

After searching some booking sites for a place to stay in Panglao they all seemed overpriced. What I mean is that the places are not super expensive but the conditions aren't that good for that money (old, dirty, no pool or wifi that should be in that price range).

So luckily we found Sunshine village and here is my review:

People - a very nice man called Peter and his crew are giving out great effort to make your stay enjoyable. All the people are smiling and happy to help you when you need.

Rooms - rather simple rooms but very clean and have basic things you need. Our room had a nice pool view balcony which was very nice. Be careful with the air conditioner which has one part situated in the balcony. You may get electricity and dont put your phone or laptop on top of it -my Macbook has a black screen now:D

Resort - it has 2 very nice pools, a lovely garden. Everything is brand new and clean.

Facilities - you dont need to carry any drinks our snacks there because the local store offers basic things with prices as low as in the supermarket. The laundry service is super cheap and makes good work. They also rent motorbikes.

Location - you need a motorbike to visit other areas in the island. The other way is tricycle which costs 150PHP to Alona beach and and 300 to Tagbilaran city. The road is quite bad for the last 0,5km but we did not find it a problem. Peter said it will be better soon.

Food - I would recommend to book it without breakfast and buy every morning the breakfast yourself. If you buy it with your room you can choose from 4 different meals. If you will buy it yourself you will have a wider menu and the price is not that different. The food in the restaurant tasted ok. They had too many western dishes that they don't know how to perfectly make (also they don't have right ingredients and use some bad quality local ones). Otherwise the service was nice and some dishes tasted yummy.

So dont hesitate to book this place when it is ok for you that you have to use motorbike. Definitely a great value for money.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Juri_L_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Excellnt place to stay, albeit the distance (2 km) from the bustling beach, but that is the advantage -peace and quiet. If in Panglao,one needs a motorbike anyway and they provide brand new ones !
As is the entire compley- brand new and beautifully maintained due to an All German management- Kitchen, technical, housekeeping, one can see and feel the diffrence!
In particular for long termvacationeers- forget about the dirty pensions and half maintained cottage places fpr your monthyl renbts, here you got 5 Star for one start prices! Including an excellent Wifi with no less than 4 Connections to choose from (which is very important- Digital Nomads - pay attention)

Room Tip: Choose the weekly rates ;-) Great bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guenther V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

My wife and I are staying in Panglao for two months, a great way to spend and cold and politically depressing winter back in the US. Our first accomodation experience with an AirBnB turned out to less than satisfactory, e..g, hot water and internet of the fritz. So we started searching well in advance of our scheduled departure date. Our needs are simple, a small kitchen, reliable internet, clean and affordable (for us US$50 per day or less).

We looked at over 20 places in our price range. The selection was depressing...small dark, cockroaches, unsanitary, or little internet connectivity, overpriced...being the norm. We did find one lovely place on a cliff overlooking the sea that we were about to take, despite it being a long drive down a horrible road far from shopping or beaches, when we stopped to check out Sunshine Village.

First, we were shown a nice but inadequate short stay room in their hotel section. At least it had the fastest internet speeds (checked by SpeedTest.net) that I had found this side of Manila. But no kitchen, small fridge.

We sighed and said it wouldn't do but she said that we should talk to the owner, Peter. Peter, a German national, understood our needs immediately at proceeded to show us a unit with a well furnished three room suite (bedroom, living room with a kitchen alcove, and bathroom. It has AC, cable TV and a nice porch. All spotlessly clean and practically brand new. Perfect! We were literally glowing with relief that our stay in Panglao wouldn't be a drag. The unit is privately owned by a western investor who after furnishing the apartment to their tastes hands it over to Peter to rent it out when the owner is away.

The Sunshine Village, which lays claim to being a lifestyle facility, lifestyle in this case being code for senior (not some of the other meanings of the term). It is large with two beautiful pools a full service restaurant and bar, massage spa, laundry, and convenience store with basic housekeeping and staple foods. With the exception of periodic trips to the market for vegetables and meat one hardly has to leave. On the other hand the Village is a short drive to Alona beach with all that it has to offer, if one likes the crowded, frenetic tourist scene. But it is also about the same distance to the much more down to earth, quiet and more beautiful Dumaluan beach.

Best of all the cost for the accommodations at Sunshine Village is less than US$ 1000 for a month.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panglao
4.9 km away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
195 reviews
3 km away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#11 of 50 in Panglao Island
544 reviews
5.1 km away
Bohol South Beach Hotel
Bohol South Beach Hotel
#23 of 50 in Panglao Island
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#13 of 50 in Panglao Island
223 reviews
3.6 km away
Isis Bungalows
Isis Bungalows
#24 of 50 in Panglao Island
214 reviews
3.7 km away
Palms Cove Bohol
Palms Cove Bohol
#3 of 5 in Danao
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Village

Address: | Bolod, Panglao, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island > Panglao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Panglao
Price Range: $40 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Village 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Wotif.com so you can book your Sunshine Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing