We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
354
48
21
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
48
21
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mukul resort plunge pool golf cart the general manager luxury resort ocean front flor de cana rum four seasons turtle release world class don carlos pre breakfast main pool costa rica private beach walk in closet staff to guest ratio
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night at Mukul Resort while travelling down the coast of Nicaragua. A real change to the other hotel styles in the country. This is luxury!! The resort has an instant feeling of calm and relaxation. A few of the staff were at the entrance to welcome us and we were handed an ice cold flannel and cocktail before transferring us to our room by electric buggy. We were staying in an ocean view Bohio which had its own plunge pool - absolutely beautiful. We were at the top of the resort which was close enough to walk to reception although the staff at hand if you wanted a transfer by buggy.

The beach is lovely. They have a known surf spot from the beach called Manzillo. It's a bit of a tricky surf break as it curves around the rocks, but had very little people there as anyone wanting to surf it that aren't staying in the hotel need a boat to get to the beach. There are hammocks and a bar at that end of the beach overlooking the spot. The bar is only open at weekends which I thought was a shame as it's a weekend everyday on holiday and we missed this!

This is probably one of the best resorts I've been to. The service was impeccable and atmosphere was lovely. I could have stayed forever!!

I would highly recommend the rum tasting. Really interesting to find out the history of the owners and flor de Cana rum, which is also delicious!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico S, General Manager at Mukul Beach Golf & Spa, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you for your greaat feedback! This helps us be better always, and helps us be motivated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just went to Nicaragua because we heard it was so great and not very expensive. I went with two of my friends and we hired a driver, Manuel who was fantastic, but he did not speak much English. We toured Granada, Isla de Ometepe, Rivas and San Juan del Sur, but on our last day we stopped in at Mukul's to have lunch. It was such a beautiful place and everybody was so attentive that we decided to have our last night stay here. It is the most luxurious and beautiful resort that we have seen in Nicaragua. I wish we would of found this place at the beginning of our trip so that we could of stayed here longer. Yes, it is more expensive than the majority of all the hotels in Nicaragua, but it is worth it. We stayed in a villa and it was just absolutely phenomenal. It had all the top of the line amenities a nice plunge pool, a very relaxing patio with a great view of the property and the ocean. It was very private and serene for just relaxing and truly enjoying your vacation. Plus, it had the best internet from everywhere we went so we could still do a little work. I'm sad that we didn't get to enjoy more of the amenities but I'd definitely go back. Our room had a very comfortable bed and they were nice enough to bring a cot which was also amazingly comfortable. The electricity did go out a few times during a storm but it did not hinder anything and we found this to be a regular occurrence in other parts of the country. There food is excellent and healthy with a lot of flavor. It really is a hidden gem and if you are lucky you will get to see some of the monkeys that are hanging around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spicytravelasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico S, General Manager at Mukul Beach Golf & Spa, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Wow! Thank you for your great feedback! We truly appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 10th Anniversary at Mukul. We had an incredible time. The service here is just outstanding.....each staff member made us feel like our happiness was truly their mission. The food is out of this world and the property is stunning. The fact that they source local artisans for decor and local farmers and fisherman for the food is a huge added bonus. The place is visually stunning. We stayed in a bohio and looking outward from our deck over the cliffs and the ocean was great. The delivered "rooster breakfast" of coffee and cookies was a treat we looked forward to each day. While there, we enjoyed the Hammam spa experience which was unlike any other spa we have been to.....it is a must do. We hiked, visited Guacalito Bay, took yoga classes, and took a helicopter and enjoyed each one of them. We can't say enough good things about this resort. We have traveled to a lot of places and we feel like we will forever be comparing all future trips to Mukul!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico S, General Manager at Mukul Beach Golf & Spa, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

We truly thank you for your great comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Cannot fault the hotel on any measure. Top quality food, service, ambiance, decor. Every little detail thoughtfully attended to. Enjoyed the private surf instruction and spa treatments. Dining in the privacy of your own villa is a huge win. We will return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico S, General Manager at Mukul Beach Golf & Spa, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

THANK YOU! Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 23rd anniversary here and I am so glad we did. We were looking for a quiet and restful location. The service here was perfect. I was amazed at how they all knew our name and room right away. Granted it is a very small resort, every single person was attentive and helpful. The view was beautiful, coffee arrived with cookies every morning at 8am. The food was terrific. The chef has a great selection and really does some different things with the menu. The staff were always very very helpful and would do absolutely anything for you. We asked to see the golf course and the staff was happy to show us around, take pictures and tell us all about the history. The room was great.

I read other reviews about service and language and I simply didn't experience that at all. Sure, there are times where you may have to say it more than once or ask for it to be repeated, but great attitudes and smiles make it just fine. Wasn't a problem. The service was 5 star. They simply were always on point.

Definitely enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank WesleyMCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico S, General Manager at Mukul Beach Golf & Spa, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Great feedback! Thank you so much! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews