We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stopover”
other travellers have booked this property
garden by house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden by house
La Maison du Frere kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
garden by house
La Maison du Frere
kitchen area
double bedroom in Gite
view across the river to potager and fields
the living area
Wallace by gite back door
lavender
a quiet corner by the ordchard
Fishing in the millpond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, Sarthe, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob S
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stopped over here on the way home from our family holiday in the South West of France, opting to break the journey with an overnight stay. What a great choice, Elaine and Phil were the ideal hosts, the building is amazing, a real credit to both, the rooms were excellent, very clean and well equipped. After a long drive, the offer of refreshments on arrival were very welcome. We had opted to take advantage of the evening meal and this proved to be an excellent choice, aperetifs on the patio were followed by a superb meal, accompanied by good wine, Elaines cooking is to be commended, as well as her friendly and attentive but unobtrusive manner, ably supported by Phil. Following a very comfortable night, the continental breakfast, accompanied by delicious home made jams set us up for the remainder of our journey. I thoroughly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Excellent hosts, superb accomodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Cave Creek Az
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I was really lucky to find this gite, and Elaine and Phil who have been wonderful during my stay. The gite was just perfect, proper kitchen, tv, internet, and soft beds. It is so very peaceful here, waking to the sound of the mill stream and birds singing, and there are lots of birds. The potager is fantastic and Elaine cooks with all of her own produce. There are some nice restaurants nearby an the villagers made me feel very welcome. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and look forward to returning again next year. Thank you Elaine Phil and of course my little friend Wallace ( the dog) who kept me company.

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rizla58
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“what a great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

stopped here with friends for our trip to the le mans moto gp, elaine and phil are great hosts, oh and wallace,very nice surroundings, rooms are spotlessly clean and tidy, a very pleasent ride to the track from here, took about 20 mins, would recommend this place for sure and will deffo stop here again next year now we have found it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan V
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a terrific stay at Elaine's and Phil's place in the Loir river region. Truely like being among friends in a wonderful surrounding!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Dinner
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
autismuk
Norfolk, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Moulin de St Blaise is a converted watermill in the village of L'Homme, which is a couple of miles from Le Chartre sur le Loire, about half way between Le Mans and Tours. There are two parts available for rental - a large house which sleeps about a dozen people, and a small house which sleeps just four. We rented both parts as we were a large family group.

The large house has plenty of facilities and space to eat and relax. There is a big dining area, which we never actual used as there is a smaller dining area in the kitchen, a well equipped kitchen with a frightening psychic wastebin, a lounge with a TV and partial access to Sky TV. Upstairs there is a games room which has a Table Tennis table and a Snooker table and assorted other games.

Bedrooms are large, clean and well equipped. Two of the bedrooms are in the top floor in the old roof space. This is not a problem in itself, but the stairs to climb are steep and may be unsuitable for someone with disabilities or the elderly. There are plenty of bedrooms in the middle floor however.

The smaller house is much simpler, offering two bedrooms, a lounge/kitchen with TV and a shower room, but still nice. The houses sandwich the owners area, so they cannot be joined together via a door, but we didn't find this a problem.

Outside there is plenty of land to wander round, the possibility of fishing in the river that runs through the house, and an active vegetable garden (vegetables and jams are available for purchase). There are chairs, tables and sunloungers outside which regrettably we never got much of a chance to use due to the awful weather (which was not typical for the area, just one of those things).

The couple that run the gites are very friendly and helpful and have an adorable dog who is clearly used to being spoilt by visitors and we didn't improve that state of affairs much.

The local village has restaurants, a grocery/post office despite its small size, there are vineyards dotted all round the area, and a larger supermarket a couple of miles away. The house is about half a mile or so from the village though, so it is quite a long walk if you want to indulge yourself in a restaurant and walk back.

The area itself is very pleasant to explore. If you want to travel further afield, to Le Mans or Tours, it does suffer a bit from being half way and a bit off the motorway - to reach most of the main Chateaux of the Loire takes about an hour or so. Le Mans is nearer, and has an excellent museum which is part of the 24 Hour racetrack. You can also visit Futuroscope at Poitiers as a day trip.

There are smaller things to do closer - the week we were there there were two fairs in the nearby villages which were fun to visit and had a sense of 'real France' that you don't get in the more touristy bits ; in fact, despite the extra distance involved in travelling it was nice to stay somewhere that wasn't overloaded with tourism.

All in all, highly recommended, especially if you have a large party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to choose from many strengths.
Liked least: Nothing really.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing