We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and exhilarating experience”
Review of MariCar Shinagawa

MariCar Shinagawa
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 68.06*
and up
Guided Go-Kart Tour Experience on the Streets of...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Extremely exciting and a must have experience when you visit Tokyo Japan. Just imagine yourself on a custom made go kart specifically tailored to realize the real life mario kart experience! Dress up in your favorite character costume, playing the music of your choice and driving through the city of Tokyo. All eyes on you guarantee! You can ride with a group or ride privately, MariCAR is fully equipped to make your experience a very important one. Don't trust us but trust our valued customers, because they say "Once is never enough"! Be careful, you need the valid driver license for driving Japan: Japanese Driver License or International Driver Permit with the passport and SOFA License for USFJ or Japanese Translation(only for Switzerland, Germany, France, Taiwan, Belgium, Slovenia, Monaco) is needed. ** We will open the new shop Shibuya, Akihabara, Mt.Fuji, Okinawa soon.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This was one of the best experiences I've had in Japan. The guide was awesome and did a great job of explaining everything, taking lots of group photos, and timing the drive so that the group didn't get separated.

If you are an experienced and skilled driver I highly recommend trying this as it's a once in a lifetime unique experience. If you aren't a skilled driver or aren't comfortable driving in big cities then this probably isn't for you. The guide does a very good job of helping you navigate the streets and traffic rules of Tokyo but you still need to use your own judgement in high traffic areas when cars are merging, etc. You are in a tiny go cart with no safety protection driving next to massive cars and trucks and it's easy for you to be obscured in their blind spots. Defensive driving skills are important. On the long course downhill stretches it's possible to hit 80km/h. This is very exciting but also a bit scary if you get dust or debris in your eyes. Consider wearing sunglasses or goggles, at least for these sections of the course.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariCARJAPAN, Manager at MariCar Shinagawa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi Michael,

We're glad to hear you had a great experience, and we're grateful for the detailed review.

Please let us know if you have any further feedback for us, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hour tour"
in 184 reviews
"rainbow bridge"
in 246 reviews
"tokyo tower"
in 212 reviews
"mario kart"
in 98 reviews
"go karts"
in 95 reviews
"shibuya crossing"
in 114 reviews
"driving around"
in 55 reviews
"drivers license"
in 50 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 97 reviews
"driving permit"
in 43 reviews
"super fun"
in 57 reviews
"super mario"
in 21 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 68 reviews
"tokyo traffic"
in 22 reviews
"via facebook"
in 18 reviews
"traffic lights"
in 33 reviews
"an absolute blast"
in 19 reviews
Filter

201 - 205 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Super fun. I went with my brother and sister and we had a blast. it was fun to dress a bit silly and get to see Tokyo from a different perspective. I definitely felt safe the whole time too. I will never forget this experience!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariCARJAPAN, Manager at MariCar Shinagawa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi Joseph,

Thanks for the positive review, we're glad you had a great experience with your siblings.
Please let us know if you have any further feedback for us, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Stop what you're doing and make a reservation for this now because it is soooo worth it.

Making a reservation online via Facebook messenger was extremely easy. They have multiple locations with various different courses. We chose the 2 hour course out of the Shinagawa location which goes through Roppongi, Tokyo Skytree, and Shibuya Crossing. Keep in mind you will need an international license to do this activity and be sure to bring your passport along as well on the day of.

We arrived about 20 minutes prior to our appointment time and started to fill out some paperwork. We then chose and change into our costumes. Our group had 5 people + our tour guide. I've never driven a go kart before and knew you weren't required to wear a helmet with this activity, but I was nervous to find out there was also no seat belt! But fear not because never once did I felt unsafe. It was so much fun driving and waving at people. It can get a bit chilly so be sure to dress warm. 2 hours proved to be just enough time for us because my legs were starting to cramp up as we were heading back. Plus since the go karts are so low we felt every speed and bump. The tour guide will take pictures of you and send them to you at the end of the tour. If you have a GoPro they have head or chest mounts for you to borrow. If you don't have one, you can rent one. Great fun all around and a must do!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank wendyh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariCARJAPAN, Manager at MariCar Shinagawa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

We're happy to hear you had a fun experience, and we're grateful for the detailed review.
Please let us know if you have any further feedback for us, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Like all the other reviews this is simply a load of fun. I couldnt care less if considered touristy or gimmicky, it was a heap of fun and my partner and I had a ball.

I would usually give this an excellent review as there is no way I would get this opportunity at home, the pros far outweigh the cons but there are three things which need to be raised. The stop at some shopping centre with the replica statue of liberty to look at the view went for too long. Not sure where the tour guys went to but seemed like we were all just standing around for 30mins or more kicking our heels.

The amount of photos taken.... sorry guys just OTT. I know why you are doing it but at literally every single stop?! sometimes we just want to take it all in as opposed to stopping... say cheese... then driving again. Just way too many happy snaps.

My partner and I had the dodgy carts and could not make it up Rainbow Bridge without holding up traffic which was a little scary for her - or anyone for that matter. I am sure you put a lot of effort into the maintenance and this could just be bad luck but maybe at the end of the ride offer a discount on another one or some other small gesture because it was a bit of a letdown don't you think? We know that s..it happens but wouldve been good for something considering we didnt completely enjoy the whole ride with cars and trucks sitting up our backsides as we were too slow.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank friedlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariCARJAPAN, Public Relations Manager at MariCar Shinagawa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hello,

Thank you so much for your awesome review!!
We are so happy to hear that MariCar is one of the best experience you had in Japan!!
Thank you for riding with us!!
It is our pleasure and goal to provide our guests with a fun and safe tour!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Went MariCar-ing day after Mardi Gras party with friends from work. Best time EVER!! Can’t wait to do it again!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariCARJAPAN, Manager at MariCar Shinagawa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi Sara,

We're glad to hear you had a great experience.
Please let us know if you have any further feedback for us, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MariCar Shinagawa also viewed

 

Been to MariCar Shinagawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing