We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
54
78
42
35
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
78
42
35
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak old building friendly locals the pub fish and chips for sunday lunch lots of character cooked perfectly lovely food one night stay attention to detail gem pint cary castle carey
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Bed was great. Bed sheets were superb and clean. Room very tidy. Shower good. Evening steak was to die for. Beer good. Breakfast had a slight bit of hassle but a very understanding manager dealt with the minor distractions and gave a good breakfast, many thanks.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank brockleians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Just in Castle Carey for an overnight.
The room was adequate.
Bed linens were very good.
Bathroom seemed to have a drain problem-
Rather sewerish smell.
If sqeezed in, parking for 6 cars.
A bustling bar-pleasant glass of port
Talking to a chap who assembled antiques
From old parts
After a very good supper at The Stags Head
In Yarlington.
Classic UK breakfast menu.
All told a rather musty overly unventilated hotel.
Admittedly it had been rather warm for a couple of weeks before.
Throw open all of the doors and windows
And give the place a good airing
And I might stay again

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baril2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

A comfortable room with a sofa and arm chair, tea maker and alarm and phone system. Bathroom with power shower and all amenities. I had room 16 which is above the kitchen so there was noise from the extractor system while meals were being served. There is a beer festival August Bank Holiday weekend so the car park was closed it would have been helpful if this was mentioned when I booked. None the less there was plenty of on street parking. A good breakfast is served. I can't comment on the evening meals as I had eaten earlier.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank jobuho12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Came here for lunch when visiting Castle Cary for a day, and it was good service from the helpful staff who catered for most needs. I had a chicken burger which was a generous portion and tasted great. The restaurant was rather busy for a friday lunctime which said to me it was popular.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank sophiadaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We stayed here on a Saturday night. Being able to check in from 1pm was really helpful as we were going to a wedding nearby. Conversely, and related I guess, check out at 10.30 is quite early, as is breakfast finishing at 9.30am.
The room was a reasonable, the bathroom functional and clean but probably in need of a refit, though the mattress was a bit un-supportive.
The staff were friendly. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel P, Owner at George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again once we have had our scheduled refit.

Ian
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews