We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ellesmere House(Castle Cary)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avalon House(Castle Cary)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Horse Pond Inn(Castle Cary)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
53
75
40
33
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
75
40
33
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakold buildingfish and chipsfriendly localsthe pubfor sunday lunchlots of charactercooked perfectlylovely foodone night stayattention to detailgempintcarycastle
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were in area for a family wedding and stayed 4 nights at the George .
The rooms were spacious, clean and comfy and were competitively priced and although my room was above the bar area I didn't hear any noise.
The staff were very friendly and attentive and made us feel most welcome.
The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed a hearty breakfast each morning
This is a gem of a hotel and we look forward to return visit .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Goldikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The George in Castle Cary is an absolute gem for Sunday lunch and Christmas lunch.

The food is excellent and tasty, plus plenty of it and of great value.

The chef copes with Gluten and Dairy free extremely well.

One i’d recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Here for lunch with our walking group,and generally a very enjoyable visit. The hotel is warm and welcoming with lots of interesting and attractive seating and dining areas. The staff were friendly and the beer was first class. We were seated and served very satisfactorily, and our lunches were enjoyable. My fish and chips was served on a wooden platter with the mushy peas smeared decoratively across one side - personally, I shall welcome the return of more conventional serving options, a plate is always a good alternative to a lump of wood. And the heavily processed tartare sauce served in a mini teacup could have been better - but on the whole a very pleasant lunch.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eddylevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We both had the best roast pork we have ever tasted, it was mouwatering. it was so good it put yesterdays venue to shame. And for about half the cost.
We tried the pork because recently the beef has not been brilliant. I will always order their roast pork from now on

Room Tip: Sorry not stayed
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Stayed two nights while attending a wedding nearby. Very comfortable bed, great sleep, and nice bug breakfast. Informal and friendly management and also the locals. Very helpful with directions, taxis etc. Old building so everything’s a bit uneven but this just adds to the character of the place. Would strongly recommend if in the area. Visited in a snowstorm, the ‘beast from the east’, so fully intend to come back in better weather.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews