We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
56
80
42
35
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
80
42
35
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak old building the pub for sunday lunch friendly locals fish and chips street parking following morning lots of character cooked perfectly breakfast menu lovely food one night stay castle carey
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were in area for a family wedding and stayed 4 nights at the George .
The rooms were spacious, clean and comfy and were competitively priced and although my room was above the bar area I didn't hear any noise.
The staff were very friendly and attentive and made us feel most welcome.
The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed a hearty breakfast each morning
This is a gem of a hotel and we look forward to return visit .

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Goldikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The George in Castle Cary is an absolute gem for Sunday lunch and Christmas lunch.

The food is excellent and tasty, plus plenty of it and of great value.

The chef copes with Gluten and Dairy free extremely well.

One i’d recommend.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Here for lunch with our walking group,and generally a very enjoyable visit. The hotel is warm and welcoming with lots of interesting and attractive seating and dining areas. The staff were friendly and the beer was first class. We were seated and served very satisfactorily, and our lunches were enjoyable. My fish and chips was served on a wooden platter with the mushy peas smeared decoratively across one side - personally, I shall welcome the return of more conventional serving options, a plate is always a good alternative to a lump of wood. And the heavily processed tartare sauce served in a mini teacup could have been better - but on the whole a very pleasant lunch.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Eddylevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We both had the best roast pork we have ever tasted, it was mouwatering. it was so good it put yesterdays venue to shame. And for about half the cost.
We tried the pork because recently the beef has not been brilliant. I will always order their roast pork from now on

Room tip: Sorry not stayed
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Stayed two nights while attending a wedding nearby. Very comfortable bed, great sleep, and nice bug breakfast. Informal and friendly management and also the locals. Very helpful with directions, taxis etc. Old building so everything’s a bit uneven but this just adds to the character of the place. Would strongly recommend if in the area. Visited in a snowstorm, the ‘beast from the east’, so fully intend to come back in better weather.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paulgG3787VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews