We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for budget travelers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aizuya Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aizuya Inn
Ranked #6 of 57 Speciality lodging in Taito
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel for budget travelers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Had to stay her for one night this trip and Aizuya was a perfect choice. Rooms are small but clean and the free wireless internet coupled with the travel info in the main lobby is really helpful. Neighborhood isn't the best but felt safe always. If you need to save money. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoganMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    198
    47
    19
    21
See reviews for
33
125
187
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

I stayed here over New Year 2010 / 2011 and found the hotel to be pretty average in all respects, and pretty much what I expected for the fairly cheap rate I paid.

As others have said, the hotel is not in one of the better areas of Tokyo. There are some old drunks walking around but they are not threatening at all and they just get on with their own business. The hotel is quite easy to reach from Narita airport by either the Skyliner or the standard train service, with a change at Nippori. The actual location is OK for getting around, and is handy for the sights at Akasuka but you do end up spending quite a lot of time on the subway getting to other main sights which are invariably on the other side of the city. Using the PASMO card, this was a simple enough task and the subway map isn't as scary as it first seems.

My room was very small, but roughly what I expected for the price (although I got a much bigger room in a nicer hotel for the same price in central Kyoto later in my stay). It was clean, and there was a TV and a heater which was handy as the room got cold at night. There was a little noise from the street (a drunk coughing and spitting) but nothing too bad.

The showers are 100 yen for 5 minutes, which is plenty of time - and they're quite good showers too. I was a little disappointed that the bar was not open over the new year period due to staff holidays, so I didn't really get to speak to any of the other guests (there is a small space downstairs where you could gather). Free WIFI internet was handy.

Overall, my stay here was fine although if I ever visited Tokyo again I'd stay in a more central location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexdodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

Aizuya Inn is a really nice place. Everytime is saw new people, who were planning their trips. The staff is really nice and will answer your question.
The rooms are small, but enough to sleep and let your stuff there. You sleep there on the floor with a mattress (typical for japan). The walls are thin, but you can sleep after an exciting day. Many building in Japan are build that way.
They got a nice roof, where you can smoke or just chill.
The area isn't the most beautiful area, but you feel save and it's kind of urban.
I was happy to stay there and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clintfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misawa, japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

Ok, first of all this is a hostel so don't expect a 5 star resort. I came to Tokyo for a few days to explore the city by myself and I think this place suited my needs as a solo traveler. I had a small private room (size of a walk in closet) with tatami mats and some clean bedding. There is also a small TV in the room. The W.C. is down the hall from your room and the private shower rooms are on the first floor. 100 yen for 5 minutes of water usage. If you forget soap, shampoo, etc they have plenty of extras donated by previous travelers. The staff was super helpful and nice at the front desk, even giving me advice on what sightseeing I should consider for my journey. The mornings were quiet, I actually slept in until 1pm! But I do sleep with earplugs. There is a washer/dryer in the hostel but I did not need to use it. All in all, I was very pleased. The price is extremely reasonable for Tokyo and the staff was great. They will even let you borrow an umbrella for rainy sightseeing excursions if you forgot to bring one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed there 2 times, for 3 nights and 4 nights. The tatami-rooms are clean, equipped with ac and tv. Shared bathroom and toilets were clean as well. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can get a very cheap breakfast in Aizuya Bar, onley 2 mins walk away.
It is a 5mins walk to the next jr-station and underground station.
We travelled japan for 3 weeks and this hotel was the cheapest we could find.
Go there when you travel to tokyo.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aggstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taito
Ueno, Asakusa
Oak Hostel Zen
Oak Hostel Zen
#2 of 57 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 57 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guest House Wasabi
#1 of 4 in Arakawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Graphy Nezu
Hotel Graphy Nezu
#8 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
Bunka Hostel Tokyo
#3 of 57 in Taito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aizuya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aizuya Inn

Property: Aizuya Inn
Address: 2-17-2 Kiyokawa, Taito 111-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Speciality lodging in Taito
Price range (per night): $26 - $75
Hotel Class:2 star — Aizuya Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Rakuten, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Aizuya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aizuya Hotel Taito
Aizuya Inn Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing