We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 47
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
USD 47
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
USD 44
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Booking.comUSD 55
PricelineUSD 48
CheapTicketsUSD 47
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
225
241
45
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
225
241
45
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ameyoko market excellent location minute walk family room necessary amenities japanese breakfast cleaning staff spent nights definitely stay here again jr station train tokyo elevator lines narita zoo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2019

Ueno Touganeya is a smaller hotel two minutes from Ueno station. I was really happy with the hotel and the location - being on a side street so close to the station was perfect. My room was comfortable and so quiet, the best sleep that I had on this trip. Would definitely stay here again & recommend it to others.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2019

Dear our valued guests,

Thank you very much for your great review! We are very glad to read that you were happy with our hotel. Also, we are very happy that out of all the sleeps you had in this trip, you had the best sleep at our hotel! We will continue to try our best. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2019

Hotel is centrally located, a short walk to Ueno station and nearby shopping street. We enjoy our stay here as its so convenience, room is clean and soundproof is not bad as we couldn't hear any disturbance noise from nearby rooms.
There are a few restaurants and a 7-11 convenience shop nearby. We would stop by the convenience shop for some take-away sandwiches for an early excursion trip too.
Reception staffs are courteous and friendly, always willing to help if you have any queries.
For laundry,coin operated washing m/c and dryers are provided at the ground floor of the hotel. Overall we had a great stay at the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2019

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. This is the best message we can ever get from our guests. The only thing we want is our guests' smile and satisfaction. As you have mentioned our room have soundproof walls. Our hotel is located around many restuarants and convenience store nearby. Our staffs try to be friendly and always willing to help our guests. We thank you again for your great review and we hope we can meet you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019

I have stayed in single hotel rooms in Japan on four previous visits and expected this hotel to be similar. The room was quite spacious with all the basic requirements. The staff made the difference - happy, helpful, knowledgeable, good English skills. I particularly liked:
- the location. Two minutes walk from Exit 2 of the Euno JR station.
- soft bed
- elevator
- being able to adjust the airconditioning temperature in my room. Most hotels have a centrally controlled system and you get whatever temperature they choose.
- free tea-bags, milk and coffee available from reception. Cups are in the room.
- 7-eleven, Family Mart, restaurants and beer shops nearby
- walking distance to Ameyoko Street market, Euno Park, Euno Zoo, museums and art galleries
- no meals are served at the hotel but there is a small refrigerator and hot water jug in each room.
What I didn't like:
- having nowhere in the bathroom to hang handwashed clothing
- noise from nearby rooms can be heard, particularly the room opposite. A family was noisily unpacking cardboard boxes for about 3 hours one evening until I said something and they stopped. Another night someone was making a very loud phone call and a child was screaming. These are normal hotel experiences and I don't blame the hotel for these noisy customs
- the directions given on the hotel website of how to find the hotel. I arrived at Euno station on the Skyliner train from Narita Airport. The Skyliner arrives at the privately owned Keisei-Euno station which is not near the hotel. What you need to find next is the Euno JR station which is next to the Keisei station. That means going out of the subway and trying to cross roads at street level, or preferably, staying in the underground tunnels and going from the Keisei line into the JR station, looking for Exit 2. I walked at least 1.5 km from where the Skyliner train pulled in to Exit 2 of the adjacent Euno JR station. The hotel is 2 mins from Exit 2. When you surface at street level at Exit 2, you see six lanes of busy traffic overhead walkways, etc in front of you. The hotel is situated in the quiet, narrow street behind you. So at Exit 2 (street level) turn left, walk about 50 steps looking for a narrow alleyway on your left. You will see a restaurant with white/red lantern decorations and a small carpark. Go down the alley. Opposite the restaurant is the Hotel Euno Touganeya Hotel. To travel around Tokyo, you will use the JR lines so train travel becomes much more efficient once you reach the hotel.
Would I stay at this hotel again ..... ABSOLUTELY. I saved a small fortune on train travel because of its central location, and enjoyed the direct train connection with Narita Airport (using the Skyliner train). The staff were absolutely fantastic.

Room tip: My room overlooked a side street. There were a few people yelling in the street late at night.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OZtraveller222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review about our hotel this time.
We are very happy and appreciate for complimenting our staff on their friendliness.
We try our best to do our utmost to make our guests as comfortable and happy as possible.
Besides, you have raised many important issues. We will consider each of these points with much thought. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.
We really hope we can accommodate you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

This hotel located near JR Ueno, only 2 mins walk to the station and it’s closed to Lawson and 7-11. All staffs was nice.
But the room have some dust. From this hotel you can walk through Ameyoko market, ueno park, ueno zoo etc.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Pormena
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review this time. We learn from the reviews we get. We are glad to read that our staff are all nice and the location is close to many convenience stores, ameyoko market and Ueno park. However, we are very sorry to read you had some dust in the room. We have shared your comment with our cleaning staff so that next time you won't feel and find any dust in the room. We thus really hope we can get the chance to see you next time if you have a chance to visit Tokyo again. Thank you again for sharing your time at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Good location, clean comfortable rooms, welcoming staff who speak English well. We have stayed here three times and the experience has always been excellent. Location is close to Ueno Park and subway stations.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TouganeyaHotel, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Ueno Touganeya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear our valued guest,

Thank you very much for giving us such a great review. We are very happy to read that you have visited our hotel three times already. Thank you very much for your continued support and love for our hotel. We really hope we can be your hotel for the next trip to Tokyo. Our staff and Ueno are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews