We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
Booking.comUSD 43
Hotels.comUSD 30
TripadvisorUSD 30
ZenHotels.com
PricelineUSD 42
CheapTicketsUSD 30
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
144
128
37
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
144
128
37
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews booked nights large kitchen strategic location asakusa station ramen facilities bed shower manga tokyo toilets laundry luggage dormitory english metro
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2019 via mobile

Unique hostel, feel like local
Plus point:
+ great location: 7-11, family mart, attractions area (temple and place to buy souvenir) local restaurant, 24 hrs store and metro station
+ comfy room and clean
+ complete kitchen equipment. Pot and pan, oil and salt/paper is available for simple cooking
+ additional common shower room and toilet on each floor
+ laundry area in most floor very convenient
+ huge pantry area to cater group with drink and food vending machine
+ cool game room, kids room and reading corner
+main entrance secured with passcode at night
+ Helpful and friendly staff

Need to improve:

-no/lack of hook to hang clothes, especially inside shower room
-wifi is consider slow and sometime unable to connect.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GustiA08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine24313085326, マネージャー at Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2019

Thank you for staying with us and giving us a such a lovely review. We are so happy that you like our hostel in so many points, especially our staff!! We need to take your negative feedback seriously as well and improve that. Sorry for the inconvenience. Anyway, we hope your travel in Japan was awesome and back to your home safely. We are very looking forward to seeing you again somewhere in the future, you are always welcomed. Take care, peace. TAKUYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2019

Good place to stay a couple of days.Breakfast was ok. The scealing is really low so be careful if you are tall. Hit my head twice in one night... Well located, near metro station or buses.

Only placewe stayed in Tokyo so can't compare.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simonizer_Lezachez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaosanWorldAsakusa, 社員 at Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Thank you for staying with us and giving a valuable feedback. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience. Hope you had a great time in Japan and seeing you again in the future. Best regards, Hyosun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2019

Location is everything to me and this hostel is well-situated. Asakusa is a lovely area with lots of great eating options. We used the Ginza line (Tawaramachi station), which was an effortless walk. As long as you are close to a subway line, transport is easy in Tokyo. We're walkers and so easily walked to Ueno Park and the Ueno Royal Museum and enjoyed the chance to see local life along the way. We stayed in the Deluxe Japanese-Style Quad room, which suited us fine. The room was nice and quite large for a Japanese-style hostel, but be forewarned, public spaces of the hostel are old and in need of a make-over. Its a little dismal when you arrive (especially if its evening and you're tired from a long flight), but our room was exactly like the pictures show. Breakfast is basic - toast, jam and instant coffee, but it was enough to get us started. It was good to have the option of a kitchen, but we didn't use it. Staff were friendly but couldn't answer some of our questions re:sumo, where to buy bento. Overall, it wasn't flash but it was good enough and I would stay again for the location. I also enjoyed the mix of clientele - lots of young and older families and groups of young people. The amenities are AVERAGE, but the location is VERY GOOD.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyFamilyonHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2019 via mobile

Its in the best part of the city! This hostel is a little hard to find as it is down a side road,but when you find it, it's fantastic. Lovely staff, close to an incredible temple and the coolest old shopping village.The cheapest part of the city too! Not like the crazy neon areas around the rest of the city! Nice clean rooms and facilities too. Highly recommended!!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KiwiKateDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

Best thing about this is the location. We found that Asakusa is a good location to stay in Tokyo. It is a relatively calm neighborhood with enough of a (night)life. Khaosan is a hostel/hotel which has seen better days. The rooms (we had a double room with private bathroom) are dark and a bit cramped and it could use some love. It looked better on the pictures. The price is good though, so for a cheap stay it is good and the staff is nice.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank markkC6597UU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews