We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
238
92
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
92
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea ceremony japanese style room japanese breakfast quiet neighborhood every morning uguisudani station the entire staff minute walk western room private bath great ryokan ryokan experience tatami mats convenience store spoke excellent english western hotels traditional accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Edo Sakura for 3 nights on a short break to Tokyo. My wife booked the hotel on the strength of the good reviews though I was a little sceptical. As usual she was right! We found the location excellent, the staff attentive and the room though small was very clean. Furniture is minimal with floor sleeping mats in Japanese style a little difficult to get used to at first. Overall though I recommend the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank achnzl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We wanted to try the authentic Japanese room experience and we chose Edo Sukura. Staff is fine, room is clean but very uncomfortable. Impossible to dress up and rest properly after touristic day. If you are planning to go for gala dinner, forget about this room. Bed is on the floor and as expected it is not very comfortable. Also you need to prepare it by yourself. Suggested as one life time experience for one night only.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank EDinAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

The prices are good. One of the cheapest hotel prices I found. But not too cheap that's it's a hostel.
It's a good experiment if you want to sleep on tatami mats.
The service is great, they help with everything and they speak good English.
The hotel is about 5 minutes max from Iriya station and about 10 minutes from Uguisudani station. On the way from station to hotel there is so many restaurants to eat at.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Stayed there for a week in a western room. The stuff was english speaking and helpful, Taito neighborhood was nice and quiet, with lots of places to eat and visit (not a city center, but the subway station was very close and getting around wasn't a problem). The western room was a bit small and with no storage space (few hangers, no shelfs at all), maybe japanese-style room would be a better choice. Everything else was excellent, overall, great place to stay in Tokyo!

Room tip: Go for a japanese-style room, western room is very small, no storage space
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nasuella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

We had a very convenient and comforting stay here for 4 nights during our recent visit . They neighborhood is very safe and quiet. There is a convenience store (24/7) a bus stop and a metro line less in than 5 mins walking distance. There are small many temples and shrines around. Our Japanese room was well kept and relaxing. The bathroom was very functional n extremely clean. The room has a/c which will be of great help in summer. Loved the feel of tatami mat and experiencing the minimalist way of living. The sleep quality was great . Staff were friendly kind and helpful . They have a tea ceremony performance every morning and private bath for booking. Overall this is an excellent choice with different feel from the buzz of Tokyo.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Suchi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews