We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
237
98
12
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
98
12
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nippori station yanaka ginza yamanote line narita airport minute walk ueno park food vendors traditional shops tatami mats tea bags west exit rooms are great shopping street first stop own bathroom great neighborhood stayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2015

The best part of this hotel is its location, which is:
- in a lovely residential area with a good weekend market, some lovely shops and a pretty university campus
- well connected to the rest of Tokyo with both the Tokyo subway and JR station close by
- a direct train trip to Narita Aiport from the Nippori JR Station which is a 7min walk away (the main reason we chose it)

The hotel itself doesn't have a lot of charm, being a square block with quite a few rooms and an extremely tired looking lobby decorated with what looked like used dorm room furniture.

The breakfast looked pretty abysmal (they only serve a standard Western breakfast of sausage, eggs, toast, etc), so we took ourselves off to a nearby coffee shop which was fine but not stellar.

The staff was quite variable, from lovely to grumpy.

Overall, it was a good option for the price but not a clear winner.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

For me as someone who traveled alone, this ryokan had everything I really needed:

- Air-Conditioner
- own bathroom with toilet and shower
- towels, hair-dryer, free tea
- very quiet
- many more

The ryokan was very easy accessible from Narita airport by Skyliner. It is near to two different stations which allows to access places like Shibuya, Harajuku, Akihabara, Ikebukero, etc. without even changing the train one time.

The staff was very friendly and helped me a lot. Everything was very clean.

I recommended this place to everyone who stays in Japan.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BenjaminSchulte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest.
We hope your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate your comments.This means so much to our future improvement and we
are sure your comments will be a help for our future guests as well.
Thank you so much!!

Please do come and visit us again,maybe in another season or so.

You are always welcome in our homely ryokan!

Until then , please take care.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights with my bf in our 2nd part of Tokyo trip. A nice elderly gentleman helped me with my luggage. Mind you, it's not common for a Japanese man to offer that. Location is far from JR Nippori station, the one you need to take to go Shinjuku and Ikebukuro - 15mins walk. The good - it is 7 stations from Ikebukuro and costs only 170¥ per trip. It will be double if u travel to Shinjuku. In Japan, the train fare is high so if you book a cheap lodging but far away from city area like Ikebukuro and Shinjuku, you'll end up spending more on transportation. So factor in this when choosing your hotel.

Room is big for Tokyo standard, clean and quiet. DIY laundry is 200¥. Toilet seat is not heated. Mini fridge, laundry hanger, big traditional cabinet and basic amenities are provided. No breakfast. Lots of touristy shops nearby, eateries, bars, convenience stores, toiletries/drug shop and two small supermarkets. I'd recommend you shop at Ikebukuro where there are huge department stores like Seibu, Tobu and Lumine. You can spend 2 days there as it has everything Shinjuku has, no need to travel so far.

WiFi was not always stable. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes if you like comfort and the novelty of a traditional Japanese room. No, if you are on a budget and don't mind smaller but cheaper hotels closer to Shinjuku. So it depends what you want and where you want to go. Just for your comparison - we paid 21,600¥ for two nights here and paid 29,500¥ for three nights at Sakura Hatagaya - very convenient but very small room.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Aki_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2014

Thank you for staying at the Annex Katsutaro Ryokan and for being such a wonderful guest.
We hope your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one.

We appreciate you comments.Thank you for all the detailed comments.This will be a great help
for our future guests.We will keep up what is good !!Your comment menas so much to us,thank you very much!!

Please do come and visit us again,maybe in another season or so.
You are always welcome in our homely ryokan.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2014

Very good, cheap and comfortable ryokan. Located very close to both Tokyo Subway and Nippori JR station. Rooms are clean, private and silent.
We only had problems with the wi-fi connection (the password on the sheet they gave us was not correct it seems, and the connection was laggy and jumpy overall), but that was a minor issue for us.
Recomended

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
76
Reviewed 17 November 2014

I've stayed here twice - once in 2009 and again in Nov 2014. I still think it's the best place to stay in Japan. From the airport, it's an easy 36 minutes to Nippori station by Skyliner. To get to Annex Katsutaro, you walk through a beautiful old village where there's plenty of treats for you to eat or take home. There's a charming little Japanese sweets shop down the road and a beautiful coffee shop just a few doors down from the Ryokan.

The room itself is always clean, quiet and spacious with tea and coffee supplied. The hosts speak great English and are always eager to help. It's best to email ahead with your arrival time. I emailed the manager beforehand to warn him of our 9am arrival time after a gruelling 10 hour flight. He did his absolute best to give us an early check in, and when we arrived we only had to wait 20 minutes for the room to be ready! [he told us though "no promises" so please don't be disappointed if he can't accommodate, he means well] The manager gives you a map with local shops and restaurants in the area which is really handy. The Nippori station is on the Yamanote line which is the JR line you'll be using most if sightseeing (Harajuku, Shinjuku and Akihabara are all on this line). All in all, an excellent stay - the best Ryokan I've stayed in Japan.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A.katsutaro, オーナー at Annex Katsutaro Ryokan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Thank you for choosing our ryokan again !!
We hope your stay with us was a comfortable and a memorable one than before.

We appreciate your comments.This means so much to our future improvement.
Thank you so much!!

Please do come and visit us again.
You are always welcome in our homely ryokan!!
Until then, please take care.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews