We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable shrine for maneki neko lovers away from the crowds of Senso-ji”
Review of Imado Shrine

Imado Shrine
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 40.66*
and up
Tokyo Asakusa Rickshaw Tour
Reviewed 7 December 2017

This shrine is adorable. Only a kilometer (just over a half mile) from Senso-ji temple, this temple is a stark contrast to the tour bus crowds of Senso-ji. Twin Maneki nekos are honored at imado shrine and cats adorn pots, omamori and almost everything else here. A white cat roams the grounds and seemed to guide our way there. My son purchased a go-shuin cho (book for temple/shrine stamps) depicting the twin maneki nekos. The stamp also has the twin cats and is a favorite. We purchased several omamori for gifts that were appreciated by all. The shrine is quaint, cute and kitchy. The staff was freindly and welcoming. Although not a must see, if you want to get away from the crowds and adore cats, it is certainly worth the short excursion.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank SurfCityScenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"maneki neko"
in 4 reviews
"cat lovers"
in 4 reviews
"white cat"
in 2 reviews
"asakusa station"
in 2 reviews
"ema"
in 3 reviews
"omamori"
in 2 reviews
"stamp"
in 2 reviews
"fortunes"
in 2 reviews
"cats"
in 6 reviews
"statues"
in 4 reviews
"prayer"
in 2 reviews
"shrine"
in 13 reviews
"sensoji"
in 3 reviews
"shop"
in 2 reviews
"tokyo"
in 3 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2017

I visited 2 cat shrines while in Tokyo.
This one is about a 15min walk from the Senso-ji Temple or train statio. Walk along the river with a good view of the Tokyo Skytree in the distance.
Must-visit for cat lovers. Small gift shop with souvenirs was nice as well.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

If you are a cat lover, you need to stop by, it is a short walk from Asakusa Temple. For a beautiful view, walk by the river and enjoy the City view. The shrine is small but quiet.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Kasia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Today I felt like avoiding the crowds and check out a few shrines/temples within walking distance from the hotel. I saw a few pics of Maneki Neko, Lucky Cat and thought it was for luck with fortune. Sure I could use some luck.

Imado Shrine is 10 min walk from Asakusa Station and Sosenji Temple. From the station take the scenic route through Sumida park along the waterfront. Nice views of Skytree. The shrine is small compared to others but does catch your eye. You'll notice all the Maneki Neko all over the place. They are in sets of two. Pictures, statues, sculptures, vases decorated everywhere. Took a few pics and some souvenirs.

I told my co-worker/translator about my weekend visiting random shrines. I mention Imado shrine and she giggles and tells me single women go there to find love and romance. No romance hunting for me. Just checking out cool stuff around and being a tourist.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank foodiebear808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2015

located in asakusa, walking down sumida river shore, dedicated to a holy imado cat, cat souvenirs and symbols are everywhere. shrine for the couples to pray for good luck or single ones to find love.

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank Yazmina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imado Shrine also viewed

 

Been to Imado Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing