We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
7
18
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
18
8
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Ryokan Asakusa Mikawaya Honten is a traditional style guest house (ryokan) between and in walking distance to Asakusa subway station and Senso-ji Temple. Like the other reviewers have mentioned there's a curfew, and you leave your room key with staff, upon leaving for the day. When I was there, it was hard to find, no external English sign. But the listing on Google Maps is accurate, and I was able to find my way.

Staff was helpful and gave me good tourist advice. Disclaimer: it was a welcoming environment, but I got the feeling this place is primarily for local tourists, as I received quite a few surprised and odd looks from other customers.

To eat the hotel breakfast, you must reserve your meal the prior day, and it is local style food. Rooms are small. No beds. A sleeping bag style pallet is the bedding. Similar to camping. Small tv, small bathroom, all functional. This is a good value, reasonable place to stay.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobJohnston4561454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

The location was great however it was hard to find this place at first. Luckily, I recognized the front looking of this hotel from website. The lady at the checkin desk was very kind. Even though, she told us the front door will be closed by 10 pm, she still waits for us (other guests) to come back at night around 11 pm. The room itself is quite small for two people. Most of the room is occupied by our two Japanese futons. Very comfortable futons. The ensuite is very small but functionally equipped with the toilet supplies.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Elmeology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We spent 2 nights here in a tatami room. It's close to the very busy Nakamise-dori but it gets very quiet at night, which usually is when we get back anyway so I don't know if noise level is manageable during daytime. Our room was pretty spacious, compared to typical hotel rooms in Tokyo, maybe because it can take up to 3 people. The hallway to our room was pretty narrow though, so when maneuvering with luggages, one of us always has to step out of the hallway for the other to get out of the room.

First time trying out tatami, which is pretty comfy but don't go barefooted during winter as it gets cold easily. Be careful when moving your luggage because you might scratch the mats.

The staff at the front desk were nice and helpful, no complains there. Do take note that you have to leave your room key with them when you leave for the day, and if you're staying out past 10/11pm (can't remember which), the front door will be locked and you'll have to tap a keycard to get in. There's a deposit of 1000 yen to get the keycard and it will be fully returned when you return it. Wifi is free and no password is needed.

Only negative points were that there weren't enough power sockets in the room so we had to disconnect the tv to charge both our mobile phones at the same time, and that it's a little pricey for something that's more of a small family-run hotel.

Sumida River and the park is nearby, which is nice for a quiet morning stroll. Beware of the seagulls though, if you're thinking of eating by the river. There are lots of other shopping streets in the area, so it's good for exploring and food hunting.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alyooop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

This is a ryokan, Japanese style inn, where you sleep on the floor. It is a small room, but if you are only here to sleep, it is adequate. What bothered me the most was that we were on the 4th floor (Room 403) next to a "smoking room". We were given a "non-smoking room" but you could still smell the smoke. Get a room farthest away from the smoking center. They do have a washer and dryer if you are desperate, but give yourself adequate time for drying and save your 100 yen coins. It cost 200 yen to wash and takes about 40 minutes. They do have soap if you need it. It costs 100 yen to dry but it doesn't dry with one load for 30 mins. You have to do it about 3 more times. To find the place is another challenge. In Asakusa, go to the main gate at the Shrine. You will see a huge lantern called the Kaminarimon. Stand in front facing it, and walk to the left side. If you use the alley, it's easier to manuever your suitcase because there are so many people. Keep going straight until one street before the end of the block. Do not go to the end of the block....you have gone too far. You will see a beautiful bonsai arrangement on the corner of a restaurant and turn left on that street and the ryokan is 2 doors down on the left. The area is great to see this shrine and all the shopping around it. I would not stay here long term.

Room tip: Stay as far away from the designated smoking rooms. Don't stay in 403.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank alkeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

The property is located just steps from the hustle and bustle of the Sensoji temple area in Asakusa. Despite that, it was relatively quiet in my room on the 4th floor. The rooms and bathroom are a tad small, but that is not unexpected in Japan. There is a vending machine, along with free coffee and tea in the lobby. The staff was very nice and even helped with train directions. Our room had a great view of the Tokyo Sky Tree.

There are plenty of shops and restaurants steps from the hotel. Overall, I would recommend the hotel for a place to sleep after a long day of sightseeing.

Room tip: Ask for a 4th floor room facing the Tokyo Sky Tree!
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews