We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in a tourist area but everything close by train”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno
Ranked #33 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Ararat
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not in a tourist area but everything close by train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Think of this as your Mercure level hotel. Flat screen tv, reasonable size rooms by japanese standards, western bathroom with proper japanese heated toilet seat. Very quiet. Mainly businessmen. Down side is no wi fi but LAN cable available. The free communal computer is SLOWWWWWW so forget skype. But under AUD $120 per night so pretty good value. Go out the front door and turn right. A few hundred metres down the street is one of the best Korean BBQ restaurants in Tokyo. Follow your nose! Also convenience stores Lawsons and 7-11 have really good cheap food. The onigiri (rice balls filled with things like tuna and salmon) are about $2 AUD and super fresh and filling

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waddrddtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    203
    93
    14
    3
See reviews for
44
153
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed three nights when we first arrived in Japan. Easy to get to Ueno station from Narita airport, but a bit tricky to find the hotel (I recommend a taxi; we were recommended that too, but chose to wander about jet-lagged instead!). Once you get there the metro line is close by. Ueno itself in interesting, especially the market, and it's easy to get around Tokyo. Bit of a "Prisoner Cell Block H" feel to the central vestibule area - and watch out that it rains in (I think on purpose). Very acceptable room once you are inside and a nice breakfast in the reception area in the morning (including toasting machines!). Free use of internet cables in your room. If you are travelling around Japan, make use of the cheap, easy and safe luggage transfer system available at the hotels. Saves a lot of hassle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ag115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed for five nights in a double room and we thought it was fantastic!

Location: You are two minutes walk from the nearest Tokyo Metro station on the Oedo line. And then about a fifteen to twenty minute walk to the Ueno station which connects you to Narita via the skyliner (44 mins) and the Keisi line (about 90 mins) as well as the Ginza, Hibiya and JR line. These subway lines will take you all over Tokyo to the best locations safely and quickly and at a fairly reasonable price. The location is also great if you want to stay in Ueno as there are plenty of noodle bars and restaurants around the hotel as well as Ueno park and the temple there as well as the zoo and Ameyoko market which has plenty to offer.

Hotel: The hotel is much more of a Western hotel than traditionally Japanese. It is impeccably clean throughout and the staff work exceptionally hard to keep it that way. There is a complimentary breakfast each morning which consists of: salad, soup (varies daily), danishes & toast as well as orange juice and coffee. The hotel also has a laundry facility which is reasonably priced and a few vending machines if you want to eat in your room.

The room: There is complimentary wired internet access in the room as well as a television and a fridge. Our room had a shower & bath and a bidet and was a fairly good size as well. The room although slightly on the small side (though I am told fairly large for Tokyo standards) was nicely decorated. The beds were a little bit harder than we were used to but we have slept like logs the whole time we were here. We went to the front desk to ask for softer pillows and they were provided.

Staff: The staff are very friendly and helpful here. I have not met a staff member who has fluent English but between my broken basic phrases in Japanese and their English I have had no trouble communicating with them and they have always been a pleasure to interact with.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to family and friends and stay here myself as well. The area is very safe and quiet so you can explore the exciting sights of Tokyo and still get a good nights rest.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SweetHeartScene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Mrs. D/2 and I actually have stayed at this property twice in a six-month span and were very pleased both times. Although it's a 15 minute walk from Ueno station, it's nice being that close to the Keisei Skyliner and a 44 minute ride to Narita.

The hotel itself is pretty basic but clean. We booked an economy twin room because the two beds were slightly larger (at 90cm each) than the double at 140cm. The included breakfast is welcome in a city known for being very expensive. Breads, juices, coffee, tea, garden salad and accoutrements with a great dressing (soy sauce and sesame oil?), pasta salad, hard boiled eggs, and a broth-type soup.

The rooms are on the small size but the bed is slightly elevated to allow for your bags to go underneath. The A/C works perfect and they have even upgraded the remote's operating instructions between our stays. The make good use of the space.

The staff are very welcoming and cordial.

The hotel is in a residential area that's very quiet (and safe) at night. There's a lot more action closer to Ueno station including the Ameyoko market and a great pub (The Warrior Celt!). The hotel is also well situated to Asakusa and Sensojii Temple (probably a 20 minute walk or you can take the Metro).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duhey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Clean and tidy room. Was here for a holiday trip in Tokyo and found this to be the most affordable hotel. It is a short walking distance to the nearest subway station of Tokyo or if you don't mind walking another 300metres or so, you will reach Ueno station. Along the streets near the hotel, you can find restaurants serving food 24 hours and you don't have to worry about peaceful night sleep, it is very quiet during the night.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taito hotels
Ueno, Asakusa
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East
#40 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Ueno Hotel
Ueno Hotel
#29 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Ueno Inaricho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ueno, Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
Agora Place Asakusa
#23 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
Hotel Sardonyx Ueno
#17 of 121 in Taito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ueno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno
Address: 2-4-4 Kojima, Taito 111-0056, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Taito > Ueno, Asakusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Taito
Price range (per night): $99 - $182
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Ueno
Fontaine Ueno Hotel
Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing