We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Fontaine Ueno
Nearby Hotels
USD 315*
USD 173*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 197*
USD 185*
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
USD 296*
USD 210*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
HOTEL MYSTAYS Ueno East(Taito)(Great Value!)
USD 173*
USD 134*
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Agora Place Asakusa(Taito)(Great Value!)
USD 168*
USD 86*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Asakusa Central Hotel(Taito)(Great Value!)
USD 153*
USD 130*
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Hotel Graphy Nezu(Taito)
USD 140*
USD 137*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ryokan 
Hotel Mystays Ueno Iriyaguchi(Taito)(Great Value!)
USD 186*
USD 115*
MYSTAYS Official
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
My Stays Asakusabashi(Taito)(Great Value!)
USD 102*
USD 97*
MYSTAYS Official
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
USD 247*
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
61
232
107
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
232
107
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshin okachimachiincluded breakfast islarge bagsminute walksmall roomspent one night herewithin walking distancethree night stayquiet locationheated toilettwo metro stationsbusiness tripthe hotel staffyamanote linelimited spaceevery morningjapanese hotels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed three nights when we first arrived in Japan. Easy to get to Ueno station from Narita airport, but a bit tricky to find the hotel (I recommend a taxi; we were recommended that too, but chose to wander about jet-lagged instead!). Once you get there the metro line is close by. Ueno itself in interesting, especially the market, and it's easy to get around Tokyo. Bit of a "Prisoner Cell Block H" feel to the central vestibule area - and watch out that it rains in (I think on purpose). Very acceptable room once you are inside and a nice breakfast in the reception area in the morning (including toasting machines!). Free use of internet cables in your room. If you are travelling around Japan, make use of the cheap, easy and safe luggage transfer system available at the hotels. Saves a lot of hassle.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ag115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed for five nights in a double room and we thought it was fantastic!

Location: You are two minutes walk from the nearest Tokyo Metro station on the Oedo line. And then about a fifteen to twenty minute walk to the Ueno station which connects you to Narita via the skyliner (44 mins) and the Keisi line (about 90 mins) as well as the Ginza, Hibiya and JR line. These subway lines will take you all over Tokyo to the best locations safely and quickly and at a fairly reasonable price. The location is also great if you want to stay in Ueno as there are plenty of noodle bars and restaurants around the hotel as well as Ueno park and the temple there as well as the zoo and Ameyoko market which has plenty to offer.

Hotel: The hotel is much more of a Western hotel than traditionally Japanese. It is impeccably clean throughout and the staff work exceptionally hard to keep it that way. There is a complimentary breakfast each morning which consists of: salad, soup (varies daily), danishes & toast as well as orange juice and coffee. The hotel also has a laundry facility which is reasonably priced and a few vending machines if you want to eat in your room.

The room: There is complimentary wired internet access in the room as well as a television and a fridge. Our room had a shower & bath and a bidet and was a fairly good size as well. The room although slightly on the small side (though I am told fairly large for Tokyo standards) was nicely decorated. The beds were a little bit harder than we were used to but we have slept like logs the whole time we were here. We went to the front desk to ask for softer pillows and they were provided.

Staff: The staff are very friendly and helpful here. I have not met a staff member who has fluent English but between my broken basic phrases in Japanese and their English I have had no trouble communicating with them and they have always been a pleasure to interact with.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to family and friends and stay here myself as well. The area is very safe and quiet so you can explore the exciting sights of Tokyo and still get a good nights rest.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SweetHeartScene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Mrs. D/2 and I actually have stayed at this property twice in a six-month span and were very pleased both times. Although it's a 15 minute walk from Ueno station, it's nice being that close to the Keisei Skyliner and a 44 minute ride to Narita.

The hotel itself is pretty basic but clean. We booked an economy twin room because the two beds were slightly larger (at 90cm each) than the double at 140cm. The included breakfast is welcome in a city known for being very expensive. Breads, juices, coffee, tea, garden salad and accoutrements with a great dressing (soy sauce and sesame oil?), pasta salad, hard boiled eggs, and a broth-type soup.

The rooms are on the small size but the bed is slightly elevated to allow for your bags to go underneath. The A/C works perfect and they have even upgraded the remote's operating instructions between our stays. The make good use of the space.

The staff are very welcoming and cordial.

The hotel is in a residential area that's very quiet (and safe) at night. There's a lot more action closer to Ueno station including the Ameyoko market and a great pub (The Warrior Celt!). The hotel is also well situated to Asakusa and Sensojii Temple (probably a 20 minute walk or you can take the Metro).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duhey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Clean and tidy room. Was here for a holiday trip in Tokyo and found this to be the most affordable hotel. It is a short walking distance to the nearest subway station of Tokyo or if you don't mind walking another 300metres or so, you will reach Ueno station. Along the streets near the hotel, you can find restaurants serving food 24 hours and you don't have to worry about peaceful night sleep, it is very quiet during the night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in early March 2011. We found it to be excellent value for money, extremely clean, very quiet and would have no hesitation recommending it. The bed linen, including the doona cover, is changed every day. The beds are a bit on the hard side but we still slept well. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. If you want somewhere close to the Yamanote line this is not the place for you as it is about a 10-15 min walk. This didn't bother us as it is in a fairly quiet residential neighbourhood and we felt very safe even late at night. We stayed the first five nights on the 10th floor (non-smoking floor) and kept having that "rolling on a boat feeling" which we put down to jet lag and tiredness. We didn't realise that it was the build up to the earthquake as Japan had already had a few small quakes prior to our arrival. After the big quake hit, that swaying feeling was rather unnerving the higher up you are, so we moved to the 3rd floor (also non-smoking) and it was much better. Unfortunately for us, our holiday ended there as we fled back to the safety of Australia and didn't get to enjoy the remaining 21/2 weeks of our Japan holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews