We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible bed and terrible temperature control”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Terrible bed and terrible temperature control”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Just come back from Tokyo and stayed at this hotel. Firstly, the location is superb, close to JR line and metro station, it is inside a shopping mall so it is a plus for those "shop till you drop" type.

Now, the negatives : the hotel is old, the lobby is crowded and tired, personally that won't affect me much as long as it is clean. The worst part is the bed, it sinks in the middle, like when you lie down, your back are pulled inside the concave area, very uncomfortable and cause back aches the next day.

Next the heater in the room is way too hot, I have to call the front desk every night to request them to lower the temperature and sometimes, I have to call twice before they understand my request, and even after the supposed lower temperature has done, I still feel suffocate and couldn't sleep well.

Lastly, you have to pay 100yen for the use of wifi computer at the lobby for online check in is sooooo "Cheap act"...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tachyon083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    310
    307
    57
    22
See reviews for
168
125
88
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

The location of the hotel is good with the shopping complex right at your door step. Food choices are plentiful just a short walk away, explore the various alleys for better food deals than those along the main shopping stretch. I really like the shopping in the Ikebukuro area, spent two days walking and did not cover all the shops the area had to offer.

The room was clean but small with terrible a terrible bed that has seen better days, we were in a semi-double. The heater was way too hot and we had to make several calls to the front desk to lower the temperature practically every night we were there.

The air-conditioning system kept sending cigarette smoke from other rooms into our room and that had me doubling my allergy medication but other than that it was okay. I had requested for rooms on the higher floors but was given the 17th floor, it was decent with the walls a tad thin and I could hear conversations from neighbouring rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This hotel is celebrating it's 30th anniversary, and one can tell that are few renovations in order. The rooms are decent sized, but furniture and layout is quite outdated. The beds are like cardboard, very uncomfortable. The air-conditioning is old and works only on low setting. The walls are extremly thin, you can hear conversations from next door.
This hotel is 25+ story high, probably 2000+ rooms. It is very popular with Asian tour groups.
The hotel is connected to the Sunsheine city mall, with a food avenue/starbucks/mcdonald's/burger king downstairs, 10 minute walk to JR Ikebrukuro station.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amnesiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toshima hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My main gripe would be the hotel bed. One look and you can tell it sinks in the middle. This is a common gripe among my other colleagues as well. when you sleep on it, you can sometimes feel the coils within!

the hotel rooms are really due for an upgrade. Location is good, 5-10 mins to JR Yamanote line, and there is a 24 hour supermkt nearby.

But i would not come to this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaholic-1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I booked this hotel because it was cheaper compare to other hotels on west side of Tokyo and the room was bigger(as it was superrior room, 29 sqm). The other hotels with low price were the Grand Prince Asakasa, Shinagawa Prince and Tokyo Prince (near Tokyo tower) but the location of Ikebukuro was the best so I chose this hotel. It was also a brand hotel. When I arrived at lobby, it looked so small, not enogh for hotel with rooms more than thousands. The only thing that really renovated were the elevators. All the other facilities were old. At first when I checked in, there were three beds which didn't match to what we need so we changed the room to the upper floor, 28th. The view from the room was okay. Can see the skyscrapers in Shinjuku Area. The furnitures and decoration were also dated. The nearest subway station was Higashi Ikebukuro on Yurakucho line , 3 min walk from the hotel. The JR and subway Ikebukuro Station took about 15 min of walking, walking passed Sunshine 60 street and many department stores.) The hotel was connected to old shopping mall, Sunshine City, but the things in the mall was cheap.Only some staffs are friendly. No one can really speak English well.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itthinan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toshima
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro
Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
The B Ikebukuro
#7 of 55 in Toshima
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
Tokyu Stay Ikebukuro
#5 of 55 in Toshima
243 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
939 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine City Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine City Prince Hotel

Property: Sunshine City Prince Hotel
Address: 3-1-5 Higashi-Ikebukuro, Toshima 170-8440, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Toshima > Ikebukuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels / Ryokan in Toshima
Price range (per night): $114 - $381
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine City Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunshine City Complex in Tokyo's Ikebukuro district is in a constant state of self-renewal. It is a modern business, shopping and entertainment complex that features the 60-story "Sunshine 60" building, the World Imports Mart, the Culture Hall with a theater and museum, International Aquarium, and the Alpa Shopping Center. Sunshine City Prince Hotels is at the heart of this complex.With its stylish new look, the 1,166-room hotel rises 38 stories above the ground and dips three basement levels below. The Sunshine City Prince provides all the comfort, functionality and genuine hospitality you'd expect from an international hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunshine City Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Sunshine City
Prince Hotel Toshima
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Toshima Prince Hotel
Sunshine City Prince Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing