We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
26
8
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
8
7
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We went in for couple of nights with my wife. The room is very smartly built and feels bigger than it is. Staff helped us with joy and with good English.
Otsuka is located very near Ikebukuro and has its own sights to explore also for travelers. Cant really think of any negative thing to say. I would go there again.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ville V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts OMO5 Tokyo Otsuka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Ville V ,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and kinds comment.
I will share your review with the rest of the team and we thrive on providing better services.
We truly appreciate your genuine compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

This is a brand new hotel from Hoshino Resort and decoration is clean/simple and modern.
But the room size is not really big, especially you need to climb up and down for the bed.
My head was hitting by the ceiling for couple of times when going to washroom at mid-night.. , you have to remember very carefully which steps that you can stand straight and which you have to band your body to avoid hitting the head.
Overall experience is good, especially like the small restaurants nearby., i have tried the sushi shop which is really great too. Also, just few minutes walk to the JR train station and it is really convenient.
Only one down side is they charged for the delay of check-out for 1500 yen. I was being called at 11:15am and then the staff told me that i would be charged for 1500 yen if i delayed against the check out time.., so i rush down to the check out counter by 15 minutes which is only 11:30am. I was being charged for 1500 yen which i told them this is so unfair. Actually, I cannot found any statement or doc to telling me there are charges if i unable to check out by 11:00am and i was just being told when it was 11:15am. After the negotiation, they finally charged me 750 yen as i was delayed 30 minutes..
But I would prefer them to mark clearly on the check-in doc to let us/customers know that there would be a charged.., actually, i would like to have pay for a late check out if there is available but it never been mentioned from the hotel..
Hope they can get further improve on how to communicate clearly with their customers..

Room tip: All the rooms are actually same sizes!!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fan1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts OMO5 Tokyo Otsuka, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Fan1296,

Thank you for staying with at the newly opened Hoshino Resorts OMO5 Tokyo Otsuka and taking time to share a review. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay with us and the convenient location of the hotel. Your honest comments regarding the time of the check-out will be shared and reviewed with our rest of the team so that we may further improve your next experience. We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience you have experienced.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again and to show you how we are evolving.
Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Lots of cheap, retro eateries around, but there are some hip places in the shopping street on the other side of the JR station.

Room is nicely decorated but needs to be careful when going up to the mezzanine bunk bed. The big sofa "downstairs" is a nice hang-out area... but really not suitable for people who is tall (I just fit in, without bending/banging my head, and I'm 1.57m).

Washing area is rather inconvenient - would be great to even have just a towel rack under the sink for hanging hand towel? I tried hard not to drip all over the floor after washing my hands.

Not quite sure why the room wear is on rental basis. Also, since the "living" area is tatami, so the room has no slippers (except for the toilet). This means that you need to go barefoot in the washing area (between the entrance and the tatami, which includes the washing area), and unless you wear socks, you'll have dirty feet... just walking around in the room.

Breakfast was interesting (the vol-au-vent) but I wouldn't say it's delicious; the bread set was actually better though my friend said the bread was only so-so - the egg, bacon and sausages were great though!

Lovely staff. They have some "ranger" programs which are to bring hotel guests to get to know the area, which seem interesting (but I haven't joined... the walking program in the morning was a bit too early for our trip).

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank akaneantares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts OMO5 Tokyo Otsuka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear akaneantares,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts OMO5 Tokyo Otsuka. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our reasonable rate and location of the hotel. Your honest feedback about washing area and room wear will be shared and reviewed with rest of our team so that we may further improve your next stay with us. We sincerely apologize for your inconvenience you have experienced.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and to show you how we are evolving.
Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Building is nice. Location is good, easy to go everywhere by subway system. Service attitude is nice. Lifestyle design & some creative ideas are very comfortable. Breakfast is simple but good enough. Bunk bed in hotel room cause guests hitting their head all the time. Fun design can be applied but after all safety is everything.
建築物就很不錯了,地點夠好,地鐵站就在旁邊,到哪裡都算方便,服務態度也不錯,生活風格的設計加上一些不錯的點子讓整個感覺蠻舒服的,早餐很簡單但是還不錯吃,客房內的雙層床設計讓客人一直撞到頭,有有趣的設計可以,但是終其究安全應該是第一考量。

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ArthurWang095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts OMO5 Tokyo Otsuka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear ArthurWang095

Thank you for taking the time to give Hoshino Resorts OMO5 Tokyo Otsuka great comments. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant time satisfied with the design of the room. At the same time, we also thank you for the honest comment, there should be more notification for the guest who is taller than the YAGURA Bed. Thank you again for your review, and we would certainly welcome an opportunity to serve you again at one of our unique accommodations in the future!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights in Aug. The room interior is nicely designed and well maintained with a warm touch. Definitely comfortable for 3 people. Home amenities are enough but if you need home wear you have to rent from them. There is a contemporary and cosy cafe and sitting area at the lobby. Around the hotel there is a supermarket and several convenient stores. The hotel location is just about 2 minute's walk from the Otsuka JR station. Total tavelling time taking express train from Haneda International airport and changed at the Shinagawa station is around an hour, quute convenient. Recommended for family trip.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Arnold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts OMO5 Tokyo Otsuka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Arnold H

Thank you for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts OMO5 Tokyo Otsuka. Thank you for choosing us for your family trip and we are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our location and access to the hotel. At OMO, we also provide a lot of local experience called 'OMO Ranger'. We would certainly welcome the opportunity to welcome you back to join the activities with us. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews