We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Lol.travel
AU$89
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Cm0909

Small rooms

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Dec 2023
Booked the hotel during the Sakura season. Rates at that time were exorbitant. Rooms are really really tiny. Bed really just good for one and didn't have a good night rest during my stay. No place to put luggage. Staff are nice and microwave and laundry facilities available at the lobby. Location is good though, very near the train station and lots of dining and shopping places. Unlikely to return due to the size of the rooms.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
スマイルホテル 東京阿佐ヶ谷, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this review
Responded 12 Dec 2023
Thank you for staying at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya.

The guest rooms are of average size for a business hotel, with semi-double rooms of 13.5 square meters and twin rooms of 18.2 square meters.

Furthermore, regarding accommodation rates, we have introduced a variable rate system that matches the market price in the surrounding area.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your trip, but we would be grateful if you could understand the above-mentioned situation regarding the size of the room and the accommodation fee.

All of our staff will continue to strive to provide better facilities and services.

We would like to thank our customers for their continued patronage of the Smile Hotel Chain.

Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya Front
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$110
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$110
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
The roof terrace/dining/hangout/laundry
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Hotel Ark Tower Koenji
Rakuten Travel
    1.5 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    1.5 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
    Free Wifi
    Bar/Lounge
    Entrance
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Lol.travel
    1.2 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    1.6 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    施設内写真
    Rakuten Travel
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Trip.com
    • Agoda.com
    1.5 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Reception/Common Space
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Rakuten Travel
    1.7 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
    Free Wifi
    Bar/Lounge
    Mapenrai Koenji
    Booking.com
      1.4 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
      View more hotels in Suginami
      Reviews (160)
      Filter reviews
      160 results
      Traveller rating
      36
      73
      44
      6
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      36
      73
      44
      6
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 160 reviews
      Reviewed 18 February 2020

      First off, I want to remind everyone that the room sizes in these kinds of hotels are just enough for those travelers who only need a a place to sleep after a long day of exploring. Why in the hell do you need a big room when you only need a bed to sleep in? If you want a big room, spend a lot and book a five star hotel. Now that that's out of the way, Smile is an absolute gem! Great (i do mean great as it's really near the station) location and it has everything a weary tourist needs. A bed, bath and breakfast to boot. A steal in my opinion.

      Date of stay: March 2019
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      3  Thank jbzarcal
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2021
      Google Translation

      この度は、ご投稿いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

      又、過分なお言葉をいただき、スタッフ一同大変嬉しく感じております。
      引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。

      お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
      スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 29 September 2019

      Great location for drinkers! Japanese izakaya, western cafe, you name it. Even for those after Thai spicy stuff this is it.
      Along with tiny, little fringe benefit is just a few minutes ‘ walk away from a JR station.
      Not nice for drivers, tho. Don’t expect a parking lot under 2,500 yen overnight.

      Date of stay: September 2019
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      2  Thank NaotoKato2005
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2021
      Google Translation

      この度は、ご投稿いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

      駅近・繁華街の為、飲食店が多く点在し、選べる点に関しましてお気に入りいただけたご様子で何よりでございます。

      引き続き、より良い施設サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
      お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧をいただけますようお願い申し上げます。

      スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 8 July 2018

      Everything was clean and worked fine, and the staff was helpful. It's just that the room was super small and drab faded yellow. This kind of thing usually doesn't affect me, but this time I felt like I was in some kind of flop house. I left the hotel each day for most of the day, but still felt like a rat in a cage when I got back in the evening. Lucky I was out all day, as there was rail station construction going on right outside my window.

      Date of stay: August 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Guttermoon
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
      Google Translation

      この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

      又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

      当ホテルはJR阿佐ヶ谷駅前にあり、飲食店・コンビニ・スーパー・ドラッグストア・病院等、徒歩圏内にございますので
      ご宿泊時に急に何かご入用になっても困らず、ご滞在いただける環境が整っているかと存じます。

      引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
      お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
      スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

      My travel agent selected this hotel for me because of its close location to the Shinjuku area , value for money, and the great reviews on Trip Advisor. I have not been disappointed. It is also budget friendly . Although I needed to be close to Shinjuku, Asagaya is a fascinating place in itself and I could happily spend my time here if I didn't have other commitments. The room is small which is fine but the bathroom is tiny and I can only just fit. I am under 180 cm about 5'10", so if you are coming for the Rugby World Cup and you are rugby player size you may have a problem. Apart from this I highly recommend this hotel.

      Date of stay: June 2018
      Trip type: Travelled solo
      Thank Robin K
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
      Google Translation

      この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

      又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

      当ホテルはJR阿佐ヶ谷駅前にあり、飲食店・コンビニ・スーパー・ドラッグストア・病院等、徒歩圏内にございますので
      ご宿泊時に急に何かご入用になっても困らず、ご滞在いただける環境が整っているかと存じます。

      引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
      お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
      スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

      Conveniently Located near Asagaya station. Has lots eateries and supermarkets around. Considering the reasonable price, room is small but makes up by its cleanliness and tidiness and location. Staff are friendly and helpful. A microwave located at lobby for you to heat up your food if any. Lobby has numerous helpful guidebooks should you need any. Will return to stay again!

      Date of stay: May 2018
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank wenwenwoon
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
      Google Translation

      この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

      又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

      当ホテルはJR阿佐ヶ谷駅前にあり、飲食店・コンビニ・スーパー・ドラッグストア・病院等、徒歩圏内にございますので
      ご宿泊時に急に何かご入用になっても困らず、ご滞在いただける環境が整っているかと存じます。

      引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
      お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
      スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews