We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
AU$78
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
KBGGregg
Kamala, Thailand

If you've discovered the Smile hotel look no further

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 June 2016via mobile
A great find... location is excellent 2 minutes from the train from where you can go anywhere. There is a ton of restaurants, convenient stores, fast food and everything you'd need right nearby. Staff is excellent always ready to help and can get by with limited English. Being a tall guy 194m I found the room just fine not normal in Japan. Am going to extend my stay as this is a gem for the cost and location.
Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this review
Responded 30 July 2021
この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$110
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$124
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
The roof terrace/dining/hangout/laundry
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Entrance
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
1.2 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
施設内写真
Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • Rakuten Travel
1.5 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Reception/Common Space
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Mapenrai Koenji
Booking.com
    1.4 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
    Bed
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    3.0 km from Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya
    View more hotels in Suginami
    Reviews (160)
    Filter reviews
    160 results
    Traveller rating
    36
    73
    44
    6
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    36
    73
    44
    6
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 160 reviews
    Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

    Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Definitely recommend. Being the first time in japan, we were quite nervous, but with a detailed email from the staff of how to get around and to the hotel, we definitely felt more relaxed. Two minute walk from station.
    Lots of surrounding restaurants that makes for a great atmosphere, especially at night.

    Date of stay: May 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank serenam845
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
    Google Translation

    この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

    又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

    引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
    お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
    スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 March 2016

    Being a Saturday and cherry blossom time, we had to pay Y20,000 including breakfast! The hotel is located on south side of Asagaya station. Take south exit from station. Turn right & walk down the Asagaya Station Mall outside walkway to the end. The hotel entrance is to your immediate left. It's an older hotel that's showing some wear and tear in the room but very clean. We booked a small double bed unit with desk, table & chairs. There is a very small bar fridge, bidet toilet and WIFI is available in the room. Although no microwave in the room, There is one in the lobby. Also coin washer/dryer available off the lobby. Detergent is available for sale at reception.

    Date of stay: March 2016
    Thank conscom
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
    Google Translation

    この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

    又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

    引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
    お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
    スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 February 2016

    My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in december. The room was small but clean and comfy. Tip: if you don't mind not sleeping together ask for a twin room, they are a little bit bigger and since the rooms in Japan are so small it makes a difference. If you are planning on using the trains a lot the hotel is at a perfect location as it is literaly beside the Asagaya Train Station! We found that very useful. Also there is everything you need close by: restaurants, convinience stores, etc. Also it is in a nice and quiet neigorhood witch we liked, but you might be bored if you want action, bars and crowds.

    Room tip: Try to avoid the train station side. Also twin rooms seem a bit bigger.
    Date of stay: December 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank travelingpenguin3
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
    Google Translation

    この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

    又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

    引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
    お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
    スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

    It's my second time at hostel Asakusa smile. There location is very convinient , close to two metro station and about 1h to narita airport. Asakusa temple is at 5 mins walk from the hostel. We where there in January, the hostel was not busy so it was quiet and you didn't have to wait to be able to take your shower. There was only 2 bathroom on the second floor for I believe 12 people (if not more, I don't really know) . 4 showers on the second floor as well. The rooms where clean. The showers and the bathroom smelled a bit like urine... If you don't have a big budget , I definitely recommend staying at this hostel . Friendly staff , as a well furnished bar at the main level. Free wifi.

    Date of stay: January 2016
    Thank LorenaMontreal
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
    Google Translation

    この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

    又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

    引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
    お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
    スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 December 2015

    Hotel is located near by station, heading to the south exit of station, and turn right, go straightly to the road aside with train station. at the end, you will see hotel at your right hand sight. Location to supermarket, pharmacy store, and a various of restaurants you can choose.
    the breakfast is simple, no big surprise. If your plan in Tokyo is to shop , and sight seeing all the time, do not want to spend too much money in hotel, this is the one I
    strongly recommend you at the most.
    There is one point, sounding isolation is not good enough, people who easily to be waken up , please select high level floor.
    Room space for twin beds, ( two single beds) is big enough to load two luggages, unless you are traveled alone.

    Date of stay: November 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank Shu Chen C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    青木 稔, 支配人 at Smile Hotel Tokyo Asagaya, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021
    Google Translation

    この度は、当スマイルホテル東京阿佐ヶ谷へご宿泊いただき、誠にありがとうございます。

    又、貴重なご意見をいただき、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

    引き続き、より良い施設・サービスを目指し、スタッフ一同努めて参ります。
    お客様におかれましては、スマイルホテルチェーンへの変わらぬご愛顧を賜わりますようお願い申し上げます。
    スタッフ一同、お客様の又のご来館を心よりお待ち申し上げております。

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews