We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second stay here, very convenient location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Supermarket nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Suginami, Tokyo, Tokyo Prefecture, Kanto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
velvet c
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Second stay here, very convenient location”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our second stay here and we always recommend this place to our friends and family who are traveling to Tokyo. The convenience of having the 24 hour Seiyu market and the train station so close to the apartment after a long day of sightseeing with sore and tired feet is what we love about this place. Our group rented 3 apartments in this building and we had the 1 bedroom for 4 of us - 2 adults and 2 teenage boys. Although it is small as most of the hotels in Japan are, it's nice to have a full kitchen and a washer for your clothes. There are lots of closet space to store your luggage and clothes so it doesn't seem too cramped.
Staying here makes you feel like you are a local and there are many restaurants and wonderful small eateries all within a short walking distance. It's also only a 15 minute train ride to Shinjuku and one stop away from my favorite place to shop....Kichijoji!
Makoto is always very friendly and funny and like others reviews say - he speaks fluent english. He also helped us with the takubin luggage service and filled out all of the forms for us. Well worth sending your luggage 2 days ahead of your departure straight to the airport. Any questions we had prior to our trip, we just emailed Makoto and he is very quick to respond.
We would stay here again on our next visit because of the convenient of the location and the fact that it's nice to feel part of the local community. We LOVE the Seiyu market and probably shopped there everyday. They have a lots of prepared food and bentos as well as sashimi bentos that were very inexpensive and good quality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
29keith73
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“excellent location, excellent service from Makoto-san”
Reviewed 25 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

The location of the apartment is excellent, less than 5 min walk from the nishi-ogikubo station. The best thing about this location is that the 24 hour Seiyu supermarket is just next to it. There are quite a few eateries around as well. This station is about 7 station away (about 17mins with normal train service) from Shinjuku station.

The other best experience is the friendliness and helpfulness of Makoto-san. He explained all info in detail. He even helped us arrange the domestic courier service to send our luggage to the hotel of our next destination, which save us a lot of trouble. Although he stays about 1 hour away from the apartment, he even helped us filled in the courier service form (because it must be in Japanese) and delivered to the apartment so that the courier agent could pick up our luggage without any trouble. We are truly grateful for his help.

About the apartment itself, it is pretty small (which is quite as expected in Tokyo) but was adequate for 4 of us (including 2 young kids). it is equipped with all the necessary appliances and there are coin operated dryer in the next building.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MingHL
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Very nice experience!”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed in Tokyo for about 10 days and loved this location! It's near the Nishi-Ogikubo train station, about 15 minutes away from Shinjuku in Suginami, West Tokyo area. The apartment is next to a 24 hour Seiyu supermarket (basically Walmart's Japan supermarket chain) which you can walk through to the apartment whether it's raining or not.

Nishi-Ogikubo is a quiet neighbourhood known for antique stores. There's a small shopping street and some hole-in-the-wall restaurants to the north of the station, Lawson and 7-eleven in the south side, useful for receiving packages that you bought from Amazon, etc.

The apartment itself is really suitable for 3, maximum 4 people. There's a bed and also a futon that can be converted to another bed for 2 people. Air-conditioning, a tv and cable internet is provided. A small kitchen with sink and stove is available, you can also do laundry with the washing machine in the cupboard. It's really clean and comfortable!

Makoto (General Manager of the apartment complex) came out to meet up with us at the train station and brought us to the apartment. He's a really friendly guy and fluently speaks English (probably the only fluent-speaking Japanese person I've met so far). Gives you a lot of information about things to do in Tokyo. (Be prepared, living in an apartment is really not the same as living in a hotel)

Overall, amazing experience for the price, will definitely rent with Makoto again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Supermarket next to apartment
Liked least: 15 minutes away from Shinjuku.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossOntar...
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic location. Love Seiyu, the 24 hours supermarket.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is my second time going to Japan with my family. Since we only have 6 days to spend, I decided to stay in Tokyo and go for day trips leisurely. Nishi-Ogikubo is the best location with a lot of local eateries and shops.
On the night of our arrival, Makoto met us at the station. He gave us suggestion of where to eat, whether it's ramen, sushi, Mos burger, it's all there. Even karaoke!
After we settled down, we went down to a conveyer belt sushi place. Price was good.
The 1 BR apartment was very clean, has everything that we need. Since there were 4 of us , we rented an extra mattress for my son. It was a little cramp, but it was comfortable enough for us.
The apartment came with WiFi, we also rented the pocket WiFi which was very useful while we were out all day. The kitchen was fully equipped with toaster, microwave, rice cooker, stove and grill.
The 24 hours supermarket beside the apartment building is called Seiyu, but it's actually Walmart in Tokyo. The price of goods there were cheaper than other stores.
They also have a variety of cooked food. They marked down the price after certain hours at night. So we always buy discounted food , like ramen, teriyaki chicken, grilled mackeral to eat at breakfast.
Taking day trips from Nishi-Ogikubo station was convenient, as it is only 7 stops from Shinjuku station. The train system in Japan is so well operated, we had no trouble navigate around.
My son is an animation student, he really enjoy going to Nakano. He found many stores that sell anime fiqures. There is also an animation museum that is within walking distance from our apartment . We walked through local residences, it was just an unique way to experience Tokyo.
The stop next to Nishi-Ogikubo is Kijijioji. I love that place too. It has lots of small boutiques and unique merchandises.
I will definitely rent from Makoto's company again in the future. Makoto speaks Spanish,too. He and my daughter was chatting away in Spanish. ( my daughter studied Spanish at school)
A word of advice, the garbage collection system was a bit confusing. But it was all necessary to keep our planet green.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela A...
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Loved This Bright & Cheery Tokyo Apartment”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We loved this bright & cheery apartment. It's so conveniently located next to the train station, but since the windows are triple glazed, there's no problem at all with noise. The location was particularly nice during the rainy season, because you can get to the apartment by going through a large supermarket, meaning you need only take a few steps unprotected from the weather. The apartment is immaculate, the bed is comfortable. In addition to the supermarket, there's a Japanese sweets shop, a produce vendor, and several small restaurants nearby. Would definitely consider renting again.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing