We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

The room was small, but enough for the two of us. I was pleased with the size of the bathroom.

The hotel staff were lovely and happy to help out.

The only restaurant the hotel had was not that great and next time I will probably stay in the other Sunroute in Tokyo as when we walked past we noticed it had a lovely restaurant.

The hotel is located around the corner from the Shinjuku-Higashi subway but we chose to walk to the main Shinjuku station which was a 15 minute walk. The subway line is limited and involves a couple of changes so we wanted a more direct route.

It was helpful to have a laundry we could use ourselves as we had a fair bit of washing due to skiing the week before.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy_traveller4589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    537
    135
    24
    9
See reviews for
108
318
146
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and at the cost of AUD$80pn, including NYE, we thought it was excellent value. The hotel room was small but enough to move around and the bed was comfortable, more importantly it was clean! The hotel is located next to the subway station, and within easy walking distance to the main Shinjuku JR station... Ample of restaurants/cafe and convenient stores near by..

Would recommend to any travellers looking for a budget stay :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mokomoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel is just next to the subway Higashi Shinjuku station and around 20 mins walk to the JR Shinjuku station. There are some restaurants and convenience store nearby. As I know most of the hotels in Tokyo are with small rooms, I don't have much expectation of the room size. Although the room size is small, the room is still clean and comfort.
But DON'T open the window, the hotel is in front of a busy road, it is quite noisy outside.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chungkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

I wanted budget accommodations, but something nicer than a hostel, reasonably close to a major sightseeing district and a stone's throw away from a subway station. My search led me to Sunroute Higashi-Shinjuku, at $75 USD per night for a single room.

I was expecting a cramped room, but honestly it was a reasonable size for a single. The room was spotless, and the bed was soft and comfy. The reception spoke great English and made me feel welcome, and even helped me with suggestions on local izakaya/restaurants.

The only downside was that subway access from the major tourist attractions is a little more involved. Getting to Higashi-Shinjuku on the Oedo line from Shibuya or Tokyo Stations, you'd have to transfer at Tochomae. A minor inconvenience, really.

In the end, it was a very nice business hotel with an unbeatable price. I enjoyed my stay, I've recommended it to my friends, and I'll definitely consider it on my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed 6 nights here and would recommend it for a low-cost option in a good location. Several nice touches that you normally expect to spend more money for. There was quite a lot of noise on the road outside during the night (sirens, roadworks) but this is central Tokyo.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 501places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
#18 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Address: 7-27-9 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#12 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price range (per night): $107 - $230
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Higashi-Shinjuku first opened on April 1, 2007, in the energetic business and shopping hub of Tokyo in the Higashi-Shinjuku prefecture. The hotel provides business and leisure travelers with direct access to Shinjuku Station, the largest train station in Japan.The hotel's contemporary, streamlined accommodations create a serene environment for guests to relax and retire to, away from the busy streets of Tokyo. This Shinjuku hotel's amenities, including secure accommodation and elevator access, expansive breakfast buffet at the hotel's restaurant Royal Host, and traditional Chinese menu at Bamiyan restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Higashi Hotel Shinjuku
Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing