We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden

Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden
Book In Advance
USD 98.11*
and up
Cherry Blossom Viewing and Tokyo Tower Tour
Ranked #1 of 269 things to do in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Super beautiful place! Really great!
Went with wife and daughter, and took a whole lot of photos, especially with all the autumn leaves.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Tap_Scow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,157
    1,206
    177
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A peaceful park in the middle of a very busy city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Because there is a small fee this park is relatively quiet. Or at least it was on the Saturday morning when we visited.

The main entrance is on the Shinjuku Station side of the park. There are also other gates for exiting.

We strolled around the grounds, just letting the sights guide us to our next stop. The trees and plants provide so much to see and enjoy. Photographers are innumerable. We saw at least one photography club.

The grounds are much to hard to describe in words. Photographs are good, but you really need to see the park in person to get the complete sense of its beauty.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank iskating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pretty n peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

It's a very pretty place, don't miss the japanese garden.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank workawhorlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovereto, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Central Park ... in Tokyo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

The park is located between Shinjuku and Sendagaya and although is in the very heart of the city, it is possible to enjoy a quiet atmosphere. There is a 300yen entrance fee. From the park you can admire the NTT State Building ... and even the new Sky Tree Tower. The park has different sections: (i) Traditional Japanese; (ii) French Formal; (iii) English Landscape. You can even try the experience of the tea ceremony in a traditional Japanese tea house.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gia-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A peaceful park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

It was a lovely park to wander around as we waited to check in to our hotel. Lots of mosquitoes!
We were a bit disappointed that the green house area was under construction at the time. (perhaps still is)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank fongie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden also viewed

 

Been to Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing