We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One word: "SERVICE"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Shinjuku, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One word: "SERVICE"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Park Hyatt in Tokyo, like in my previous stays, remains one of my favorite hotels in terms of service. From getting out of the taxi (without even saying my name) for them to identify me by name is a testament to their commitment in providing customer service.

Though I forgot to mention my wife was pregnant in my reservation, they immediately noticed this and had 3 people come up to provide all the ammenties to make my wife's stay more pleasant such as "Pregnancy cushion", blankets, decaffienated coffee, teas, extra water, etc...

Even small little requests I had made before like extra amenties were provided prior to my room arrival. Notice to guest preferences is top notch!

The location is little out of the way but a hotel shuttle is provided as a note to people visiting here the first time:

Though a walk to the hotel is a short 8 min walk from the Shinjuku South exit, it is comforting to know a shuttle runs almost every 10 minutes from Shinjuku west exit right to the hotel. You should exit the West exit of Shinjuku station and find your way to "L" tower building. (near Odaku department store/bic camera). My advice is to ask people where "L" tower is. In front of L tower, look for a bus stop with 2 white cones on the side of the curb. This will take you to the hotel.
NOTE: there are two shuttle buses that run from this location. One is the Park Hyatt shuttle and another is an O bus. Either one is free with the O bus running more often.

Another note: Let the hotel know your preferences as to anniversary/honeymoom/birthdays/expecting mothers etc... They will make your stay more wonderful.

Another note: Beers/Drinks are roughly 12 dollars to 20 dollars from minibar. Movies in room are 25 dollars. IF these are "pricey" in your mind, you could alternatively go to the convenience stores in B1 of the building (B1 is basement floor) and get all drinks at reasonable prices. There is a 24 hour convenience store and alot of restaurants during business hours.

Also, I feel the 3,000+yen breakfast was not up to par for the value I expected. I think getting breakfast at the Park Hyatt delicatessan on the 1st floor was great! As a platinum, you could get all the points plus 15% as well since it is a Hyatt branded establishment! :)

Hope this review is helpful for some.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scowsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,196
    374
    93
    27
    27
See reviews for
510
1,169
248
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
phillan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

An amazing property. The elevators whisk you from a ground floor entrance area to the 41st floor, where the doors open to a wonderful, lobby on top of one of the three sky scrapers that comprise the hotel. After stepping off the elevator in what is literally a sky lobby, you are led past two of the hotel's restaurants, through the library (which you may recognize instantly from the movie Lost in Translation), to an individual check-in desk.

We stayed in a deluxe room, on the corner, which met our needs perfectly and was very large for Tokyo (and pretty decently sized for most other cities, too). Views were of Mt Fugi.

The service was great -- without asking, housekeeping even brought us additional power adapters and ethernet cables because we had two laptops and they saw that we were taking turns plugging them in.

Definitely have dinner one night at New York Grill on the top level. I think dinner for two ended up being about US$350, but worth it to sit with a view of the Tokyo skyline.

And, expect to pay dearly for everything. A diet coke in the lobby was somewhere in the neighborhood of US$15 and prices just go up from there. It wasn't really a surprise, but just make sure to build it in to your budget and you'll be fine.

A few minor quibbles:
--The condition of some of the furniture and finishes in the room -- they're showing their wear just a bit. Perhaps time for a little updating.
--It's about 10+ minutes walking from Shinjuku station and there's not a whole lot to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. If you're looking for something central and within walking distance of a vibrant part of the city, this might not be the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed here and loved it! Great room with clean comfortable bed. The bathroom shower was great and deep soaking tub amply large! Loved the views and the restaurant! Proximity to trains were also a huge plus. Easy to get anywhere in Tokyo via the train system!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

One word.....Heaven.
As a lover of all things hotel, when I arrived at this hotel I thought I had died and gone there.
If I had the money of a rock star or internet tycoon, this would be my address.

Stayed here about ten times and each time it gets better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoteloholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
141 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just been back to this Park Hyatt after a stay in 2004: It's still an excellent hotel with superb service, which so far remains unmatched elsewhere. When leaving the taxi I was greeted with my name (I assume the luggage tag gave it away) and escorted to the checkin-area in the upper part of the three towers, while my luggage was taken care of. Everything went just smooth during my stay.

Rooms are large for Tokyo and come with a splendid view and one of the largest in-room bars you probably can imagine for standard rooms. You will notice the decor originates from the early 90ies (including a metal key for the room), with some patina here and there, yet I wouldn't consider this a drawback; everything was well designed and still looks and works great.

While meanwhile there are many other great 5* hotels in Tokyo, this is still the best place to stay if you are on business or leisure in or close to Shinjuku area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,748 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Park Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price range (per night): $624 - $1,463
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing