We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jazz at the New York Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jazz at the New York Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Call me crazy but with only two days in Tokyo, one if the places I had to visit was the top of the Park Hyatt to see the incredible views and to be where one of my favorite movies, "Lost In Translation", was filmed. After getting lost on the subway, and getting more lost wandering around Shinjuku, I met some nice people that walked me to the Hyatt since I had no idea where I was going.

I was greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff that took me up to the 52nd floor. What had been a few rain drops earlier had turned into a full blown blizzard so I did't get to enjoy the view, but to my surprise, there was a wonderful jazz band playing. With a few martinis and excellent service, it was a nice, relaxing way to spend my last night in Tokyo.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naamah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,196
    374
    93
    27
    27
See reviews for
510
1,169
248
401
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had read some of the negative reviews and were a little apprehensive, especially being that we are of an ethnic minority group.

We should not have worried. This has been a wonderful stay.

To start with, they greeted us in the lobby (the bell hop had asked our name as we got out of the cab). Because we were platinum ( just reached this level with Hyatt so not sure what is usual) we were told we did not have to go to the desk to check in. The greeter personally walked us to the room to see if we were satisfied or would want to switch. We had been upgraded to a full Mount Fugi view. The luggage was brought up byanother bell hop.

The room was Clean, Clean Clean. There was nothing old looking or worn. The style was Japanese elegance, that muted minimalist style for which they are well known. The colors were earth tone.

The bed was the typical Asian thick but firm mattress, wonderful for us (both with problem backs) but others might like a softer mattress.

The bathroom was lovely, one of the favorite hotel bathrooms we have been in. The shower was wonderful. It was a two head shower (one high and one low). You could precisely set your water temperature with instant results. The water force was strong. The shower was big enough that our hefty bodies did not hit up against the walls as we showered.

The bathtub was a very clean, large soaking tub, You could soak and watch the in bathroom TV or read a good book. Bath salts were provided.

The closet area was large, ample for all our luggage and could be closed off.

The food while expensive (as always in these type of hotels) was well presented, ample in amount and delicious.

We have no complaints except we wish we could have stay longer. We were truly pampered.

Oh, the staff treated us very nicely and looked out for our every comfort and need-Japanese style. No, they were not effusive Americans but yes they were Japanese who aimed to please and did so.

We have been in many hotels in the US and around the world- we highly recommend this hotel, no reservations at all.

Room Tip: 4916- great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJNMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Park Hyatt Tokyo during our trip to Japan earlier this year. Despite being expensive, we feel the stay there was worth every cent - from service to amenities, everything was top notch.

We were a bit disappointed though that it was hard to find the hotel's shuttle service from Shinjuku station given the relative prominence of that for Hyatt Regency from the same station.

Room Tip: Request for a high-floor room with a view of Mt. Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecclesiastes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This for me is perhaps the best hotel in Asia so far. Service level here is exceptional. You would expect nothing less especially when in Japan so kudos to the team at the Park Hyatt.

I was here for 3 nights in January for work. The rooms and facilities are amazing. Very spacious and comfortable. The bedding and decor is plush and luxurious.

Try the Japanese restaurant here - it is amazing. Has great views too as the restaurant is on the 40th floor of the building. The bar too for that matter which sits on the 50th floor.

The hotel is a 10-15min walk to the main Shinjuku area so it is a short walk away to the train station.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YewMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Let me start this review by saying that I am loyal guest (and a holder of Diamond GP status) of Hyatt hotels for the past 16 years, during which I had an opportunity and pleasure to visit numereous Park type properties (among the others also in Moscow, Milano, Zurich, Dubai, Beijing, Melbourne..).

At the time of booking of my Tokyo stay, I was choosing in between Grand and Park Hyatt. Eventually, Park Hyatt Tokyo was the first one to be able to confirm me Suite upgrade (using GP points), which in combination with my positive expirience in other Park Hyatt properties as well as very positive reviews on TripAdvisor was more than enough to push me in direction of paying rather expensive room in Park Hyatt.

Pro's for staying at Park Hyatt:
- professional staff
- professional staff
- have I already mentioned professional and impeccably trained staff?
- all facilities that one would resonably expect out of 500USD-per-night-for-the-cheapest-room -property
- views over Tokio from reception, restauraunts, spa, rooms..
- decent location (10 minutes by foot away from Narita Express train station and decently connected with other parts of Tokyo)

Con's
- hotel and all facilities are requesting a complete makeup if the Management intends to maintain leadership position in Tokyo upscale hotel market (which they, once again, very much deserve); my mark went down from excellent to average mainly due to fact that at each and every footstep it is rather visible that the place has been seeing its better days (be it a couple of stains on carpet in lobby/guest rooms floors, restauraunts, worn out tables at the reception, sauna that was out of order in a Spa, old fashioned cord phones at the reception and in the rooms, luck of bed side sockets in the rooms (which, btw, is just another mark of the period when this place was renovated for the last time - i doubt than, starting as of the beginning of 2000's and expansion of mobile phones (and other appliances that we so often recharge during the night) any architect would omit this detail..)
- going in the same direction as a previous line is also having an old fashioned key (instad of a key card) being handed over at check in - this is not necessary negative, of course (even has a nice retro dimension) but is still a bit rare to be seein in 2012..
- strange location of a reception desk - after leaving elevator, one needs to pass thru 2 restauraunts, library and a long hall in order to reach receptionist/concirege

I have used my stay in Tokyo to visit also Grand Hyatt and all of its facilites. Later one has much "younger" rooms and other facilities, however they (rooms) are in average smaller; location is much more acceptable for families with kids (many entertainment options next door)-..

Instead of conclusion - Park Hyatt is definitely still one of the best overall options in Tokyo, while Grand Hyatt is for (as already mentioned) families with kids. Should you be here (I am writing this while still being a guest at Park Hyatt Tokio) for a short business trip, Park Hyatt is definitely a place to be.

Room Tip: If a Diamond or a reguar GP member with sufficient points on account, pls do use opportunity to upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MilosMilenkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,749 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Park Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
Price range (per night): $624 - $1,463
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing