We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth every dollar!”
Review of Park Hyatt Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth every dollar!”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Park Hyatt Tokyo during our trip to Japan earlier this year. Despite being expensive, we feel the stay there was worth every cent - from service to amenities, everything was top notch.

We were a bit disappointed though that it was hard to find the hotel's shuttle service from Shinjuku station given the relative prominence of that for Hyatt Regency from the same station.

Room Tip: Request for a high-floor room with a view of Mt. Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecclesiastes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,280
    380
    100
    29
    27
See reviews for
536
1,214
251
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This for me is perhaps the best hotel in Asia so far. Service level here is exceptional. You would expect nothing less especially when in Japan so kudos to the team at the Park Hyatt.

I was here for 3 nights in January for work. The rooms and facilities are amazing. Very spacious and comfortable. The bedding and decor is plush and luxurious.

Try the Japanese restaurant here - it is amazing. Has great views too as the restaurant is on the 40th floor of the building. The bar too for that matter which sits on the 50th floor.

The hotel is a 10-15min walk to the main Shinjuku area so it is a short walk away to the train station.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YewMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Let me start this review by saying that I am loyal guest (and a holder of Diamond GP status) of Hyatt hotels for the past 16 years, during which I had an opportunity and pleasure to visit numereous Park type properties (among the others also in Moscow, Milano, Zurich, Dubai, Beijing, Melbourne..).

At the time of booking of my Tokyo stay, I was choosing in between Grand and Park Hyatt. Eventually, Park Hyatt Tokyo was the first one to be able to confirm me Suite upgrade (using GP points), which in combination with my positive expirience in other Park Hyatt properties as well as very positive reviews on TripAdvisor was more than enough to push me in direction of paying rather expensive room in Park Hyatt.

Pro's for staying at Park Hyatt:
- professional staff
- professional staff
- have I already mentioned professional and impeccably trained staff?
- all facilities that one would resonably expect out of 500USD-per-night-for-the-cheapest-room -property
- views over Tokio from reception, restauraunts, spa, rooms..
- decent location (10 minutes by foot away from Narita Express train station and decently connected with other parts of Tokyo)

Con's
- hotel and all facilities are requesting a complete makeup if the Management intends to maintain leadership position in Tokyo upscale hotel market (which they, once again, very much deserve); my mark went down from excellent to average mainly due to fact that at each and every footstep it is rather visible that the place has been seeing its better days (be it a couple of stains on carpet in lobby/guest rooms floors, restauraunts, worn out tables at the reception, sauna that was out of order in a Spa, old fashioned cord phones at the reception and in the rooms, luck of bed side sockets in the rooms (which, btw, is just another mark of the period when this place was renovated for the last time - i doubt than, starting as of the beginning of 2000's and expansion of mobile phones (and other appliances that we so often recharge during the night) any architect would omit this detail..)
- going in the same direction as a previous line is also having an old fashioned key (instad of a key card) being handed over at check in - this is not necessary negative, of course (even has a nice retro dimension) but is still a bit rare to be seein in 2012..
- strange location of a reception desk - after leaving elevator, one needs to pass thru 2 restauraunts, library and a long hall in order to reach receptionist/concirege

I have used my stay in Tokyo to visit also Grand Hyatt and all of its facilites. Later one has much "younger" rooms and other facilities, however they (rooms) are in average smaller; location is much more acceptable for families with kids (many entertainment options next door)-..

Instead of conclusion - Park Hyatt is definitely still one of the best overall options in Tokyo, while Grand Hyatt is for (as already mentioned) families with kids. Should you be here (I am writing this while still being a guest at Park Hyatt Tokio) for a short business trip, Park Hyatt is definitely a place to be.

Room Tip: If a Diamond or a reguar GP member with sufficient points on account, pls do use opportunity to upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MilosMilenkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

As someone who has stayed at the finest hotels in the world including InterContinental Hong Kong and Park Hyatt Shanghai, this hotel is always my answer to the question.."what is your favorite hotel in the world?"

For the full experience:

1. book the Park Hyatt limo service from Narita to Hotel
2. upgrade to a suite
3. Dinner and Jazz at New York Grill
4. Breakfast at Girandole in the lobby
5. the spa....oh the spa!!!!
6. extend your stay as long as you can

It's pricey but remember.... you get only one life. Live it up!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prospect_Park_Johnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

no question - stay here while in Tokyo- one of the worlds best hotels

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moorhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4,236 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
2,871 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
3,885 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 110 in Minato
2,872 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Tokyo

Property: Park Hyatt Tokyo
Address: 3-7-1-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 163-1055, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#1 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price range (per night): $617 - $1,213
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Tokyo
Shinjuku Hyatt
Park Hyatt Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing