We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved my life - first trip to Japan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel for four nights in December on my first trip to Japan. The location, room service, food at the restaurant and cleanliness were perfect. But while travelling alone, I ate a raw oyster and became very sick as I was not used to the food in Japan. I became very sick with traveller's diarrhea, a colon infection and a high fever the night before I was supposed to go home. I called the front desk and they sent an ambulance immediately to take me to the hospital. Luckily, one member of the staff came along to translate and helped me fill out forms while I was sick. I will be truly grateful to him for all that he did - without his help I would never have made it home safe. The hotel was also exceptionally understanding and did not charge me anything extra for the two days I left my things there while I was in the hospital. Once again - thank you so much Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kf913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 140 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reports and were not disappointed. The staff were very efficient and friendly and the hotel was very clean, had everything we wanted and offered excellent value for money. The room was rather small (though was probably larger than most Tokyo rooms at this price) but fine, with a fridge, kettle, full-size bed and a bathroom with a larger bath than in most Japan hotels.

The location is excellent, especially for those with JR passes - we managed to use our JR passes to get from here and/or walk to most of the places we wanted to visit in Tokyo. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Yotsuya JR station (as someone in a previous review said: cross the road from the station, head towards the KFC on the corner and it is a couple of blocks further on from that), a main stop on the (rapid) JR Chuo line, between Tokyo (where most of the long distance trains arrive) and Shinjuku (the busiest and second largest train station, offering many shops and dining options). Shinjuku is similar to London's Piccadilly, with lots of neon lights and an abundance of shops and different dining options. Yotsuya is only one (rapid service) stop away, but nicer and quieter, with a more local feel.

There are plenty of places to eat/buy food within a short distance of the hotel, including an Italian restaurant next to (owned by?) the hotel, a couple of Doutor's coffee/pastries shops (one a couple of doors away going towards the station and another across the road), and also across the road there is a small handy supermarket and a "Jonathan's" where you can also have breakfast. One block behind the hotel, running parallel with the main road heading towards the station, is a small street with lots of Japanese restaurants. In Yotsuya station itself there is a delicious soup bar, a small supermarket, Paul patisserie and other outlets, plus an office where you can make reservations for JR trains.

In all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dicknharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Stayed 5 nights in may 2010 - and only have good thing to say!
Staff were so friendly. Rooms were superb and the locations is good aswell.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lassevj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We enjoyed our visit here at the end of a long trip in Asia. Staff was great, (english could be better), but considering I don't speak Japanese, we were very pleased. Great security, very clean, lots of little extra's. Would stay here again, just wish they had more flexability of time for checkin and out. But they did come through, and we were greatful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 312Seaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Hotel was only a couple minutes from Yotsuya station (both JR and subway lines) - this is only 9 mins from Tokyo and 5 from Shinjuku
Room was compact but roomy enough - good modern hotel.
Only complaint was because it was winter the aircon units had been turned off and the rooms were too warm - could open the window but then had too much road noise. Would be fine other times of the year.
Lots of restaurants in the lane behind the hotel but its in a quieter area compared to downtown Shinjuku.
Reception staff friendly and were easy to communicate with

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjuku Gyoemmae
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yotsuya, Iidabashi
Tokyu Stay Yotsuya
Tokyu Stay Yotsuya
#39 of 87 in Shinjuku
131 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#14 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,467 reviews
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#10 of 87 in Shinjuku
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya

Address: 1-24 Yotsuya, Shinjuku 160-0004, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: AU$140 - AU$261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Mitsui Fudosan Hotel Management Co., Ltd., Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing